Portrait Of A Steemian | @angiechin28 Of Team Malaysia Babes

in #teammalaysiababes6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

A portrait of a Steemian, @angiechin28. I completed this sketch last Saturday, a day before our Team Malaysia Babes gathering. Angie requested I sketch this portrait a couple of weeks ago but I hurt my finger and had to rest my right hand for about a week and avoid applying too much pressure on the injured finger. Thank God portrait sketching is my forte and I am confident that I could finish this sketch within a couple of hours. And I did.

In the past, some people have suggested to me to try my hand on digital art. The only digital art skill I have is to digitized or vectorized my line art for my coloring books. This is a skill I had to learn when I was working on those books. Being a self-taught artist, it took me about a month to learn the most basic things like the type of images (raster or vector), basic Photoshop and Illustrator, and so on. It was all a different new world for me and it was hard but I was very determined to publish my books and I knew I had learned those basic skills no matter how hard. But to go shift to digital art entirely? Nope, I am not ready and here's why.

  1. I am too in love with traditional art
  2. I love working on paper and the smell of the paint and get my hands dirtied
  3. I love collecting (or hoarding) art supplies

And most of all, traditional artworks are not perfect. You can see my mistakes in every single piece of my paintings. They are REAL and with FLAWS, like me. But despite those mistakes, they are still beautiful, don't they? It's like us humans, despite our weaknesses, there is still something inherently good within each one of us, don't you think so? I like to think so.

I would love to try my hands on digital art someday but for now I am having so much fun with traditional art, I am not making that switch so soon.

The sketching process

Angie gave me this reference photo. To sketch a portrait, you must have a clear reference photo. Before I agree to accept a commission job, I always tell my clients to give me a clear reference image. A blurry photo is hard to work with and the portrait will not be satisfactory because I could not see and sketch the details accurately.

ref.jpg

The next step is to sketch the outline of the face. This is the most crucial step. I have to sketch each facial feature in the correct proportion or else they will not achieve the likeness I desire. Once I sketched the outline, I started to shade the hair. I used 8B pencil for the darkest sections and 2B for the lightest sections.

1.jpg

Once the hair is done, I shaded the forehead. The most important thing to remember when shading the skin is to make the comparison between the skin tones and shade accordingly. Depending on the person's skin tones, for someone who is fair like Angie, I typically use 2B pencil for the darker tone and HB pencil for the lighter tone.
Next are the brows and the eyes. Eyes are the most important feature of the face. To achieve the likeness, the eyes must be at least 90% accurate. The highlights must be in the accurate spots or else the eyes will become squinty.

2.jpg

To sketch the nose, I must compare the skin tones around the nose and shade it accordingly. Once I finished shading the nose, I erased the nose outline to achieve the 3D and realistic look.

3.jpg

And finally, I sketched the lips, the cheeks, and her blouse.

4.jpg

Here is the completed portrait!

5.jpg

I gave this portrait to Angie during the Team Malaysia Babes gathering. I was having so much fun during the event, I almost forgot to pass it to her LOL!


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this portrait? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


Team Malaysia Babes First Ever Gathering

MyJuniors | Saturday Is Coloring Day

Art Explosion Week 29 | Awakening

Daily Devotional | Why Job Remained Silent?

The Strange Lighthouse And My Memories


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Another lovely piece.
I tried to learn CoralDraw once, but I never really succeeded, I think I'm just not meant to.

I don't even know how CoralDraw looks like let alone using it LOL. Thank you for commenting.

Always a pleasure Olivia!

walawei... it would take me years to draw something similar.. amazing piece of art

Haiya easy only lah Chris....there are tricks you can use to speed up your learning process. It's not that hard actually. Thanks for commenting!

Hahaha... I guess we each have our strength and forte. Only thing art related which I am good at is photography... I am more of a science and scholar kind of guy.

You are absolutely right @orangila. I am terrible at maths or anything involving numbers.

Hahaha... just FYI, I have a university degree in Math... hahahaha

OMG! Math?? I see the numbers I get birds flying on top of my head.

Oh yeah.... the most difficult math do not deal with numbers or symbols... easiest math are anything you can calculate with calculator or computer program...:)

Tried to find the flaws ...cannot find haha .... Love it @coloringiship

you and your team done some good job.... i like this most.... thanks for sharing this another nice post .....

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Thank you babe for the beautiful piece! I will keep in an album alongside @sireh work! Now looking forward to get @rambai to draw me like what he did for @patlu! You folks are so talented!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.28
ETH 3369.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48