Recipe: Grandmum's Honey Baked Salmon

in #food6 years ago

81bf9f4b-1218-44ae-a6ae-8eff5470b444.jpg

Today’s recipe is one that I am sure will be easier to follow compared to my previous ones. There are very few steps in making this but it tastes amazing! I guess I can describe this as short, simple and super sweet!

This recipe comes from way down south. It was originally made by my New Zealand Grandmother! We had this dish many years ago and my mum won’t stop craving it! I decided that I might as well share the recipe here so everyone can try it out!

Note: This recipe will not have specific measurements as they are to be adjusted depending on your portioning. Our portioning served around 4 people (with some leftovers).

Ingredients
Salmon with skin (deboned)
Lemon Wedges
Bay Leaves
Honey (Manuka, if you can find/afford it)
Rosemary
Garlic
Thyme

Instructions
Step 1: Mince your garlic. Pluck and chop your rosemary and thyme. Slice your lemon into thin wedges.
Step 2: Slice slits into your Salmon. Make it cut all the way through but don’t breach the skin.
Step 3: Stick the lemon wedges into the slits with the bay leaves.
Step 4: Sprinkle with the garlic, rosemary and thyme. Add salt to taste.
Step 5: Drizzle the whole thing with a generous amount of honey and set aside to chill for 30 minutes. Then, take out and let it go down to room temperature 30 minutes before placing it into the oven.
Step 6: While waiting for the salmon to go down to room temperature, preheat the oven to 220C.
Step 7: Stick it in and cook it for 20 minutes, or until cooked. Then, serve with Garlic Bread or some other carbohydrate.

I hope you enjoyed that recipe. I feel that the biggest challenge for this dish would be getting the salmon itself as fish can be quite pricey. If you have salmon, make sure you debone it. You wouldn’t want your experience to be ruined by having bones jammed in your gums and throat!

Feel free to check out my other recipes:
Apple Risotto
Beef Wellington by Gordon Ramsay
Cauliflower Cheese
Family "Flavourite" Lasagna
Stout Beef and Cheese Pie by Jamie Oliver

Sort:  

It looks delicious :) upvoted and follow~~

Wow this looks delicious! Great to see you're in Malaysia too!

Yes! You are Malaysian too?

No, but I live here! :-D

Wish i can have that on my table right now.😋

Haha, you can make it yourself with this recipe!

um... please don't mind me, I am just testing this out. I am not spamming, really. I'll be on my way now. oh yes... I just upvoted you by the way. Stephard Tester, superoo7/superoo7-dev

hahhah That's amazing

Family's well-kept recipe :-).

From what i see in the photo, i can image the fish was juicy with NZ honey (probably the best honey in the world) moisturising the fish and heightening the flavour another level.

This time, we couldn't use the NZ honey :P But if you use NZ honey, it will go further beyond.

Kai pai, kia ora.

These two simple phrases I learned from my boy's kiwi teachers. :-)

Haha I haven't learned much Maori XD

Wow! this recipe is really easy... If I ever need a salmon recipe, I'll keep this in mind.

Thanks for sharing :-)

Thanks for swinging by! Feel free to try it out. If it works out for you, let me know!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Yummy!!! gonna try this one day!

Let me know when you do

Definitely do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50