Team Australia new recruits update 29/07/17 AND the other thing happening on August 1st!

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

It’s that time of the week again. Beer o'clock? No. Well maybe. I don't know where you live. I'm specifically talking about time for a new Team Australia update. Hooray! (Crowd goes wild.)

I'm pleased to say that my pestering of noobs paid off and I have enough to create this post. But before I get to them, I have one word for you: 

Steemlords

Actually before I get to steemlords, I have three more words: 

Bitcoin hard fork

Both events are scheduled for August 1. Now, if you don’t know about the bitcoin hard fork you can catch up by reading @bulleth’s epic rant here. I’m not sure if he’s just really annoyed with those bitcoin cash guys, or he simply went a bit crazy having missed five days of crossfit due to man flu. Either way, there's a lot of swearing and it's a fun read.

Ok. Now that you've moved your coins somewhere safe, we can focus on steemlords

In typical @sirknight style, none of us—including @bearone who's doing all the amazing artwork for steemlords—knows what's going on. However, @sirknight has sent out a call for teams to rally, which was heard far and wide by numerous knights, lords, a zombie and myself. If you want a rundown on the first lot of participants to answer his call, check out my link here. I'm pretty sure it’s the funniest thing I’ve written so far. 

Then you'll just have to keep an eye on the steemlords tag to find out what comes next. 

It's definitely not too late to join!

In other news...

I apologise for not bringing you the findings of the referendum in my last update. @communitynews had published the results at that point, but I missed it. 

Whoops. 

Bad choogirl.

Anyway, the motion was passed and Team Australia members are no longer required to follow all other members. Instead, you should check the Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote and follow those you share common interests with. However, since you never know who will be the next rising star of steemit, my strategy is to follow all the new members and then just unfollow people at a later date if our interests don’t align.

Be sure to check out @centerlink, who is busy putting Aussie-battler tax dollars to work in the form of dole payments for posts, as well as showcasing Australia's most worthy dole recipients. 

You can also support Team Australia members by following the centerlink curation trail in Streemian. Instructions on how to do this are here.

Don’t forget the Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank has also created the @discordia bot, which you can use to increase your upvote moolah. Some of the proceeds will support @centerlink so give it a try.

Of course, also check out the awesome Minnow Support Project. Details on how to join are are here and here. You can also come say hi in Discord. It's fun and you can make new friends!        

Candidate 1 

Name and bio 

@atly is from sunny BrisVegas! (Where all the good people come from obviously.) Her life apparently revolves food and planning what her next meal will be. One her favourite meals is Tsukemen (dipping noodles). 

When @atly’s not thinking about eating she is daydreaming about traveling the world. She most recently went to Japan and has posted details of her trip on her blog. (Japan seems popular doesn’t it? I seem to write a lot about Japanese holidays or people living in or coming from Japan in these intros!) 

Fun fact 

"I served Wally Lewis at work once—it was a much longer transaction than usual because he was busy shaking hands and taking photos. I got a kick out of the second-hand fame." 

I lived in did time in Gympie during years 11 and 12 at school and I remember Wally Lewis was in Gympie at some point for whatever reason. When someone asked him how long he’d be staying his answer was “depends on how many roots I get”. Mmm. Classy! 

Candidate 2 

Name and bio

@spaingaroo is an Aussie expat living in the Andalucia region of Spain. He’s been there since 1999, although not legally until 2003. In 2012 he bought a house in a small village, which he now shares with nine dogs and three cats, who all appear to sleep on his bed at night. (It is unclear where he sleeps.) 

@spaingaroo is an artist who says his fashion style is more Crocodile Dundee than Georgio Armani. He’s also into cycling having completed six Quebratahuesos races in a row. His worst time was seven hours nineteen seconds. In his best year he came 500th out of 10,000 and 49th in his age group. In his words “not bad for a druggie who only started cycling at 26 years of age”. 

Fun fact 

"I died before the age of one."

Yeah I’m not sure “death” and “fun fact” should go together in the same sentence. This is worse than all those broken bones “fun facts” supplied by @bmj, @nathanmj @deterrencepolicy

Candidate 3 

Name and bio 

@simondocherty is a Kiwi (say "fish and chips"—you know how it amuses us), I think, living on the Gold Coast. He says he grew up in New Zealand but it's not clear if he was born there. Either way, he likes the weather much better in Queensland. He tries to spend some time in Thailand as well, which is where his partner is from. 

@simondocherty says that after travelling to Thailand in 2015, he questioned what it means to be wealthy and donated time and money to a Thai orphanage. He says he has never felt so happy and proud to be part of the solution, and wishes he could scale his up contributions to help as many as kids as possible. 

Fun fact 

“I think dolphins are smug little bastards, it's like they know something we don't. And I refer to chickens way too much in day to day conversations. I sing songs about them but just enough that it gets stuck in people's heads and then I hear them singing it which I find so incredibly funny, especially when it's days later. Later I just hum the tune in said people’s presence which will set them off again. Yes I also wonder WTF am I doing with my life.” 

