HOW TO GAIN UNSTOPPABLE DISCIPLINE

in #success7 years ago (edited)

Discipline comes down to control over your own emotions and actions. You need to learn to stop being a slave to the way you feel. We don’t want to work sometimes because it doesn’t feel nice. And so we do it slowly and our mind fights us every step of the way.


The disciplined individual however can simply tell themselves that it doesn’t matter whether they like it: it has to be done and that is that. They choose one goal, one objective and they shut out all other distracting thoughts and impulses.

This is powerful stuff because it allows you to gain laser focus over what you are doing and to complete any task. At the same time though, it also creates congruence in everything you say and do. People will notice that you aren’t easily upset by things people
say, desperate to please them, or torn about what to do: you are
decisive, disciplined and immune to life’s concerns.

Watch my video below


So often we try to please everyone because we want to be liked and we end up making weak decisions that end up upsetting everyone. Often we let our emotions lead us in our conversations and disputes which causes us to react badly in conversation. And so often we curl up in a ball and don’t do the things that need to be done, which only causes our life to become more difficult.

The disciplined person rises above this and they are in complete control over their actions and reactions.

How do you gain discipline?

Discipline is the conscious choice to focus on one thing and to shut out distractions.
Distraction is procrastination and procrastination is distraction.

Like everything practice and training is how we can accomplish self discipline. Controlling our focus and ultimately our thoughts and emotions by sticking by what we choose to at first.

Examples

  1. When someone is talking to you in a conversation, focus deeply on what they’re saying.

  2. When you are meant to be working but you’re interested in what is happening on the other side of the room, it is your job to ignore that urge to look up.

  3. When you are trying to exercise but you feel tired, you ignore the feeling and power on through anyway.

  4. Take a cold shower. Standing in a cold shower takes a huge amount of willpower and discipline and this is something your body and mind will fight you on every step of the way. But if you can force yourself into that cold water anyway, you will be training and harnessing your willpower. And actually, cold showers are very good for us seeing as they help us to produce more testosterone, they increase blood circulation and they train our immune systems.

  5. Make your bed. This is a great habit to get into: if you can successfully motivate yourself to make your bed every morning, even when you’re stressed, even when you’re in a hurry, then this will be great training to get yourself to do other things that you need to.

Feelings and Emotions

Become aware that your feelings don’t matter. As long as you’re not hurting yourself, it doesn’t matter if you’re a little hungry, a little bored, a little cold, a little tired. It doesn’t matter if you feel you deserve a treat. Being an adult is all about resisting that urge and on focusing on the things that you need to focus on in order to accomplish your goals.

Everything is patterns, habits, and behaviors. So each time you complete a discipline tasks such as these, you are strengthening them to become stronger. The urges will become weaker and more seldom as time goes on.

Think of it all as training to become the best person you can be. Why do soldiers in the army have such strong discipline? They train each and every day, no excuses ever.

The patterns you develop will keep you on track to complete and accomplish all the goals you need to. This is what causes most people to give up or fail in life because they lose the focus or willpower. Create that and you will achieve everything you want in your life.

@bitdollar

Help support me on Steemit by engaging on this post!! All feedback is greatly helpful to better myself, my content and as well as everybody else that follows.
You can subscribe to my YouTube Channel at www.youtube.com/mattj3
IMG_4764.JPG
My recent trip to Mexico

Recent Posts

WHY YOU LACK DISCIPLINE?

WHY SELF-CONFIDENCE WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE

Why is the Love Emotion So Powerful??

Real Estate Market Update - Toronto, North America and International Major Cities!

This Simple Trick Will Increase Your Brain Capacity and Performance

STEEM Could be The Biggest Gainer in 2018!!

What Should You Do if You Are Stuck Starting 2018??

Sort:  

Great post. I made my bed this morning and cleaned the apt first thing. I definitely did not take a cold shower...it's single digits in the east coast, but I will try that in the future. Next up, head to the gym for some dead lifts. No time to procrastinate until those things are done.

