You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #BonsaiNews: Bonsai is always a 'work in progress'

in #teambonsai6 years ago

Thanks for sharing some of your personal trees. I love that older monkey thorn; hopefully he fully recovers.

Wiring is definitely one of the areas of Bonsai I still need to learn; Im no good at it at all...

Sort:  

I so hope he survives - it is really one of the most splendid bonsai I have. I am monitoring it daily but there really is only so much one person can do before it starts to become too much for a plant to handle. I've opted to leave it alone for the time being aside of moving it inside at night just to cope with the weather - not that we have severe weather at all. It literally has no foliage left at all. Quite sad - to see such a beautiful tree reduced to 'nothing'. I've placed an order for a heating mat in the hopes that it would help when it arrives - here's to hoping. Anything to save something that 'cannot save itself'...

Dont give up! I usually give a tree at least 3 months in the growing season before i give up on it. I've had several trees suffer major setbacks, drop all their leaves, and then spring back after 2 months or more of showing no life. Take some picture of it in its current condition so you can post a recovery story :)

Don't worry - I don't intend on giving up on this tree. I'll trim it back if I have to but I won't let it die on my watch. Years ago I bought a ficus ginseng (one of the easiest plants to care for). At the time of buying, the tree destined for death. Here's an old post about it: https://steemit.com/nature/@imagendevoz/ficusginseng-they-said-bob-would-never-survive

The post that follows shows that Bob is a little cursed: https://steemit.com/nature/@imagendevoz/bonsainews-it-s-pissing-cats-and-dogs

I should probably do an updated piece on Bob since he is doing really well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69