Oh, you're one of those people, are you? I’m guessing your songs are annoying tunes like “smelly cat” from Friends, which also gets stuck in your head if you’re not careful. 😁  

  

Candidate 4 

Name and bio 

@donniedeluxe is from Sydney. He likes music and coffee. In fact, he looks for any excuse to sit down and grab a coffee in one of Sydney's many great cafes and snapping a bunch of photos while he's there. 

He also likes to make posts about new bars popping up, mostly in central Sydney and the eastern suburbs by the looks of it. Future posts are likely to be in the areas of art, music, travel, festivals, friends, and general everyday Australian life. 

Fun fact 

“At age 16 I went to an international school in Doha, Qatar for six months of my high schooling life.” 

Cool. Doha. You should write about that. I went to France for a year as an exchange student when I was 16 and it was heaps of fun. I may or may not write about it in the future. 

Candidate 5

Name and bio

@southerncross grew up in the Northern Territory and north Queensland. He now lives on a few hundred acres bordering the the Daintree National Park with his wife, five kids, and numerous animals. He learned how to survive in the bush when he was eight by hanging out with local tribal kids in Katherine. 

@southerncross is also one of those people that mined cryptos way back (well for crypto) on an old laptop and then forgot about it. Recently he discovered his Dogecoins are worth about $1,500–$2,000 and his PotCoins are worth over $27,000 after sitting untouched for 3.5 years. Nice! I wish I had an old laptop with crypto wallets sitting on it that I’d forgotten about. 

Fun fact 

“I once ate some hash with THE Mick Fleetwood at a concert we were producing in Darwin.” 

Darwin. Fleetwood Mac. Hash. I can see that happening. Darwin is awesome.    

@sirknight, please add these new members to Team Australia.   

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness @ausbitbank.
  2. Regularly check the  Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote the content you like. 
  3. Follow existing members of @teamaustralia who you share a common interest with. Alternatively, you can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in Streemian. Instructions here.
  4. Comment below or DM me on steemit chat or Discord that you want to join.
  5. Link your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself tag to help boost your following. You can also follow this handy guide written by @teamsteem.
  6. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London.  
  7. If you’re not Aussie tell me why you should be a Team Australia ambassador. 
  8. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you run a successful business, or you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across Amercia, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you!

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates unless there is a lot of interest, in which case I will try and post sooner.   

 Team Australia footer by @bearone

Page dividers by @kristyglas

Sort:  

Thanks choogirl i think you captured us all well. I am actually in Thailand as we speak and I will apologise now for very slack involvement over the coming days. My entire plan for blogging and staying involved with steem has failed and the only way i can sign in is on my mobile which is extremely painful to say the least. But dont worry when i get back i will be posting, upvoting and resteeming plenty.

Welcome to the other new aussies and thanks for having me.

Ill have plenty of cheesy "I love Thailand" t-shirts hahaha

No problem. Have a good trip.

Excellent work once again @choogirl. Humorous bunch of new members. Thank you.

A great big welcome to:

@atly
@spaingaroo
@simondocherty
@donniedeluxe
@southerncross

You have all now been added to the members register.

We look forward to seeing your posts at #teamaustralia

SirKnight (posting as TEAM AUSTRALIA)

All new members get the dole now, and I voted their last post too :)

happy to help with a upvote after all the help you guys are giving me -- love yous all

Thanks man.

Welcome new team members. All hail Sir Scooterless

We'll see about that.

Just love how you run this team @choogirl 😁😁

Thanks @cheeto.blue. It's a pity the South African's haven't lifted their game more. There's a reasonable amount of you guys on here.

True that hey!! Hmmm... maybe we must chat so I can hear how you go about this? Maybe we can start our own team too? 😁😉

Yes, we can do at some point if you like. DM me when you're ready.

Awesomeness!!! That would be awesome :)
We having a Steem Saturday in Johannesburg in September so would be great if I could get something established before then... Will DM you and then we can arrange to chat... Your rock!!! Thanks @choogirl :)

Oh nice. Meet ups are fun. I'm off to Europe for 2 weeks on Saturday so it might have to wait til I come back though. Not sure how much steem time I'll get since I have to spend time with my real life friends.

Spend time with your real life friends???? Haha - I'm sure that'll be fun though. Get them onto Steemit ;)
Have a safe trip and I'm sure we'll chat when you back :)

Wew more team mates!!! <3

Thanks @choogirl! Looking forward to growing and contributing with you lovely people. Appreciate the leg-up for a young steemster such as myself as those included in the post :)

You are very welcome.

Teamwork makes the dreamwork ! ! !

<3

@mummedia


This post got a 15.03 % upvote thanks to @choogirl - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48