My First Steemit Meet Up

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

The Penang Steemit Community is AWESOME! (Just had to get it out there!)

It is hilarious how I have been on Steemit for a month now and I never went for any meetups actually explaining what Steemit was. Everything I knew about Steemit was due to my own research and by @patlu and @joshlu134 ‘s recommendation! I guess I was long overdue to finally meet up with fellow Steemians after finding out about a Steem meetup in Penang. Thank you to @orangila , @karinzdailygrind and @jieh for letting me know about this during our prior meetup (I can’t remember exactly who told me… spotty memory… So, I tag all lah).

Despite being in Penang for 3 months and intermittently visiting Penang during holidays growing up, I had never been to Prangin Mall. I also only been to KOMTAR once (So, I guess never going to Prangin would be normal). I normally skulk the coastal malls of Gurney Plaza and Paragon. If you see me there, feel free to say ‘Hi’!

Prangin Mall looked like the normal old mall that never updated with the times. Full of tech, gambling dens and cheap clothing stores, it was very run down. The only place that didn’t look remotely run down was where the even was being held, MSOGO. Run by the M Academy group, I guess it was expected for them to do a coworking space with some competence. Their sheer capital would be nothing to scoff at.

So, yesterday was my very first formal Steemit meetup! I finally got meet the famous @bitrocker2020 as he eloquently explained the Steemit system. He also helped me better understand how the Witness system works (Another story, another time) after the presentation as I was curious.

I also got to finally meet a few familiar faces of #TeamMalaysia including @killuminatic, @legendchew and @izyan. I also got to catch up with @jieh again. Then, I also met a few new faces to me such as @limeujin, @kkdxstylo and @rosmadirazali!

While at the event, I also got to meet up with some of the #cn-malaysia crowd (Such as @davidke20)! I can’t really type mandarin well on my computer. Hopefully, one day I can contribute something to that side of the community. But first, I really need to brush up on my Chinese!

We also got to have a little fun with a #teammalaysia post by sending them some surprise upvotes!

This was definitely a great networking opportunity for me. It was great to meet fellow steemians who are posting their way to glory! To all Steemians new and old, STEEM ON!

I am not one for photographs when it comes to events. I tend to only do we-fies if people ask me to. So, sorry if there are very few photos!

I think this was my first time making a post with so many tags! Hope all the tags work out. If you haven’t checked out these people’s blogs, please do! They are all really good blogs! Send them your upvotes and love!

If you are new to my blog, feel free to check out my interactive horror series where YOU the reader are a character in the story! Comment on the latest post to join in on the fun!

Chapter 1 - Man In the Mirror
Chapter 2 - Mr Green
Chapter 3 - Time After Time
Chapter 4 - The Study and Zeppelin
Chapter 5 - Blank Space
Chapter 6 - Mr Blue
Chapter 7 - Eurhythmics

Or, you could check out my food recipes and learn how to make amazing dishes!

Apple Risotto
Beef Wellington by Gordon Ramsay
Cauliflower Cheese
Family "Flavourite" Lasagna
Grandmum's Honey Baked Salmon
Shepherd's Pie
Stout Beef and Cheese Pie by Jamie Oliver

Tad Strange.png

Sort:  

Awesome feeling, right? All Team Malaysia events are super fun!

Yeah they are super fun!

And when we see other post about the event, it feels like everything replay again in our mind... At least this is what I feel ...

Yeah we get to relive the fun moments over and over again~

Hey @tadstrange, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! :)

looking good bro... connecting with others (especially face to face) is one of the most important way to grow your portfolio. It was Karin who told you about the event and I encouraged you all to attend. Glad you made it to the event and connect with the community, don't worry, there will be plenty of teammalaysia events in Klang Valley waiting for you when you are back. Hope your mom will be able to be discharged soon.

Haha thanks :) And thanks for the reminder! Thanks @karinzdailygrind for the heads up :P and thank you @orangila for the encouragement! Hopefully there will be more teammalaysia events in penang since I will be here for awhile it seems..

You are welcome @tadstrange. Glad to see you are growing fast and connecting with other Steemians in Penang. Yes, as @orangila pointed out you are free to organise your own meetup with fellow Steemians in Penang such as @killuminatic, @izyan, @jieh, @legendchew, etc as Steemit is a decentralised platform. You can also post your event details on Discord.

And if I am in town, I might even swing by and say Hi too ;)

Anyway, do take care and rest well. Hope your mom will have a speedy recovery. God bless!

Haha great idea! I am just really scared of organising things. I guess growth is a matter of conquering these fears.

Yes and glad to see you growing @tadstrange! Keep Steeming!

The way I see it, you have been active with people like legendarychew, killumatic and a few others on Discord, now that you guys met in person, easier to hook up for a gathering.. something like a hiking trip where you each blog about the trip or something else will work. Don't necessary have to rely on the big boys to create an official invite. You are on the right track and meeting people is healthy for you as you not only need to take care of your mom but also have a life of your own:)

Haha yeah, meeting people will be healthy for me socially :P Yeah I can just ask on the discord server also to jio if anyone wanna come!

Yeah... you can actually organise a small event with around 3 or 4 people who confirmed who can make it, then open it to others in Penang... exactly like what Karin did for the CNY meet up in Penang

Hey dude. Was nice seeing you yesterday. Hopefully we can meet again in another Steemit event. Wish u all the best & speedy recovery for your mom

Thanks for your kind words. Hope to see you in the near future too!

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Nice to see you at the sharing session too. I'll be sure to continue Danganronpa 2! 😁

Yeah! DR2 is worth it

I love reading about steemit meetups, no matter how big or small they are its important and its also nice to put faces to names. So glad you enjoyed your experience.

This post was upvoted by the power of Chach, with thanks to MSPWaves WhatRUat who have delegated 100 sp to me for a week.

Yeah, it is so cool to finally meet some people! Thanks for reading! What is Chach?

That is a great question Chach can be anything you want it to be replace chach with a noun. And Chach is your word. I did a post about it this morning if you are interested :)

Ooh will read!

You got an upvote from Sndbox-Alpha! Please help us find more great contents about Meet Up and Philanthropy. Click here for more information.

171020_Cryptocurrency-07.png

If you like what we are doing and want to contribute in rewarding authors who spread the Steemit love through Philanthropy & Meet Up, we encourage you follow the @sndbox-alpha trail on Steemauto.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66