Ollie Bots Are A Hit With Teachers and Students Alike

in #teaching7 years ago

Better late than never...

A couple of days ago I mentioned that I was going to share how it went with my students using Ollie Bots in my coding/engineering class that I have been substituting for this week. Well, as it would go, last week's Eric Carle projects got a little drawn out and we didn't actually manage to get them out until today. Who would have though setting up a model magic sculpting activity for nearly 300 students would take nearly three days of classes?

The result....

The students loved them! Especially my 1st-3rd student. We didn't get them out for our Kindergarten class due to concerns about their ability to share effectively (we only have 6 and our classes are usually around 30-40 students) and with it being the end of the day, they needed to to be recharged at that time. And, our 4th-5th graders seemed to have lost the novelty of using them, some still did use them, but not as fervently as the younger kiddos.

I hope to have a few final Substitute Teacher Chronicles up in the following days. As Wednesday will be my last day as a substitute, I want to share some reflections and thoughts that my previous post really haven't covered. We were cleared to close on the house on Friday so I am sure you will get lots of fun content related to the joys of moving and getting prepared for my second-first year of teaching. Not to mention I plan to spend time with my nieces and nephews during my "time off" so you can look forward to life lessons as told by the offspring of @andrewt8709 and @wrlangdon08, and maybe even my older brother, Brad, who has yet to grace Steemit with his presence.

Previous Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13

Stay awesome,

@tltran

Sort:  

I hear some excited voices in the background! that resumes it all... success !!
:D Glad it turned up a great experience

Thanks for sharing

Absolutely, my pleasure! They were thrilled. It's never a quiet library there, but especially not today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66