Lazymom Cooking #7 : Airfried Fish

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

I'm super lazy to fry fish because of the amount of oil required and the smell that sticks to everything in the house after frying. Not to mention the cleaning.

So, today I decided to try airfry the fish. In order to remove the 'fishy taste and smell' since there is no oil and frying involved, I used garlic and onions.

  • Fish (I bought kerapu)
  • Half an onion, roughly sliced.
  • 3 cloves of garlic, roughly sliced.
  • Olive oil, 1 tablespoon
  • Soy sauce, to taste

I usually prepare everything before I start actual cooking (professionally, the French calls it mise-en-place). And as I peel, chopped, sliced I clean as I go to avoid washing a pile of stuff at the end of cooking.

I only rinse the fish when I needed to cook it. If you buy fish, rinse them and keep them in the fridge, it risks contamination. After rinsing with filtered water, I dry the fish with kitchen towel.


I laid the onions and garlic onto a baking paper - a bed for the fish.


Placed the fish on top.


Beautifully laid out.

I pre-heated the airfyer. At least 5 mins at 180 degrees. I lined the airfryer basket with 2 more sheets of baking paper.


Into the airfyer the fish goes.


Drizzle the olive oil over the fish

I set the timer for 15mins just to see how the fish will look like. It was looking a bit pale, so I drizzled soy sauce over it and gave it another 15mins with an increased temperature of 200 degrees.


ok, so turns out it doesn't look like fried fish at all. But let's taste and see.


Taste like fish! The meat is tender and not overcooked. The onions and garlic did take away the smell. The soy sauce gave a bit of taste to the bland flavour of the fish.

It is good to go for dinner tonight!


Accompanied by stirfry asparagus. This one no need step by step guide lah. Anyone can fry.

The best things about airfrying fish :

  • almost no oil
  • no need to clean any pan! My airfryer basket is squeaky clean, thanks to 3 layers of baking paper.
  • healthier than frying with oil (I can't prove it but I believe it is)

You can use salmon fish. I've tried before and it was delicious especially with teriyaki sauce!

Do you have any fish recipes to share with me?

#lazymom cooking

Check out other #lazymomcooking posts here:

Lazymom Cooking #1 : Beef Stew with Butter Rice

Lazymom Cooking #2 : Stirfry Beef with Celery

Lazymom Cooking #3 : Old Cucumber Soup & Celery with Cashew Nut

Lazymom Cooking #4 : Radish & Carrot Soup, Cured Meat Omelette & Steamed Okras

Lazymom Cooking #5 : Fusion Fried Idiyappam

Lazymom Cooking #6 : Airfried Tuna Toast


signature.gif

"upvote, resteem & follow"
Together, we Steem on.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@francesaw/apa-khabar-steemit-community
I'm a member of Steem Malaysia - TeamMalaysia on the Steem Blockchain
FB Page : https://web.facebook.com/groups/Steem.Malaysia/

#TeamMalaysia
#TeamMalaysiaBabes

Sort:  

nice, upvoted

Thanks @anthonywong for dropping by.

@francesaw, I’ve always wanted to try cooking using an air-fryer but haven’t had the privilege yet... just out of curiosity, was the fish skin n onions crispy at the end?

@gelfire the onions and garlic were 'burnt' to a crisp & @davidke20 said they were kind syiok to eat. The skin was more to dry then crispy. Very much different from frying with oil. You won't get that fragrant oil fried taste and smell. The texture of the fish is also not the same. I feel between kerapu and salmon, using salmon is the best.

Ahhh... I see, but I guess it’s much more healthier that way. Good for promoting eating healthy @francesaw! 😅 Let’s see what you’re going to try cooking with your air-fryer next? 😉

@gelfire...I would like to cook salmon again. With french beans and loads of garlic, teriyaki sauce. Accompanied by butter rice and sunny side up. That's enough for dinner already.

Wow! Sounds yummy already just by reading your reply @francesaw! 😂 keep on posting and looking forward to more posts from you ya! Enjoy your meal preparations and cooking sessions!

Oh the air fryer cooks the fish just right? That's awesome. Can you adjust how long u fry it for or are there set timings that you have to follow? Always thiight od getting one but didn't want a white elephant in the kitchen. Hahaha!

@khimgoh My airfryer is a cheap cheap one. No pre-setting for anything. So, I set 5mins to pre-heat at 180 degrees. Put the fish in, set 15mins. Then check and see the colour so pale I push it back in and set another 15mins at higher temp 200.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 12:52:20
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 139.50/200.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Agree, that's why i steam it recently but not as tasty as fried

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56325.56
ETH 2374.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33