Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher: Celebrating Eric Carle’s 88th Birthday in Class!

in #teaching7 years ago (edited)

Author and illustrator Eric Carle was born on June 25, 1929. To celebrate his upcoming birthday, my co-teacher and I decided to have the kids in our classes watch a video of Eric Carle reading one of his most famous books, The Very Hungry Caterpillar and show a short clip of how Eric Carle designed his collages for the books. I learned a lot today and was fascinated by the way he created the unique style of art used so predominantly in his illustrations. One of the books I have kept since childhood is Carle’s Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? I have grown to love Carle’s writing and illustrations even more as an educator and aunt.

After watching the clips, we had students create their own very hungry caterpillars with model magic. I think it was a great change of pace to have students engage in a more structured activity that still fosters their creativity. I love seeing students work things out on their own during the free choice of stations we have had available earlier this week, but with the end of this summer school session drawing to a close, we could tell they needed a little time to slow down and focus on one activity for the day. There was a lot of adjustment for the activities between the kindergartners and the fifth graders, but they all enjoyed the activity and still love that they get to take something home to show their families.


This hungry caterpillar is eating a leaf


I liked that this student made their caterpillar look like it was inching towards it's food. So creative!

Tomorrow we will get back to some free choice options for the classes that completed the activity today. We are going to show the older students the ollies and ozobots, so it's sure to be a crazy/fun day!

You can see my previous blogs for Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher below

June 11, 2017- Where Are My Fellow Educators?
June 12, 2017- How Did I Even Get Here?
June 13, 2017-How Many Times Do I Have To Give The FBI My Fingerprints?
June 14, 2017- The Challenges of Being A Substitute Teacher
June 15.2017- Perks of Being A Substitute Pt. 1
June 16, 2017-Perks of Being a Substitute Pt. 2
June 17, 2017-Perks of Being A Substitute Pt. 3
June 18, 2017-It’s Dangerous To Go Alone, Take This
June 19, 2017- How To Thrive As A Subsitute Teacher
June 19, 2017- Coding Class In Elementary

Stay awesome,

@tlran

Sort:  

That's an awesome steem what a great day for the kids asks you teachers I have bought all my grandchildren the hungry caterpillar thru love it! Thinks for this post loved it

Ah, his books take me right back to childhood. I'm so excited to share them when my daughter when she's a little older!

Yes! His designs are so unique and the learning pieces of his stories are interwoven so seamlessly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66