Sublime Sunday-Thunderstorm Moon

in #sublimesunday6 years ago (edited)

My submission to #SublimeSunday a tag presenting you with the unique opportunity to post something a bit different, wacky, crazy or just whatever takes your fancy and instigated by @c0ff33a ☕️

July 27 was the Full Moon. The effect of the full moon and a few days before and after are known to cause some people to act weird or a bit crazy. I will try to hold it together but it is Sublime Sunday - a little weirdness is called for!


image


I always called this the Strawberry Moon - the strawberries in Eastern Canada are ripe at this time and I start enjoying strawberry shortcakes.

The July Full Moon has many other names:

  • Buck Moon because the deer loses it’s antlers around this time and new ones will start growing.

  • Thunderstorm Moon - the storms are frequent during this time. This name seems appropriate - I could hear the rumbling of thunder and flashes of lightning during the night.

This morning was starting out with a nice warm rain and I could see the burgundy lilies opening in the first light.

it’s been hot and humid for a few days and the rain was a welcome sight needed for the garden and lawn.


image


Early this morning I was head butted by Sunday. Once awake I might as well get up. After the cats, Sunday and Red were feed, I checked on the outside birds and any wild animals that may come by.

Who’s waiting on the back deck but a tiny red squirrel I will call Peewee. I don’t know if Junior is a female and maybe Peewee’s mother.

The word must have got around the squirrel circle that it’s ok to come see me for Peewee was not afraid and waited patiently while I got him a biscuit ( homemade, of course-that what they like).

PeeWee



image


PeeWee is so tiny. I would like to pick him up but didn’t dare as squirrels have sharp little claws.

Here he is eating his piece of biscuit on the back deck. A Junco bird Is in the background.


image


Hubs made coffee and scrabbled eggs. After breakfast I was ready for the day under the electric rays of the Thundermoon.

I’ll try to shake the weirdness before the day is finished!


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

Photo & Text @redheadpei. All rights reserved.


F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg

#thealliance






The STEEM Engine



photofriend banner.jpg


Thanks For The Visit! Enjoy Your Day!

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

"I will try to hold it together but it is Sublime Sunday - a little weirdness is called for!"..LOL! In my case, more weirdness! :) Great post Jo! Love the photos! I've heard of a couple of the names but not Thunderstorm Moon..makes sense though! xoxo

Haha Dee - happy you got a chuckle. Hot & humid this morning. We could use another little thunderstorm to cool the air. ❤️

I sure did! Couldn't sleep so got up to this and it is good to wake up with a little laugh! Suppose to get cloudy here today and rain most of the week again..craziest summer we've had in a while! Hope it cools down some today for you!! xoxo

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of July 30 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Thanks @deerjay and @pixresteemer. Appreciated!

Super photo of the full moon, I like the angle with the tree branches in the foreground.

Squirrels are awesome, but they never like to hang around for me - how did you get to photograph him so close up.

Coffee and scrambled eggs make everything better, this was certainly a very #SublimeSunday thank you for sharing it I throughly enjoyed it.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks so much Rob! I’m happy you enjoyed it. I’m not called the squirrel whisperer for nothing. 😂. Over the years I’ve had various red squirrels visit and I named them all. This little one came right up to me on the back deck. He /she comes by regularly now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43