Daily Devotional | Why Job Remained Silent?

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

939241_10156010948244070_1734102391_o.jpg

I rarely write a religious post but decided to share this here today. Since I am reading my Bible and praying every day I think I just share some of the things I learned with the Steemit community moving forward. Art will always be the main topic of my posts but I am a Christian and my faith is not an extension of myself but a big part of me. So to deny that part from sharing its insights would be denying my faith and self. I am not writing this post to preach or to tell people what to do. I am sharing this for myself because it benefits my spiritual growth. And if it benefits and convicts you too, I am grateful. If this is not something you believe in, ignore this post then.

So here is my insight of this verse I read from the book of Job:

When Job went through suffering, he always wanted to know why God put him through it. He felt he didn't deserve to go through suffering because he was a righteous man and always did the right thing. But in Chapter 38 to 40, God finally spoke out of the whirlwind. Job finally got the opportunity to plead his innocence. However, surprisingly, Job decided to remain silent! After 37 chapters full of anguish and reasonings, Job decided not to ask God the thing he needed to hear the most - why is he suffering?

"I am nothing-how could I ever find the answers? I will cover my mouth with my hand. I have said too much already. I have nothing more to say." ~ Job 40: 4-5

After listening to God's questions about the earth's natural order/animal kingdom (chapter 38-39), Job finally came to the conclusion that it was no longer necessary for him to speak or ask God anything. This is because God had demonstrated to Job that he was just a human with limited abilities. Job had no ability to judge the God who created the universe or to the right to ask why. God does not act based on our whim. God will do things according to his will. We might think that his plans for us are unfair but God being God will execute those plans because He knows "they are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope" (Jeremiah 29:11)

I am like Job. When hard times come my way or things don't go my way, I want to demand answers. But it is not my right to ask for the "why questions". If I can't understand the workings of God's physical creation, how could I possibly understand God's mind? My responsibility is to change whatever needs to change (confess/repent) and submit to God's authority and rest in his care.


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this post? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


The Strange Lighthouse And My Memories

Stencil Watercolor Art | Mistakes and Regrets

Acrylic Painting | The Evil In All Of Us

A Year Younger | Today Is My Birthday!

Preliminary Sketch Of A New Portrait


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

Sort:  

it's good that you share your faith. being quiet when things don't go your way is hard to do. :( you should elaborate more. would be great to hear more from your perspective and insight! :)

Yes, sure, I will definitely include more personal experiences and convictions in future posts. Thanks for commenting @calebleejl :)

And you too. Thank you :)

nice post.Thanks for sharing i will done upvote.and resteem done sir

i will done upvote.and resteem done sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60