Art Explosion Week 29 | Awakening

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

This post is my entry for @juliakponsford 's ArtExplosion Contest Week 29. I have not participated in this contest for many months. I think my last entry was probably in October, the month before I fell really sick. I decided to give this a go for the sake of fun and well they said, the more people participate, the merrier! The theme for this week is Awakening. What I like about this contest is we can interpret the theme as we please. It gives me the freedom to come out with something that is truly uniquely mine - my art, my opinion, and perspective. I love to read the other participants entries too because we all have so many different perspectives and ways to interpret the life around us.

The inspiration

When I think of the word "awakening", the first thing that comes to my mind is the state of being aware of something you completely ignored before. For me, the word awakening represents the state of freshness like you have been given another chance to start your life on a better path. It also means, when you are "awaken", you have been given the freedom to choose between two (or more) things.

I believe each and every one of us has encountered "awakening moments" in our life. I have experienced some of these moments, some are more profound than others. One of such moments was earlier on in my parenting journey. My daughter was about five months old at that time and she was very sick with diarrhea and my husband was away out of the country. I was totally alone caring for a very sick baby and I was so scared. She did get better after a few days but she did not make a complete recovery until three weeks later. When she was sick and I was alone, it dawned on me that this parenting gig is not for cowards. It's a challenging journey and you will probably alone most of the time trying to figure it out and doing your absolute best at the same time.

Another profound "awakening moment" I experienced was about 12 years ago when I decided to get baptized despite being a Christian since I was a baby. Prior to my baptism, I had a series of personal Bible studies with a couple of Christian friends that opened my eyes to the real truth of God. My life has not been the same ever since.

The painting

I chose blooming tulips as my subject matter for this theme. Why tulips? The tulips are just blooming and as you can see in the painting they are leaning towards the sun. They are awakened by the force of life and the warmth of the sun.

I used watercolor and watercolor pencils as the medium for this painting. I painted the background in blue before using my watercolor pencils to paint the flowers. Here are some of the progress photos:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this painting? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


Daily Devotional | Why Job Remained Silent?

The Strange Lighthouse And My Memories

Stencil Watercolor Art | Mistakes and Regrets

Acrylic Painting | The Evil In All Of Us

A Year Younger | Today Is My Birthday!


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Awesome! I LOVE reading your posts, the inspiration behind each drawing. Amazing grace and talent.

Because of you, I can appreciate art better -- it's not just a nice painting to decorate the wall. :p

Awesome! Really like the art and the colours! You have a new follower!
Keep it up! And have a good weekend @coloringiship :)

I can not speak anythink just 😍😍😍😍Awesome 🌹

Beautiful painting! I'm sorry you haven't been well I hope you're feeling better now :)

I had been sick for several months but I have recovered. Thank you @juliakponsford :)

I love it. Cantik sangat sis. Macam sya mau cuba lukis begini owh.. :)

Thank you dear @arwine. Senang saja ni. Pakai pensel Luna watercolor tu saja...pensel skul anak haha

I love the simplicity and what it symbolise for you.

Most welcome!

Omg @coloringiship, my grocery bag looks just like your painting! Well, almost.. Hehe...

grocery bag.JPG

Eh yalah hahahahaha!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89