Recipe: Beef Wellington by Gordon Ramsay

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Today, I decided to try something special for Valentine’s Day! My mother specifically requested for Beef Wellington! However, I have neither made this dish before nor have I ever eaten a Beef Wellington! So, I had to go into this dish completely blind!

So, to prepare the dish, I decided to consult the Mad King of the Kitchen, Gordon Ramsay’s website. So, the following is an adaption his recipe. Of course, there were some minor tweaks due to circumstance. This recipe served around 8 people compared to Gordon’s serving of 4, so keep that in mind for your portioning.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t the same recipe that my mother used when she was a teenager. She claimed hers had duck pate in hers. If anyone knows of a recipe that uses duck pate, do let me know!


Ingredients

For the dish
1.1kg Chilled Beef Tenderloin
Olive Oil
500g Mixed Mushrooms (I got a random 3-in-1 pack)
A packet of Thyme leaves
2 slices of puff pastry
6 pieces of Spanish Parma Ham
2 eggs beaten together with a pinch of salt and a spoonful of water
Salt and Pepper

For the Red Wine Sauce
Olive Oil
180g beef trimmings (or, as I found it being called in the market, Soup Meat)
4 large shallots
Black Peppercorns
Bay leaf
A bunch of thyme
1 bottle of red wine (750ml)
1 carton of beef stock (300ml)

Instructions
Step 1: Finely chop up your mushrooms and shallots. Pluck the leaves off your thyme. Tip: By pinching the thyme and sliding down in the right direction (Either up or down, I am sure you can figure it out), you can ‘peel’ off most of the leaves easily.

Step 2: Sear your beef until it is brown on the outside and rare on the inside. This should take about a minute or two. Then, remove it from the pan and leave it to cool.

Step 3: Place your chopped mushrooms into a pan with some olive oil, some thyme leaves, some salt and some black pepper.

Step 4: Continue to cook until the mushrooms release all its juices and becomes a dry paste of sorts. It is known as a duxelle. Then, remove it from the pan and leave it to cool.

Step 5: Lay down a large sheet of cling wrap on your workspace.

Step 6: Lay down your Parma Ham in the center of the cling wrap. Try and spread out the ham to cover as much of the center as possible with some minor overlapping.

Step 7: Evenly spread the duxelle over the ham.

Step 8: Add some seasoning to your Beef Fillets. Then, put them on the duxelle. Then, using the cling film, wrap the Parma Ham around the fillets. Then, chill for around 30 minutes. During which, you’d want to start on the Red Wine Sauce (Refer below).

Step 9: Take out your puff pastries and brush on the egg wash on both sides of the pastry.

Step 10: Carefully place the beef wrap onto the puff pastry, removing the cling wrap.

Step 11: Stick it in the oven at 200C until the pastry puff is golden brown. Every few minutes, pull it out of the oven for a quick basting.

Step 12: Let it rest for 10 minutes out of the oven when deemed cooked. Then, you may carve it and serve with the Red Wine Sauce.

Red Wine Sauce

Step 1: Fry the beef trimmings until they are brown. Stir in your shallots, pepper, bay leaf and thyme. Continue to cook until it becomes a little brown.

Step 2: Add your red wine. Let it boil and reduce for a bit.

Step 3: Add your beef stock and bring to boil.

Step 4: Lower the heat and simmer for around 1 hour.

Step 5: Sift out the chunky bits with a sieve.

Step 6: Heat it up and add some potato starch to increase the thickness of the sauce. Then, add some more seasoning


The Beef Wellington came out a success! My family loved it! My mum, who normally struggles to finish a meal due to her medications suppressing her appetite, managed to finish her entire portion! I am glad that it turned out the way it did. Maybe next time I can stuff the meat with some cheese. Maybe it will taste better that way. Hmm.


Feel free to check out my other recipes:


Apple Risotto


Cauliflower Cheese


Family “Flavourite” Lasanga

Sort:  

@tadstrange thanks for commenting on my post! Your beef wellington looks good and glad your mom liked it!

Check out https://steemit.com/@cookwithus who will be running cooking competitions.

I will be entering into their cooking competitions, hope to see some of your meals there too!

Thanks for the heads up mate!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 16:29:17
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 35.15/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh gosh!! Making me hungry in the night!

Exactly what I wanna say! The beef wellington is not enough... Added some more of the other dishes below... OMG! Seems like all of them are waving at me!!!

Haha hunger is good!

I don't think I've ever had Beef Wellington before, but after this post, it looks like it might be worth trying. Thanks for the detailed recipe and instructions!

Your other recipes look delicious too, I'm sure your mother enjoys having you around!

Haha glad you feel that way! I am sure my mother appreciates it!

Sean, you're in demand. You've been invited to Steemit #TeamMalaysiaBabes Pot Luck Party at my home on Sunday, 25 Feb, 4.30pm onwards... will you be home by then? The ladies are all expecting you to cook something too! :D

I think I will only be at KL probably around June haha. I am busy taking care of my mum :)

It looks delicious @tadstrange! Your blog also had a great mix of photos and verbiage! Keep doing what you're doing!

My other half would love this!

He his a tradional british type of food man. Gastro Pub Style.

Thanks for sharing the receipe and process. Sometimea the cook books need more explanation and yours was really informative

Thanks! My mum is the same. She misses the british food! Sometimes, I swear that mentally she hasn't left London haha! My recipes may be adapted from others but I add in my own thoughts based on the experience

Happy Steemit ex-Valentine's Day (suppose to be sent out yesterday but due to limitation bandwidth issue)!

This Steemit Valentine video dedicated to you:
https://steemit.com/teamalaysia/@legendchew/snqtkdg9

Have fun exploring and posting your experiences in Steemit. Cheers!

Thanks for that ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50