Recipe: Shepherd's Pie

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Shepherd’s Pie is something I don’t remember having in ages. I believe the last time I ate Shepherd’s Pie was when I was at a snowboarding academy during my trip to Whistler ten to fifteen years ago. All I really knew at the time was that it was like a normal pie but with mashed potatoes instead of pastry.

The recipe I used was adapted from Alton Brown’s Recipe. I adjusted the quantities and ingredients due to availability and portioning. Hope you enjoy this recipe!

Ingredients
For mashed potatoes:
800g potatoes
1/4 cup milk/cooking cream
60g unsalted butter
Salt and pepper to taste
1 egg yolk

For the meat filling:
Cheddar Cheese
A swig of olive oil
1 chopped onion
2 carrots, peeled and diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1kg ground lamb
Salt and Pepper to taste
All-purpose flour
4 teaspoons tomato paste
A few squirts Worcestershire sauce
2 teaspoons freshly chopped rosemary leaves
1 teaspoon freshly chopped thyme leaves
1/2 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels
1/2 cup fresh or frozen English peas
A swig of white wine (Note: I couldn’t find a red in time)

For the chicken broth:
Celery
Chicken Bone
Carrots
Onion
Half cube of chicken stock powder

Instructions
For Chicken Broth:

  1. Mix all the ingredients with water and bring to boil.
  2. Let it simmer for as long as you can.

For Mashed Potatoes:

  1. Peel and dice the potatoes.
  2. Boil the potatoes until soft enough that they would squish with tongs. Then, set aside to cool.
  3. Mash the potatoes.
  4. Mix the milk and butter together. Microwave for a minute or until the butter melts.
  5. Stir in the milk-butter mixture. Add some salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Mix in the egg yolk to bind the things together.

For Meat Filling:

  1. Preheat oven to 200C
  2. Pour oil into pan and heat it up.
  3. Add onions and carrots. Cook thoroughly, until lightly browned. This should take around 3 to 4 minutes.
  4. Add the garlic and stir to combine.
  5. Add the lamb, salt and pepper and cook until browned and cooked through.
  6. Sprinkle the meat with the flour and toss to coat, continuing to cook for another minute.
  7. Add the tomato paste, chicken broth, Worcestershire, rosemary, thyme, and stir to combine. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat to low, cover and simmer slowly 10 to 12 minutes or until the sauce is thickened slightly. I would add some flour if the thickness still isn’t there.
  8. Throw in some of the wine to flavour the meat more.
  9. Add the corn and peas to the lamb mixture and spread evenly into a glass baking dish.
  10. Add a thin layer of cheddar cheese.
  11. Top with the mashed potatoes, starting around the edges to create a seal to prevent the mixture from bubbling up and smooth with a spoon.
  12. Sprinkle with more cheddar on top for that nice orangey glaze.
  13. Bake for 25 minutes or just until the top begins to brown.
  14. Set aside to cool for a few minutes. Then, it is ready to serve.

In the end, the Shepherd’s Pie came out delicious. The mashed potato was creamy and was slightly infused with the flavour of the lamb mince. The cheese helped to add a more savoury twist to this meal. It made it more appetizing. In the end, the mashed potato layer was quite thick. So, thankfully, the mash tasted nice! Perhaps for future renditions of this recipe, I may reduce the amount of potato.

Congratulations to @annekins for winning my recipe guessing contest by guessing the exact dish I was making. @nazirullsafry was super close. The keyword was Shepherd’s Pie, the ingredients were right but the dish name was wrong. Maybe next time! Annekins, you will be seeing your prize soon!

Feel free to check out my other recipes:
Apple Risotto
Beef Wellington by Gordon Ramsay
Cauliflower Cheese
Family "Flavourite" Lasagna
Stout Beef and Cheese Pie by Jamie Oliver

Sort:  

Great recipe you shared here @tadstrange. But do you mind sharing how long it took you to bake the shepherd's pie? I loved shepherd's pie but it took me like forever just to bake one the last round. So that was my first and last attempt of ever baking it. Nowadays, I just opt for the quick "point and pay option" at my favourite cafe whenever I have the cravings for it

My recipe took around 3 hours counting prep, oven time and stove top cooking.

YUM.... i always look for recipes that could be made in China, and thank goodness i can get all the ingredients there!!! Thanks for sharing =)

Let me know if you make this haha! Is Lamb easy to find in China?

lamb is a bit pricey, but if its beef or mutton it would be slightly cheaper than lamb =)
Pie isn't part of the chinese diet, but they do love to barbeque the meat during summer. And of course, bbq is done in a different way here =)

I think Mutton works as well. Technically Shepherd's Pie isn't pie in the traditional sense as there isn't any pastry :P

hahahahahahaha..........

i like to add a bit of spice and heat into my cooking, lol. The pie i make could be spicy =P

Oh~ Let me know how that goes haha I am not really good with my spices yet as my mum doesn't eat spicy food

Huu I feel like having shepherd pie now but my family wants to eat Thai for dinner

I guess you are Thai-ed down

Wow my shepherds pie seems really dull compared to yours, you got me thinking about doing one today now actually.... I love nothing but good wholesome food in the winter. Thank you for reminding me about this dish.

Shepherd's Pie is a nice dish to warm you up! What recipe do you use? :D

Really just mince gravy onions and mushrooms but its a lazy mans shepherds pie lets just say the shepherd is tired when he cooks it :D.

Ah, I see. I try to be as energised as possible when cooking

we had cottage pie the other day so i'm gonna resteem this because i want @dayleeo to see it because then she will know what is involved with a shepards pie! :)

Thank you for the resteem! I would love to know if I am doing it right! Cottage pie.. that sounds delish!

Shepherd's pie its a great go-to recipe if you're craving some comfort food. Btw, thanks for organizing the contest @tadstrange!

Thanks for participating in it! Hope to see you join in on my other contests in the future ;)

Thanks for the recipe I am going to switch out the potatoes with cauliflower. I’ll try to record and let you know how it turns out.

Swapping it out with cauliflower definitely would make it healthier haha! YES! Please let me know how it turns out :D

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 11:04:16
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 50.65/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I love Shepherd's pie I cheat and use my leftover meat and veggies and put mashed potatoes on top and some shredded cheese.

Leftover meat has to be good for something right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17