Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher: Stop, Collaborate, and Listen- Classroom Management Tips Pt. 2

in #teaching7 years ago (edited)

bullhorn-2026013_640.png

As my previous post indicated, not all classes will respond the same way to certain classroom management strategies. One thing that is prevalent among all grade levels is some form of attention-getter, also known as a call-out or call-back. I wanted to include some that I have used and found effective, and I have organized them by grade level. Eighth graders need a call-out that is appropriate to their age group as do early childhood students, or their response will not be what you were hoping for. The other major component for call-outs is “Practice, Practice, Practice!” If your class doesn’t follow expectations for the call-out you use or have agreed upon, follow up with a friendly “Oh no, it looks like we need to try that again. Shake it off and get ready for me to start again.” Remember when I talked about consistency in the last post?

Early Childhood and Pre-K Call-Backs

These kiddos need something physical and enjoy rhymes and songs, so sometimes it is a simples as saying “If you’re happy and you know it clap your hands” and replace it with “touch your nose/head/tummy” until all students are listening and playing along. Other times I might start “The Wheels on the Bus” song or play a game of “Simon Says.” One of the most popular ones at the early childhood center I worked this year used the tune of “Are You Sleeping, Are You Sleeping, Brother John?” but the words are replaced with the following lyrics:

🎶Eyes are watching
Ears are listening
Voices Quiet
Bodies Calm
This is how we listen
This is how we listen
At group time
At group time. 🎶
Students point to their eyes, cup their ears, make the “shh” signal, and hug their bodies during the song as well to satisfy the visual/tactile component.

Grades K-2 Call-Backs

Not much older than the pre-k kiddos, these students still like a good song, rhyme and visual component. But they can handle some shorter call-outs usually. Here are some of my favorites I have learned.
Teacher: “Macaroni and Cheese.”- Students:"Everybody Freeze!” Students put their hands up and go silent so we know they are ready for instructions.
Teacher: “Hocus Pocus.”- Students: “Everybody Focus!”
Teacher: “Eyes on me like you watch T.V.” (No verbal response from students, just eyes on the teacher and voices off)
Teacher: “Criss-cross, applesauce with your spoons in the bowl” To have students sit on the carpet with legs crossed in front of them. The “spoons” are their arms/hands in their lap or “the bowl.”

Upper Elementary Call-Backs

This age group doesn’t need as much rhyming, they are starting to grow out of it and tend to ignore a song or rhyme call-out. Sometimes I do use popular ones like “1,2,3 All Eyes On Me.” And the Students respond with “1,2, Eyes on You.” But that is usually reserved for loud, public places like a field trip or something similar. In class I use call-outs that are quicker.
Teacher: “Class, Class”- Students: “Yes, Yes.” Voices off and eyes on me when they are done.
Teacher: “Hey Hey, [Mascot Name] (This Week it’s Huskies) Students: “Hey, Hey, Shh!”

Middle School Call-Backs

I like to get my middle school students involved in their call-out, so I give them some options. If it works, we keep it, but if it doesn’t then I get to choose for them. Middle school is weird, some kids love the rhyming stuff, others love things that they are familiar with such a movie/tv quote or part of a song. Other times its best to keep it simple if that’s what works for your class.
My favorite is used in the title:
Teacher: “Stop, collaborate…”-Students: “And Listen!” (Less frequently, the students know this reference and may want to continue the lyrics….this is why I might have to choose a different call-out for them.)
Teacher: “Peace Please.” – Students: Put up a peace sign, eyes on me, voices off.
Teacher:”To Infinity!”- Students:”And Beyond!”
Teacher: “Scooby Dooby Doo-Students: “Where Are You?!”
Teacher:”[Name of School]” Students: “[Name of Mascot]”

Unfortunately I don’t have any experience or memories of call-backs from high school. Are there any high school teachers or students out there that can give guidance on this at all? I remember teachers saying “I’ll wait until everyone is ready to move on.” And I am guilty of saying that at times as well, but usually after I have used a call-and-response and once I started to explain something the talking started again. Either way, let me know what you and your students use or what you remember using in school as a student! I would love to hear more examples.

Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher Archives: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

Image Source

Stay awesome,
@tltran

Sort:  

As a Star Wars fan this what I did, "May the Force!" And then the students would respond "be with you!" I would repeat this and each time was quieter than the last.

That is awesome! As a former cheerleader it took me a couple tries to remember that I didn't need to shout a call-out to get their attention. Now, when it's only a few students still holding up the class I make sure I say my part in a whisper voice. Students always respond in a whisper voice and it confuses the ones not participating.

As a teacher I see how these strategies are used on a daily basis. Thanks for writing and sharing.

Absolutely! So glad to find another teacher here! Next week is my last as a substitute. I move into an 8th grade science position on the Fall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06