Inside the Company: Chapter 6: Mr. Blue

in #horror6 years ago (edited)

Day 8
It has been awhile since my previous post. The reason behind that was there was nothing happening in the facility. After my encounter with the Blank Space, people have been more observant of my actions. Whenever I am about to wander aimlessly into somewhere that may have information that is too sensitive, they would block me off. I think that they may be a little concerned about my interaction with whatever Entity I met while in the collective consciousness. The guy who claimed to be God.

Yesterday, I received some great news! One of my readers solved the cipher that Mr. Green gave me! This may just be the key to getting some answers around here.


Darkness will rise,
The light shall burn,
Evil is coming,
this world will turn.
Be vigilant, my child,
and trust in us.
Fire with fire
Pickaxe to stone
Fear the liar
while the truth is your own.
We are using the forces of darkness against the greatest darkness of all.
He is coming. He is rising.


It seemed to be a weird poem of some kind. I think the rhyming scheme may not matter since it was way too erratic to figure out a pattern. Besides, I am not much of a literary expert. Let me break it down as much as I can.

‘Darkness will rise’ suggested that something is coming. Could it be the Entity I saw in the Blank Space after it shifted into that scarier form?

‘The light shall burn’. This has two possible meanings. One is that the light shall burn away the darkness. Or, it could mean that the light will burn up in the darkness. Either way, both sound unpleasant.

‘This world will turn’. This is vague too. Does it mean that this world will turn into something? Or does it mean that it will swap sides? This is way too confusing!

‘Trust in us’. Ha! As if! I don’t think I will be able to trust anyone here after what happened with that lying bastard!

‘Fire with fire’. Now, this seems interesting! I am guessing this may be about the purpose of the Company! Fire with fire could possibly mean that the reason why the Company is collecting all these abominations against nature. It is for a coming war. A war… that is apparently coming soon. I don’t want to be a soldier, will never want to. I am a bit too afraid to die in the process. Somehow, I have a feeling that they will be dragging me into this war regardless.

‘Fear the liar while the truth is your own’ suggests something scary. Who is the real liar? Would it be God? Or would it be the Company? The truth being my own? Could this mean that my understanding of the truth may be or will be distorted?

A few hours later, after I compiled my analysis of the poem, I looked around for Mr. Green, since he was the one who started it. After hitting a few roadblocks and asking said roadblocks for the directions, I found him loitering about.
“Green!” I shouted.

“Oh! Hello there, my boy. I presume you have solved the poem.”

I nodded and began to break down my understanding of the poem. He smiled and nodded. He didn’t give me any confirmation or denial. He then handed me with a slip of paper with a stamp on it.

“Look for Room 412. Show this to the guards there. They will let you in. I believe it is time for you to know what’s going on.”

I was ecstatic! I was finally going to get some answers straight from the horse’s mouth!

So, I quickly ran over looking for Room 412. It wasn’t too hard to find since everything was systematically organised around here. I showed the guards the seal. They looked at me in confusion and shock before ushering me in the hallway. They looked extremely well-armed for the average security guard. They looked to be wearing riot gear and were holding assault rifles with way too many extra magazines on their person. They looked like they could be one-man-armies with how well built they were. I swore I could even see some cybernetics on them. All I knew was I wouldn’t mess with them.
Room 412’s door was the same as all the other ones. However, there was no sign suggesting this was the room for an Entity. Thankfully, it wasn’t. The doors opened and it looked to be a boardroom of some kind. A long table in the middle with four chairs on one end and a sole chair on the other. I was instructed to sit on the single chair.

The room was surprisingly normal. It was grey and slightly dusty compared to the other rooms I have been. It wasn’t as white as most of the Brig but it wasn’t as dark as the Entity rooms. I guess that the Company has some rooms that are used purely for utility reasons.

A few moments later, the doors opened. A long slender arm reached out and pressed against the door frame. Mr. Red had arrived. He slinked across to one of the chairs and sat down. He shot a glance across the table to me and tried to give me a smile. When you have a mouth like that, never smile. It was terrifying to look at. It was like looking into the maw of hell. His teeth were jagged, crooked and sharp.

He was followed by the soft and careful stride of Mr. Green. He promptly sat in his chair and gave me a knowing nod. Then, the door opened again.

