Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher: Why Would Anyone Sign Up For This? – The Challenges of Being A Substitute

in #teaching7 years ago

blackboard-2026160_640.png

Image Source

In my previous posts, I have mentioned how I became a substitute teacher and the requirements for doing so. In this post I thought it would be necessary to highlight some of the reasons people might hesitate in wanting to become a substitute teacher. No doubt, anyone that has been in school has a preconceived notion of what it is to be a substitute teacher. I certainly had my doubts prior to accepting a position and applying as a substitute. Perhaps if I hadn’t been asked personally by a teacher I trusted, in a school I loved, I may have avoided substituting altogether.

Why? Well, there are a number of reasons that come to mind, but perhaps it is better if I describe to you what it felt like when I first started substituting. When I went to orientation, I was given an explicit list of what not to do as a substitute teacher. They all seemed like reasonable guidelines at face value, but when I actually reached the classroom, it became obvious I would need to think on my feet to get anything accomplished in the day.

business-1754904_640.jpg

Image Source

One obvious guideline: don’t touch the students, in any way, under no uncertain terms, for ANY reason AT ALL. Seems logical, yes? Absolutely. In theory, that is. In practicality I have found it is necessary for me to do everything from administering band-aids, giving students a pat on the back in recognition for a job well done, to diapering, brushing a student’s hair before pictures, and moving a student that is wheelchair-bound from their seat to a swing at recess. It’s a fine line with many caveats and you have to use your best judgment for what is best for the students and the teachers for whom you are working.

Another no-no? Never tell a student that they are not allowed to go to the bathroom or the nurses office for any reason. This again is a liability issue. As a substitute, I do not know the medical conditions of students and must trust that students are being honest when they make such requests. In actuality, this makes classroom management a nightmare. I remember one of my first positions in a class for a teacher-friend of mine where it seemed the entire class of 27 sixth graders used the bathroom within a 50 minute period. Some teachers are aware of this instruction given by our substitute agency and kindly leave explicit directions and expectations for when/how students are to request to use the bathroom during class. These teachers are a godsend, in my eyes.

These are both just a few of the struggles substitute teachers have to problem solve for on a moment’s notice every day. Other challenges that I have faced include trying to conduct an emergency storm drill in the middle of a lesson, in a school I had never been to, during the last week of school, on a field day. (Murphy's Law is real, y'all). Ever try to troubleshoot the sound system for a classroom at 7:30a.m. while trying to play the video a teacher has left you for the day as your class of 8th graders are also eating their breakfast? Bottom line, to be a substitute teacher you have be a pro at multi-tasking, improv, and a jack-of-all-trades while remaining calm and establishing authority and instilling confidence in your students for the day.

I will end this post on what I consider daily challenges as well, such as mapping the best way to drive to the school you are assigned to during rush hour so you're not late, or figuring out where in the world you are supposed to park and how to even get into the school so you can sign in for the day and find your classroom. Sometimes you find yourself in the unfortunate situation of subbing for a teacher who did not leave lesson plans at all for whatever reason. And if I had a nickel for every time I couldn't find a microwave to heat up my lunch or a bathroom to relieve myself during that sacred planning time; well, my retirement may be only few years away instead of 40. Flexibility is a cornerstone in this field, people.

planning-620299_640.jpg

Image Source

It’s certainly not easy, but it has taught me endlessly on how to manage stress under pressure, and how to persevere in the face the most daunting of tasks. This is not to mention the amazing humans-adults and children-I have met and connected with throughout the process, but that is best left for my next post. Next time you meet a substitute teacher, instead of asking “Why in the world would you become a substitute teacher?” try asking “When did you discover your super powers?” instead.

You can see my previous blogs for Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher below

June 11, 2017- Where Are My Fellow Educators?
June 12, 2017- How Did I Even Get Here?
June 13, 2017-How Many Times Do I Have To Give The FBI My Fingerprints?

Stay awesome,

@tltran

Sort:  

I'd also tell them "Thank you for doing what you do!" ... so thank you! Seriously teachers don't get enough recognition or encouragement. Although I don't know you, I appreciate how you take care of your students...I can tell you do by reading this post. Have a great week!

Thank you and yes, it is always nice to be recognized for our devotion to making a positive impact on kiddos and the community at large. I often say teachers don't stress about the income because our reward is in creating a successful outcome.

That's a great attitude :)

You have an amazing heart, @tltran !
I spent a short time as a sub in AR, but the experience was nothing like you have had to deal with. Mine was more like the liberal aunt who came to babysit while the parents were away. It's amazing how quickly all that changed. Subbing almost needs to be a profession on its own, and not one for thin-skinned.

Absolutely. I am so glad there are so many people that answer the call to support our students and teachers. Some days I feel like I am a glorified babysitter, like when I am asked to show the same movie in all classes for the day. But I live for the days where I am challenged and moved outside of my comfort zone to advance student learning or facilitate social skills among kiddos that I have just met.

shoutout to any teachers out there.. HOLY SHIT do they have a tough job.. I've gone to school in Chicago and North Omaha.. Our subs got treated horribly. Kids can be straight up ASSHOLES and for no good reason. Much respect to them and taking up such a difficult career field

I have heard some horror stories about subs being treated poorly. Luckily, my worst days teaching were still better than the best days I have experienced working in restaurants, hospitality, and retail, in my opinion. Don't get me wrong, I loved my previous jobs for the experiences I had and people I met, but nothing beats getting a student interested in learning or helping a kiddo make new friends.

What an interesting perspective to read! I quite enjoyed your detailed descriptions of the trials and tribulations of your job. Kind of wish I'd read something like this when I was still in school, so I could appreciate my own teachers more. But of course, back then and without the wisdom & experience of age, I probably would have brushed it off without much thought.

Teachers are truly the unsung heroes of society; without all the good you accomplish everyday in the classroom, the future of our country would lack a solid foundation to sit on. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us!

I am glad you enjoyed my post!

I hear similar stories on a daily basis from my spouse who is an Education Assistant. Having a regular job at one school definitely makes things easier (provided you have teamwork in the school as opposed to competition amongst the staff).

Absolutely! Is an Education Assistant like a paraprofessional? Someone who assists the teachers with modifying lessons and providing for students who need more one-to-one interaction? They truly help classes run more smoothly and ensure that each student is receiving the education they deserve.

An education assistant here is assigned students that have some sort of learning issues and will give them special attention and individual learning. EA's have no authority and work under a teacher. They do not get to modify lessons themselves. However, my spouse has a PhD and was previously head of a department at a college so is a bit overqualified.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30