TAKE YOUR FOLLOWERS TO WORK DAY - The Official 1300+ Follower Post From @Papa-Pepper

cover.jpg

Papa has done a lot of different jobs in his time, but I’ll take you with me on the kind of work I’m doing now to make money.

I’ve already seen @karenmckersie being a security guard and @kus-knee sharing about washing windows, so I thought that it was about time that I took my followers to work with me!


IMG_6113.JPG

Most of the time for me these days it’s hardwood flooring. However, yesterday someone needed a vinyl floor put in their basement, and since it looked like wood, I decided to help. It is very similar to some of the glue-less laminate flooring that I’ve been installing lately around the Branson, MO area, so I’ve become quite familiar with the basic procedure.

IMG_6115.JPG

So all the seams do not line up with one another, a staggering pattern should be used. This pattern illustrated is the “staircase,” named so because it looks like stairs. Although this is the easiest and fastest pattern to install, most people do not like seeing a pattern in their floor.

IMG_6116.JPG

This is just shown for an example, it is not how we installed the floor.

IMG_6118.JPG

A random “pattern” is the most popular way that people want their floors installed. Sometimes a subtle pattern will be there, but it is sporadic enough that the eye can’t really pick it out. Anyway, Let's start at the beginning.

IMG_6105.JPG

We started yesterday with four rooms and two hallways to lay, which totaled just under 1000 square feet. The cement floor was already scraped clean and vacuumed.

IMG_6110.JPG

We use a foam padding under the flooring, which comes in rolls.

IMG_6109.JPG

The rolls come with tape and flaps already on them to secure them together, but it needs to be secured to the floor, so we use a spray adhesive.

IMG_6111.JPG

Though we were installing a water proof vinyl, we still used the foam under-layment as a pad to lay the floor on. With wood flooring we use a similar product that acts as a moisture barrier too.

IMG_6122.JPG

It is important to not lay the flooring tight from wall to wall. Since this floor requires no glue, nails, or staples, it can move slightly. This means that we make sure to leave room for expansion. We got the whole thing laid in yesterday, and the finished result looked great.

Here are some more photos of my day at work.

IMG_6124.JPG

IMG_6127.JPG

IMG_6128.JPG

IMG_6159.JPG

IMG_6161.JPG

IMG_6162.JPG


For the bathroom, you need to remove the toilet.

Then you lay the floor and fir it around where the toilet will go.

Once you replace the toilet, the bathroom flooring is complete.


Here is a close-up of the floor, which had a nice wood grain look to it.

Here is a short video that I made at the end of my day.


Thanks for coming to work with me. I wasn't sure that I could bring more than 1300 people with me, but you guys did great. Thanks for the help too. I shold be able to pay you each about 5 STEEEM an hour, so make sure to turn in your time cards before you leave my post.

Also, I think that steemit has just given me a great opportunity to monetize my work!

If you are able to share about your job, feel free to use the #takeyourfollowerstowork tag too.


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

@papa-pepper loled at the "you have to remove the toilet part" wow - that's a lot of work!
thank you for sharing it - its a very good DIY information!

Excellent, professional work. I was interested to observe the process.I wish you continued success.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.06 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Super cool to see what you are doing for work right now!

Thanks man... and about that STEEM I owe you... I may shoot for tomorrow, but I'm good for it!

Nah man, all is well! I'm not worried about. :)

great work, @papa-pepper ! I have to do a similar work on my bathroom floor, I have any tiles to do it but, at first, I have to work on the concrete basement of the floor. Ok, I'm feeling tired and I haven't started yet :D

I'm sure it'll look great when you get done!

This looks similar to a bamboo floor I installed in December.

Yeah, a lot of bamboo flooring these days is very similar!

Great job, when can you come and do mine :)

Is there any other way

Pretty cool , thanks for the mention! Its nice to see what others are doing , thanks for shareing your great post with us , and keep up the great work lol ! 😉👍i just turnd 68 rep yesterday ! Woot !

You were the first steemian I saw at work, so I figured that I should mention it!

Cool ! Its strange being up right now ! Its almost 11 am lol ! Im used to sleeping all day from working the night shift ! This being laid off is messing with my system ! Now theres different people on steemit then im used to as well ! 😉👍😂

Great work ppapa-pepper ! I use to work in construction for like 9 years and now I remembered the days when I also put floor for money !
It was one of the most enjoying part from construction domain .

I like it much better than roofing... hard to fall from on the floor and get hurt, but the roof? Much more dangerous!

I agree with you bro ! :)

Ahhhh........... I remember those days.... laying flooring. (mostly carpet) My knees would be killing me by the end of the day.

It's hard work, but you get a good feeling at the end of the day when you can see the fruits of your labour laid out in front of you.

I would take my followers to work, but they would be bored in two minutes - not much to see except me staring at a computer screen ;-)

Yes, the sore knees! I have two that relate to that statement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50