Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher-Where Are My Fellow Educators?

in #teaching7 years ago

For the better part of the past two years I have been responsible for classrooms of students that would forget me when they were dismissed from class at the end of the day. They would struggle to pronounce my name when they needed my attention and I would try to impress them with my ability to know theirs at all in the first place. You may remember your own experiences with having a substitute teacher in school. This is the first in a series of blogs that I will be sharing about what it is like to substitute on a daily basis.

In the upcoming posts I will discuss how I came to be a substitute teacher, the requirements to become a substitute teacher, what challenges and celebrations I have experienced in the role, what I recommend to other substitute teachers before they take their first placement, and how to be successful in a substitute position. Of course, there will be other helpful teaching practices I have picked up along the way and I hope to interact with other teachers out there, substitute or not. I am transitioning into a full-time teaching position this fall, so this summer will be my last time as a substitute teacher.

My overall goal is to build up the teaching and education community within Steemit. I know there are a lot of you out there, I just seem to be struggling to find you all. If you know a teacher, student, or someone interested in education or teaching-please let them know where they can find me or send me in their direction. I met fellow teacher @mctiller early on in my steemit days and this week I located @cwbrooch and @steemiteducation, so I am hopeful there are more of you out there. If you see this, leave me a comment with what you teach and what you blog about here on Steemit. I hope to be including some lessons and activities that I have used in my science classes in the past as well as general classroom management and finding a healthy work-life balance.

Stay awesome,

@tltran

Sort:  

Great idea, and will be interesting to hear about your stories. I went into teaching for a short while, but was not very good at the job. Probably good for the students that I ended up not teaching. Just could not set and keep boundaries, and am not the most organized person in the world. Which as you no doubt know, makes it VERY hard. Tried to sub, but they ran me ragged. I honor you for being able to do this very hard, incredibly important work with young people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66