That is fantastic. I hear you about the cold shower right now, it is freezing as well here in Toronto. The cold showers do a ton of positive mental work on yourself. It really helps with fear and many other things.

Dead lifts? I am liking you more and more @pbgreenpoint! Hit up those gains! I am going later tonight for a good chest pump :D

Always very useful information. You can't really do anything that is worthy for you and be successful if you do not have the proper Discipline. Thank for your content and videos. Full SP for you.

Yea so true!

Thanks for your support brother it is greatly appreciated!!

Hey @bitdollar I am a curator from the new Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 8th January. Your post will be awarded with a 25 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here's a link https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/the-ninth-whaleshares-curation-show-with-nikflossus-23-59-gmt-or-6-59est Hope to see you there!

That is awesome @krazykrista, thanks so much! I will do my best to make it there tonight. :)

So each time you complete a discipline tasks such as these, you are strengthening them to become stronger

it's like a videogame you complete missions and quests earning experience and become better and better! very interesting and easy to understand post, i better go and start by making my bed :P

That is actually a great way to think of it and helps a ton. Yea keep that bed made! :)

Thanks @filotasriza3! Following you

your welcome it's nice finding interesting people in this platform!

Good afternoon my friend. Another great post. I always look forward to reading your post to keep my behaviors and patterns under wrap. A couple of really easy ways that I monitor my weaker traits and replacing them with stronger traits as you described above. One really easy tool is H.A.L.T. not sure if your heard of it before it stands for HUNGRY, ANGRY, LONELY, TIRED. Usually when I am off lack of focus, procrastination, lack of discipline etc I do an inventory of myself using H.A.L.T. and one of these things are usually off balance sometime more then one then. Once I recognize it I can do something to get it in alignment. It is all about mind/body/soul for our vessell to work to full capacity. The other thing is I journal everyday and do not read my daily writing till Sunday evening then I read my weekly readings to see if I am repeating negative patterns or using excuses etc. It is all about awareness of one's self so we can make the appropriate changes. Have a blessed Sunday.

Glad you enjoy the posts! Never heard of H.A.L.T but that is a great tip to remember and implement. You are right about mind, body, and soul being in alignment. Awareness is so very important and I love that exercise you do with going over your journal each week, I should start to do something like that. Keeps you on top of everything to really see what to improve on exactly.

Have a blessed day as well! Love your comments. Btw I live just over in Woodbridge. :)

Hey neighbour I live in Markham....just a stones throw away.

Closest Steemian I have met on here yet! :)

Isn't that ironic. My son is on steemit budz82 he introduced me to steemit in the summer. Love this platform as I get older I am like a sponge just want to learn more and more about life and different people and want to share my life experiences.

Same with me! Learning about life and the world is so stimulating. Connecting with people as well, helps you learn more, improves your mood and gives you so many opportunities in life. I am on the same page as you @donnab! (You know me, Donna B....Lol I keep saying that when I see your name)

I really like the simplicity of your post @bitdollar.
Control over ones emotions and actions definitely amounts to self-discipline. Thanks for sharing.

Yes it is so important to control ourselves. Thanks so much stopping by. :D

Beautiful share, I've heard it time and time again that making your bed is key! Awesome video, great formatting, and im excited to read your other post.

It is a great way to start your day and become more disciplined through habit. Thanks so much @kubbyelizabeth!! :)

This is a very inspiring post. Thank you

Thanks for reading :)

Can use some more Disipline, especially in winter. like the work you put in the post

Yes we gotta buckle down in the winter and push harder! :) Thankss @heyitshaas!

Nice post, it is a very good one. I learnt something today but I have one problem
When someone is talking to you in a conversation, focus deeply on what they’re saying. That is my problem. Sometimes I get tired of what people are saying n I just act like I am listening but I am not.

Just practice in those tough circumstances to build the will power to listen intently. Then get out of the conversation as soon as you can and listen to others who have something of value or interest to you..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41