Lazymom Cooking #8 : Potatoes & Egg

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)


Thank God it's Friday and I've got potatoes and eggs. This is the kid's most favourite dinner menu and it only took 45mins. Any cooking requiring less than 1 hour goes into my list.

Ingredients are simple.

  • 2 medium size potatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Cooking oil
  • Sesame oil 1tbsp
  • Oyster sauce
  • Dark sweet soy sauce (more for the colour than the taste, but it does give a nice aroma to the dish)
  • Water
  • 2 fried eggs (sunny side up for @annabellenoelle)
  • Rice enough for 2 kids (I use brown rice).

Preparation. Time 10 mins

  • Peel garlic and chopped finely.
  • Peel potatoes and cut into quarters.
  • Wash the rice and place in rice cooker.

Cooking. Time 35 mins

  • Heat up the pan/wok and pour cooking oil
  • Fry the eggs and put aside.
  • Using the same oil, fry the potatoes so they won't be too mushy later, and gives a slightly fragrant taste.
  • When the sides of the potatoes start to brown, remove from pan/wok & keep aside.
  • Add sesame oil and fry the garlic until fragrant.
  • Add the potatoes back in the pan/wok and give it a few toss.

Being the lazy mom that I am, I use the same pan to fry potatoes and garlic. I wait until the side of the potatoes turn colour before I push them to the sides of the pan. Then I put the sesame oil in the middle and fry the garlic.

Here, if I had onions, I would add 1 small onion cut into quarters. Onions give an earthy flavour to the dish, makes it sweet.


This is how I do it


After a few toss, add in the dark sweet soy sauce & oyster sauce, followed by water just enough to cover the potatoes. Simmer for 30mins. To check if the potatoes are fully cooked, poke a fork or knife through the biggest chunk in the pan/wok. If it goes through smoothly and easily, the dish is ready.

Because I've been making this dish for many years now, I know by instinct how much oyster sauce to use and how much water is enough so that it won't taste bland or too salty. So if you're attempting this, make sure you taste the gravy. It can afford to be more salty because when you mix the gravy with the rice, it will be just nice. Once out of the pan/wok, you can't fix the taste by adding more salt or soy sauce. It won't taste the same.

I have a 2 tier electrical lunch box, so the rice and the potatoes get cooked at the same time. Before I had the lunchbox, I would add more water and simmer the potatoes for 30mins in the pan/wok. The rice would be cooked in a rice cooker. Thank God for electrical lunch boxes, I haven't had to stay by my cooker and watch the heat. I timed it 30mins and the food stays warm inside until I decide to serve them.


My Electrical lunch box was a birthday gift from a friend. God bless her


All ready for the next stage of my cooking process

Placed the rice and the potatoes inside the lunch box and set the timer for 30mins. Meanwhile, I took a nap.


My handy kitchen helper


30 minutes later........




The rice is cooked


The potatoes are cooked. The colour is darker once the dish is cooked


This is comfort food for my kids


If you wonder where the veggies are, @annabellenoelle would say potatoes are veggies what! 😆 Because it's Lent, we're abstaining from meat. Otherwise, you can make this dish with chicken or pork either minced or cutlets. Sometimes, I would add in broccoli, carrots or cauliflower in the 2nd stage of my cooking process.

What's your comfort food for your kids?

Do you have a childhood comfort food?

#lazymom cooking

Check out other #lazymomcooking posts here:

Lazymom Cooking #1 : Beef Stew with Butter Rice

Lazymom Cooking #2 : Stirfry Beef with Celery

Lazymom Cooking #3 : Old Cucumber Soup & Celery with Cashew Nut

Lazymom Cooking #4 : Radish & Carrot Soup, Cured Meat Omelette & Steamed Okras

Lazymom Cooking #5 : Fusion Fried Idiyappam

Lazymom Cooking #6 : Airfried Tuna Toast

Lazymom Cooking #7 : Airfried Fish

signature.gif


"upvote, resteem & follow"
Together, we Steem on.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@francesaw/apa-khabar-steemit-community
I'm a member of Steem Malaysia - TeamMalaysia on the Steem Blockchain
FB Page : https://web.facebook.com/groups/Steem.Malaysia/


Team Malaysia












Sort:  

nice , upvoted

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:09:25
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 159.85/200.00
Total Photos: 30
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Please vote me

@francesaw excellent, great for people like me who do not know how to cook!!

@noriaakip Thanks. Mr. Darcy can cook mah

I believe this will taste yummy...... I'll try it some day

@sammynathaniels My kids love it always. Thanks for dropping by.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Tasty! Potato and egg, both are my favourites too.

If I add mushrooms (say, shiitake and shimeji) towards the end of cooking (since they cook pretty fast), that would make the gravy more flavourful?

Hey @redtomato I would use shimeji. I've tried before. Shitake gives a certain taste the kids don't like. But then again, they generally don't fancy mushrooms of any kind. Yeah, I would add the mushroom into the pan/wok and bring to boil before I transfer to my lunch box. The gravy will overpower the mushroom though.

Will give this a try but may switch things up a bit. Maybe add hard-boiled egg and firm tofu (if not mushroom) and turn this into a potato, tofu and egg stew. 😋

Wah....you so creative.

Hehe... No la, I just want to use up whatever that's in the fridge, before they go bad. Haha...

Lol...macam saya. Which reminds me I still have 3 tomatoes in my fridge. Can make tomato omelette.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72