Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher: Today I Hit Gold!-Coding Class in Elementary

in #teaching7 years ago


My classroom for the next week.

So I think by now you can tell I love my job every day, but today I was blown away with how cool my job really can be. I accepted an 8 day position at a school working for their elementary coding/engineering class. This is a “specials” class so every day I have students from grades K-5 come in to my classroom in their library and they get to explore different stations to help them become familiar with coding and engineering principles.

Not only is this awesome because I get to teach something I am passionate about, but because the kids really look forward to this class during their day! My class is actually two classes combined, that I co-teach with the librarian, so I am also not alone in the crowd control. Not to mention, the teacher I am working with is the one who wrote the curriculum for my class, so she has done it all! I thought I would share a few pictures of my classroom for the next week, because it is just so cool.


This Osmo game system teaches kids basic code commands. The commands and numbers are magetic and when you press the play button below, the sprite follows your directions.


Students can do coding, words, tangrams, and numbers to foster hands-on manipulations that will work with the visual component on the Ipad.


I am going to need one of these for my electricity unit, obviously. Yah, let's just say it's for school purposes.

Okay, so that's all I have for today. There are so many cool tools the kiddos and I get to work with, so I will probably have more about this tomorrow or later in the week. Someone pinch me, this is too great!

You can see my previous blogs for Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher below

June 11, 2017- Where Are My Fellow Educators?
June 12, 2017- How Did I Even Get Here?
June 13, 2017-How Many Times Do I Have To Give The FBI My Fingerprints?
June 14, 2017- The Challenges of Being A Substitute Teacher
June 15.2017- Perks of Being A Substitute Pt. 1
June 16, 2017-Perks of Being a Substitute Pt. 2
June 17, 2017-Perks of Being A Substitute Pt. 3
June 18, 2017-It’s Dangerous To Go Alone, Take This
June 19, 2017- How To Thrive As A Subsitute Teacher

Stay awesome,

@tltran

Sort:  

What a neat class! I look forward to hearing how it goes. :-)

So far it has been great! Today was really high energy and we stayed late to set up for a project involving some Eric Carle books for the rest of the week, so I needed some downtime this evening. Promise tomorrow I will have an update and share what we are doing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65