Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher: Why WOULDN’T Anyone Sign Up For This? – The Perks of Being A Substitute Pt. 2

in #teaching7 years ago (edited)

The students I work with everyday are enough reason to want to become a substitute teacher, in my opinion. Granted, not every student on any given day is my new best friend, but a great number of them give me some form of joy that it is truly a humbling experience to be their teacher for the day. I have taught all grades from early childhood through eighth grade. High school positions are a little harder to come by I have noticed because there are many school-preferred substitutes in their buildings who get the first notice and choice for available positions. Honestly, I feel much better suited to work with students below high school anyway.

During my long term position in the seventh grade science class I filled for a fellow teacher during her maternity leave, I made many mistakes. While the class I taught for a semester across the hall was very similar, the personalities and needs of each of my classes were entirely different. Each student and class rolled with the metaphorical punches, even when I told them I needed to explain something more clearly or try an activity completely over because it didn’t seem they quite got the material. Some days I would fight with a vcr/dvd unit fruitlessly for one of them to raise their hand cautiously and kindly explain which connection I had improperly placed. For these students, along with the students I taught during Student Teaching, their greatest gift to me was to teach me how to admit when I am wrong, laugh at myself and my mistakes, and to be authentic in my teaching.

Another gift that students impart on teachers is their candid interpretation of the world. There were times this was less than charming. One instance I remember was an early childhood student coming up to me and placing her hand on my stomach before saying “You look like you have a baby in your belly.” Now, I am well aware of and reasonably comfortable with my tummy pooch, so I wasn’t upset, but did inform her that some people may find that to be mean. On the flip side, I walked into a fourth grade classroom one day feeling particularly exhausted and gross due to a relentless allergy season, but was informed by a group of girls that I looked really pretty and that they knew just by meeting me in that instant that the day was going to be awesome. And it was, for the most part. I still felt under the weather, but I was much more willing to stay positive and do whatever I could to live up to their expectations.

Lastly, the students I work with impress me in so many ways beyond their academic capabilities. They face challenges inside and outside the classroom and manage to approach obstacles in their lives as another piece of equipment to be conquered on the playground of the world. With determination, they try every day to do their best for themselves and others. They offer to hold books for another student in crutches, or bring their science teacher a mason jar with tadpoles because they think it might interest her. (Fun fact: It did!) They readily admit fault and apologize when they realize they have done something wrong. They make cards expressing their condolences for a bus driver who lost a family member. They keep me young and hopeful when they demonstrate their passion for giving to others by hosting a clothing and food drive, or even when they show me some new dance move they mastered over the weekend. And the list goes on and on. Regardless of the day, I know I will share more smiles and laughs than others because I get to work with such amazing young people. It is the best thing in the world, and I get to call it my job.

I have one final part to this portion of my series where I describe the perks associated with the actual work I do aside from the awesome people I work with, which I post tomorrow. Thanks for following me on this journey and I hope you enjoy what you have read so far.

You can see my previous blogs for Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher below

June 11, 2017- Where Are My Fellow Educators?
June 12, 2017- How Did I Even Get Here?
June 13, 2017-How Many Times Do I Have To Give The FBI My Fingerprints?
June 14, 2017- The Challenges of Being A Substitute Teacher
June 15.2017- Perks of Being A Substitute Pt. 1

Stay awesome,

@tltran

Sort:  

My sister is also waiting to be a teacher.Good post.Upvoted and resteemed it friend.Please resteem my introduction post if possible.Thanks

Good luck to your sister and thanks! I will check out your post!

I mean, who DOESN'T like chicken nuggets? So glad to see you be able to make light of the things that really make being a teacher a rewarding experience.

I wouldn't trust someone that didn't like chicken nuggets probably. But then again they may be part of the cause for my tummy pooch lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60814.66
ETH 2400.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60