This time a child in a blue hoodie walked out. He looked no older than thirteen. His hair was blonde and he had blue eyes. He hopped on his chair and gave me a vacant stare. It looked like his lights were on but nobody was home. I was guessing this was Mr. Blue. He looked a bit young to be called a mister but I guess whatever works for them.
I looked at the empty chair and looked at the door.

“Shall we begin?”

Mr. Blue spoke. His voice matched his age but there was a profound disinterest in his tone. He sounded as if he wasn’t aware of his surroundings. He was as monotone as a robot. Could he have been a robot? He continued.

“Let the meeting between the current founders of The Company and Subject Michael Macready begin. Mr. Macready is a subject for the Entity known as the Man in the Mirror. Due to his recent interaction with Inanis, we have opted to increase security around him for a few days to ensure that his mind was not compromised. From our observations, he seemed to be safe. Thus, we are allowing our resources to be allocated to more pressing matters.”

I didn’t know how long he was going to go for so I raised my hand. Red smirked.

“This isn’t school, kid. Feel free to speak. Blue would ramble for ages if you didn’t.”

“So, the being I met, his name was Inanis?”

“Yes, it was. Inanis is a special type of evil. I wouldn’t say he is the devil as he is closer to what the Christians believe to be a God. However, his lack of care for life is a threat to everyone. His power is pretty much unparalleled. Even for me. I may be able to... Nevermind. I shouldn’t tell you about my power. But overall, I can’t beat him. Not on my own.”

Mr. Green fiddled with his thumbs. Then, he spoke.

“The Company’s purpose was to defeat Inanis by using irregularities in his creation. He may have created us but much like cancer in a human body, Entities sprouted from the universal energy. Though we are all part of a collective consciousness, Inanis stands outside of it. The only thing he is unable to destroy is the consciousness itself. Everything else, if he lost control, he could… well, he could wipe us all out with a flick of a wrist.”

Mr. Blue then interrupted.

“Except, right now, Inanis is currently in a different dimension. He is still stable. Based on our observations. From what you’ve experienced in the Blank Space, it is likely that you saw his external shell crack for a moment. The purpose of the Blank Space was to function as a meditation chamber. By expelling all your senses other than your thoughts, you would be able to tap into a greater level of thinking. However, strangely, you ended up talking to Inanis.”

“I- I didn’t know I was talking to Inanis. I honestly can’t remember anything about that room other than what I wrote down. Because of your memory-dampening thing.”

Mr. Blue leaned in, staring right at me. “It doesn’t matter. Right now, you are a useful asset. We will be running some tests to see how useful you’d be.”

“I am not going to be a soldier in this stupid war.”

Mr. Red growled, “Well, you will die either way. Would you rather die with a chance of living or doom the world to death?”

“Well I-”

“That’s what I thought.”

“So, what tests are you talking about?”

Mr. Red smiled with that creepy grin. “We will be going to where your Man in the Mirror is.”
Dread enveloped me. Did he just say that? Did he just suggest that I will go back to the Mirrorverse? Hell, no! That place was a living hell!

He seemed to notice my concern. “Don’t worry, I’ll protect you.” If he could wink, I swore he would have winked.

“Oh yeah, before that. As a kind gesture to your readers, we will be doing two things. Firstly, we will be implanting a thing called Eurythmics inside your brain. This makes it so that should you die, your final moments will be recorded and uploaded for you. Next, a little puzzle for your friends on the outside.”

He handed me a note.

‘Tj tyj xhiji, tyjve zx snv blo zx rok blak mi svjqs. Sj gaijjuc. Yvujy ro fsi.’

On the note was this. Another cipher of sorts. This time shorter.

He smiled at me and said, “Remember, in order to save this world, fear is key.”


Hope you enjoyed this chapter. More world-building. Some answers. More questions. Another puzzle, this time shorter!

You, the reader, are a character in this story. In what I call "Interactive Writing", you are encouraged to participate in the story. How? You may ask. Well, like I said earlier, you are a character in this story. You may not be directly referenced individually in the story but the main character will respond to your comments (or rather me, as the writer, will be responding as the main character). Your comments WILL influence the outcome of the story in one way or another. Be careful, you may accidentally kill the main character, in which case, the season ends and after that... Well, we'll keep that a surprise for now.

Previous Chapter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72