Lazymom Cooking #5 : Fusion Fried Idiyappam

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

Hah! Feeling not so lazy today so I made myself lunch. I fried Idiyappam.

What is that?

English please.

Idiyappam is what we call string hoppers a.k.a putumayam.

This is one of my favourite snacks. When I'm at an Indian restaurant I'll always try my luck and ask for idiyappam and I will enjoy them with 'meen' curry (fish curry lah). Most people I know eat them with grated coconut and gula melaka (palm sugar). Trust me, having idiyappam with curry is the bomb.

The other way I enjoy idiyappam is to fry'em. The recipe is simple. It's like fried rice. Just replace rice with idiyappam!

#lazymom ingredients feed 2 adults (or 1 adult if you're a big eater)

  • 3 Idiyappams
  • cloves garlic, chopped
  • Sliced ginger (I used Bentong ginger)
  • Sliced red onion (or the big yellow onions also can). Here I used half an onion because that was a leftover onion.
  • 1 tomato, roughly chopped
  • mixed Indian spices (they came in a bag when I bought them from nearby grocery store)
  • 2 eggs
  • Cooking oil 1tsp
  • Sesame oil 1 tbsp
  • Soy sauce (I like to use soy sauce instead of salt because it's more fragrant)
  • Pepper

Refer picture above for the main ingredients of this delicious dish.

#lazymom Method of cooking
Put the oils in a wok (or a pan deep enough for frying). Put the spices in first. When you can smell the aroma, put the onions in. Next, goes the ginger. Fry them until the onions lose their colour. The ginger will start to turn brown on the sides. You have to manage the heat here to avoid burning the ingredients because it will give a bitter taste to the end result.

Savour the fragrance from the spices



Break the egg yolks a bit and pour the eggs in. Don't stir. When the eggs are almost getting cooked, break the Idiyappams over the eggs. Becareful not to let the eggs over cook because we want the eggs to wrap some of the strings and mix well among the other ingredients.

Don't be too busy taking pictures and forgot about the egg (I almost did)



Mix the Idiyappam well with the eggs, the spices and herbs.



Add the soy sauce to taste. #lazymom's taste is subjective but my rule of thumb is give it 5 rounds of dripping soy sauce from the bottle. Add in the chopped tomatoes. Give it a toss or two to make sure the soy sauce is evenly distributed. At this point, taste a small spoonful and check if it's salty enough for your taste or not.


Lastly, sprinkle some pepper over. Turn off the heat.


Up close and personal


Voila! This was my lunch (and my dinner too)

So, which part of the dish is fusion? The part where I used Bentong ginger and sesame oil. Because these 2 are usually used in Chinese home cooking, especially for mothers in confinement. Both ingredients help to expel 'wind' from the body and keep the body warm.

Do you have your own Idiyappam recipes to share with me? Share the easy ones ok? You know lah....I'm lazy mah.

#lazymom cooking

Check out other #lazymomcooking posts here:

Lazymom Cooking #1 : Beef Stew with Butter Rice

Lazymom Cooking #2 : Stirfry Beef with Celery

Lazymom Cooking #3 : Old Cucumber Soup & Celery with Cashew Nut

Lazymom Cooking #4 : Radish & Carrot Soup, Cured Meat Omelette & Steamed Okras


signature.gif

"upvote, resteem & follow"
Together, we Steem on.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@francesaw/apa-khabar-steemit-community
I'm a member of Steem Malaysia - TeamMalaysia on the Steem Blockchain
FB Page : https://web.facebook.com/groups/Steem.Malaysia/

#TeamMalaysia
#TeamMalaysiaBabes







Sort:  

hello @francesaw! This is awesome, thanks for sharing. Checking out the other recipes you shared in your post!

Cheers!

I shall give the recipe to the helper so she can cook!! LOL. Thank you!

I want to try this recipe on weekend!! Looks simple but yummy! Thank you mama @francesaw!

Mommy @angiechin you're a good cook should be sap sap water for you. Thanks for voting!

PLEASE cook this for our next #TeamMalaysiaBabes Gathering ya. Next weekend can? ;)

@patlu Unfortunately weekends I'm more busy than weekdays. Sat in SJC for Holy Week practice and mass then Sun in JCC for mass & Catechism. @annabellenoelle just started with the youth choir. This Sat they are animating the mass. Latin chants some more on 1st Sunday of the month but Lent, less 1 ordinary to sing, not so stress for her first experience.

I love idiyappam! Never knew it is this easy to cook it, @francesaw! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Now I gotta find if Thailand has idiyappam before I attempt making one. :D

If Thailand got Little India maybe can find there. Good luck lol

This is very pro!!! Hungryyy....

Really I like the post

Oh wow.. Yum yum..

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:06:07
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 124.35/200.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34