TAKE YOUR FOLLOWERS TO WORK DAY 2 - A NEW JOB & GREETINGS FROM OKLAHOMA

Greetings from Oklahoma!


If you saw my previous Take Your Followers to Work post, then you’ll already know that for some time I had been installing hardword flooring in the Branson/Springfield, MO area. That was a great job, and I may still be doing some of that in the future, but for the moment I’ve switched gears.

For the time being, I am doing lawn maintenance for commercial properties. Over the past week or two I’ve been across Missouri, Arkansas, and now Oklahoma. Since my time on steemit, I’ve posted from five states already (Arkansas, Wisconsin, Iowa, Missouri, & Illinois) and now Oklahoma makes the sixth.

Right now, I’m about here.


The main reason for the transition in employment focus is financial for me. On average, it looks like I’m going to be able to make about twice as much per day, so that should get the necessary funds to build my tribe a house much faster.

THE BASIC PROCESS

There is quite a bit of driving in between stores, so if @bluerthangreen is at the wheel, I have time to work on posts and such. When we arrive at a store, the first step is garbage pickup.

It is amazing at how much litter there can be at just one store, and sometimes it takes the two of us a whole hour just to get it picked up.

You can tell that in years past not everyone did the lawn care this way, because there is plenty of aluminum cans and other litter that have obviously just been run over by lawnmowers instead of having been picked up.

One interesting bonus to picking up the litter is “tips.” This is when you find sun-bleached money laying in the weeds. Last week we found a few $5 and $1 bills, but today I already found a $20 and two $10 bills. That’s a $40 “tip” just for picking up one store.

Dinner will be on the litter tonight!


After the litter is picked up, @bluerthangreen jumps on the riding lawnmower.

My next job is weed-wacking!


We will see what adventures all of this outdoor time gets me into, but I have seen signs that some adventures may be ahead!

I also learned that if someone smells like Chives or Onions, they may just be in the lawn care business! A lot of the lawns across this area have a high concentration of wild edibles, including Wild Chives.


After the lawn is trimmed, it’s time to clean up the cuttings with the leaf blower.

As always, I’m @papa-pepper and here’s the proof:


proof-of-a leaf-blower-and-that-the-CIA-did-not get-me-yet


Also, FYI – if you were wondering who posed for the photo of me with another STEEMHead in my recent The Adventures of the 24/7 STEEMHead Episode, it was none other than @bluerthangreen himself.

Except for the photo taken by @bluerthangreen,


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

I have picked up a lot of trash but never found the money . I guess it's a lot like hunting mushrooms you have to know where to look

Well, your upvote brought your comment to 10 cents, and mine took it to 16 cents. That's kind of like finding money!

LOVE LIVE STEEMIT!

@papa-pepper you're a money magnet!
wink wink!
these days I only find coins and yes I still pick them up haha
You seem to be having fun at work!

Yes but still looking for those 20$ bills

I just helped him find another 7 cents. Hey this picking up money is fun!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

WOW so the job is paying twice with all your little finds, you never know what you might find if you start digging :)

Actually, I might get paid 3 times... I posted about it!

LONG LIVE STEEMIT!

Very true, that's the sort of jobs you need, you will have to take us with you on them all lol

Be careful! Oklahoma is inhabited by people who can't get drivers licenses anywhere else!!!

I've done small-scale residential yard work, and all I ever found were dog turds.

that is so cool that you found that much on the ground! what a blessing right on

No kidding! That was a lot in a short amount of time!

You should put one tag as #originaltag if #takeyourfollowestowork is created by you.

I created it 27 days ago when I made my first work post... but thanks @ace108!

I sure hope the CIA doesn't get you!

My dad has been doing this type of job (lawn maintenance for the city where he lives) all of last summer at 65 years old. I tip my hat to him (and you) for doing physical work. Sometimes, I really wish I could go back at working in a position other than sitting on my ass all day. Or at least a mix of both. Now I wonder how long will my fat self run when being chased on the street by the CIA?

You saw that CIA post then, huh? Be safe!

Yeah, the terraced thing made me laugh, just like when you guys had a Steemit gathering video presentation and when it was your turn, you came up from a squatting position standing behind grass to tell your story. I love pince-sans-rire (tongue-in-cheek?) humor.

I won't push the joke to the point of mentionning bomb and fertilizer... oops, I just did it!

Meet The Parents - It's Not Like I Have a Bomb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25