#BonsaiNews: Bonsai is always a 'work in progress'

in #teambonsai6 years ago

THIS has got to be one of my greatest faults - I simply do not take 'before' photos and at times, I even forget to take 'after' photos however, at least 'after' can be taken care of later.

Needless to say, I had a lot of time on my hands this weekend and opted to spend it with some of my trees which I rarely ever showcase - I think I have posted maybe two or three times about my own bonsai.

So, here we go:

Saturday was spent mostly among the developing seed which appear to be showing some progress, even some of the apple (green and red) and lemon seeds have started sowing signs of early development.

Later during the afternoon, I opted to go to the nursery where the new bonsai 'expert' (the regular guy quit) and I had a slight miscommunication since he sold my dad two bonsai for my birthday last month and for some reason used the wrong mixture of soil in one - a 10-year-old monkey thorn.

The result saw the tree go into a very deep dormancy (dormancy is normal during winter) which I am struggling to fix even after re-potting the poor guy.

During regular dormancy, this specific species of monkey thorn may lose its foliage however, I had noted some distinct early on dying. Initially, I thought it was normal and opted to move it indoors during the evenings to see if that would help - this tree does not require a lot of watering so I stuck with the every second week since winter had arrived and also since the pot was rather small. (They are also very resistant to frost, something we do not get at all - this species of tree do well during our winters)

My fears were realized when I noted that one of the branches had developed a type of fungal disease - the branch has since been removed and sealed with both adhesive aluminum foil and candle wax.

This (below) is what the tree looked like a day after I got him and it has since been established that he had been re-potted the very day prior in a mixture which contained a form of clay - which is not bad at all, if you live in a completely different climate.

The best part, you do not re-pot this tree during winter! Something I now had no choice to do.

The climate in the part of the country I live in, which is literally a 10 minute drive from the nursery, requires that a completely different mixture be applied as a base for this tree. Clay-like soils, which were used prior, tend to harden greatly around the roots of these species.

IMG_3461.JPG

Needless to say, you don't want to see how sad this tree looks at the moment especially since the roots prior to re-potting at my hands, were circling the base of the tiny pot it had been planted in - no root pruning had been done in what I calculate must have been 4 - 5 years. He now has a pot at least twice the size of the previous pot and if he survives, some major foliage growth is due in spring.

Bad news aside:

I absolutely love buying the 'shrubs' at nurseries - they make for the best bonsai in the years to come.

One such bonsai, was a young Juniper which I only paid R25 for - that's about $1.98

Although it was completely overgrown, I was more than excited to get it home and cleaned up - a real pity was that this guy also needed a re-potting done since the roots were growing through the bottom of the plastic bag it had been left in (I suppose that's why it was so cheap).

ALSO READ: #BonsaiNews: What's so great about Juniper bonsai? Simply; Everything!

Now, although they grow fast, I love Junipers purely because they are rather durable and, when looked after properly, take on the most amazing shade of green/blue foliage. I was a bit shocked to find onions growing in the soil it was planted in though - need I say more?

Either way, the little guy is looking whole lot better even after removing the majority of foliage - of which most was dead. Now at least, some sunlight can reach the remaining foliage and within the coming years, this tree may make for some lovely shari.

IMG_3701.JPG

IMG_3700.JPG

IMG_3699.JPG

The last showcase, a still rather young Chinese Elm, which looked previously as below, was finally wired and trimmed and has already started showing some lovely foliage growth again.

I don't understand why (this is one of the trees my dad bought for my birthday - from the same guy) the main growing branch was cut back at the top since it would have made for an excellent cascade feature.

DSC_0006.JPG

As you can see, this Elm had been allowed to grow out of control - something I tried to fix and am somewhat paying for since I accidentally snapped one of the branches I was trying to wire - I never said I was an expert at wiring.

IMG_3692.JPG

On a side note, one of the younger, more fragile branches could not be wired since it also would have snapped or been damaged if I had made use of the same wire - I instead opted to use one of the sticks I picked up on the beach to give it some lift (lower left branch).

Lastly, is one of my youngest monkey thorns currently still in a plastic bag - for some odd reason, this exact tree, even though it is the same species of monkey thorn as the one mentioned above, has grown and continues to grow thorn at the speed of light.

IMG_3695.JPG

He should be spending his last winter in the packet and come October, perhaps November, is set to be potted for the the very first time.

Bonus:

Pardon the 'poor' wiring on my avocado tree - the stem has been rather fussy with taking to the bending and through double layering the wiring in some places, I have been able to better allocate the shape I want it to take.

It also just allows the tree some protection from damage since the stem is rather fragile and can easily be broken when bending.

IMG_3703.JPG

(Background: Marula is doing really well)

Since wiring the avocado some three weeks ago, the tree has started producing a new branch slightly above the second bend which I hope to later start bending toward the more left side later aid in equal weight distribution.

That's a wrap.

JOIN OUR #BonsaiCommunity | #TeamBonsai | #TeamHorticulture: (Discord Invite Link: https://discord.gg/nAWEDpK )
The known #BonsaiCommunity | #TeamBonsai | #TeamHorticulture members include (and you should follow them for cool content):
@creativetruth | @daniellozada | @romanolsamuels | @bonsaiaustin | @imagendevoz | @synekto | @shadowolfdg | @mrbloom | @willymac | @mattlovell
Comment below with your handle and, if you post bonsai/horticulture related content your handle could appear above.

READ SOME OF MY OTHER ARTICLES:

#BonsaiNews: Bonsai is such a niche market on Steemit - I made a plan

#BonsaiNews: People and their opinions matter but........ [RANT]

#Guide: How to convert your SBD into Steem using the internal market [EASY]

#Donate: Three lions and a tiger killed at lion park in South Africa - let's never allow this to happen again!

giphy.gif

Sort:  

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Thanks for sharing some of your personal trees. I love that older monkey thorn; hopefully he fully recovers.

Wiring is definitely one of the areas of Bonsai I still need to learn; Im no good at it at all...

I so hope he survives - it is really one of the most splendid bonsai I have. I am monitoring it daily but there really is only so much one person can do before it starts to become too much for a plant to handle. I've opted to leave it alone for the time being aside of moving it inside at night just to cope with the weather - not that we have severe weather at all. It literally has no foliage left at all. Quite sad - to see such a beautiful tree reduced to 'nothing'. I've placed an order for a heating mat in the hopes that it would help when it arrives - here's to hoping. Anything to save something that 'cannot save itself'...

Dont give up! I usually give a tree at least 3 months in the growing season before i give up on it. I've had several trees suffer major setbacks, drop all their leaves, and then spring back after 2 months or more of showing no life. Take some picture of it in its current condition so you can post a recovery story :)

Don't worry - I don't intend on giving up on this tree. I'll trim it back if I have to but I won't let it die on my watch. Years ago I bought a ficus ginseng (one of the easiest plants to care for). At the time of buying, the tree destined for death. Here's an old post about it: https://steemit.com/nature/@imagendevoz/ficusginseng-they-said-bob-would-never-survive

The post that follows shows that Bob is a little cursed: https://steemit.com/nature/@imagendevoz/bonsainews-it-s-pissing-cats-and-dogs

I should probably do an updated piece on Bob since he is doing really well.

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

What an effort you put in to your hobby! Great job! I really admire your work. Your effort showed in the results, and all your Bonsais look beautiful. Thank you for sharing your experiences. Keep up the good work and please post more of your wonderful Bonsai.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70