Sublime Sunday ~ Dinner ~ Sunset Harbour Walk ~ Wizard and Gnome sighting

in #sublimesunday6 years ago (edited)

This is my first entry for #SublimeSunday by @c0ff33a. Join me for a Sunday stroll.

Friends took us to dinner at a cool vegetarian restaurant downtown. Our friend Jane, in the hot pink dress, is getting the eye from the guy in the doorway.
P7280073.jpg

P7280077.jpg

I don't know why I felt guilty taking a photo inside... I'm sure nobody minded. I kinda did this from beneath the table in any case. The food was awesome.

P7280076.jpg

After dinner, we set off for a walk around part of the inner harbour. It was a beautiful warm summer night.

P7280102.jpg

A sailboat was heading out for an evening tour. The water taxis were busy.

P7280103.jpg

Notice the number of cranes in these shots... Victoria is in the midst of a huge construction boom.

P7280104.jpg

The sun burned a hole right through that condo... they don't make 'em like they used to I guess.

P7280105.jpg

P7280101.jpg

As the sun set, we turned back towards the tourist shopping district.

P7280122.jpg

P7280120.jpg

Three large cruise ships were in port and the streets were busy with tourists.

P7280091.jpg

P7280113.jpg

The city wants to ban horse-drawn carriages... now I see this for the first time.

P7280131.jpg

Johnson Street, looking back towards the new lift bridge. Sometimes you get a break in traffic if the bridge is up.

P7280134.jpg

I was checking out Roberta's Hats when I saw a familiar figure in the window... That's not... could it be? @Luigi-the-gnome is this one of your family? A cousin perhaps?

P7280128.jpg

Just then, I turned and saw a strange figure approaching. The man was easily seven feet tall if you count the hat... I struggled to focus the camera. There was no way he didn't see me taking his photo. I felt I should say something.

"Dude... I love your hat. Are you a Wizard?"

He looked down at me with amused disdain. "Yes" he said and walked away.

P7280129.jpg

It was all very weird and strangely sublime. The perfect Sunday evening in Victoria, BC.

P7280130.jpg

Thanks for coming along on my little walking tour.

#dailydigital is the creation of @trudeehunter, and #funkyedits is by @tattoodjay and @krazypoet

Please be sure to check out my latest posts:

* The Petals #flowers Contest
* Seeing Monochome Through The Viewfinder
* Fernwood Last Night
* Sunshine Sketches From Fernwood ~ My Wednesday Walk
* New Mirrorless Camera Review ~ Olympus OM-D EM-5 Mk II

Sort:  

Must have been a special occasion to be treated to dinner? Beautiful photos. Love you saw @Luigi-the-gnome ( where was Patrick?). The wizard did change into a girl as he/she walked away. 😊 🙃

Very special occasion: Janey had a coupon! :) That's not Luigi, it's Vincenzo. We're trying to establish if there is a family relationship :)

Coupons are good. 😊 Luigi must a cousin with the close resemblance of handsomeness 😂 😃

Haha ! Yeah, probably my cousins, I have a good thousands =D
My human is asking if they were to be sold, or only decoratives guests...?

They are certainly not for sale, so they must be guests. I was worried that the wizard may have trapped them inside the store so I went back this morning to check on them. The big guy said his name is Vincenzo, and he, of course, knew your name and claimed to be a relative... I'm not sure though, there was a twinkle in his eye... I think he may be playing a trick on me. He said the little guys are your great-grand-nephews or something. Left to right: Aldo, Vito, Nunzio and Melvin. :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Ha ha this cracked me up and you met a wizard too. That was a sublime Sunday indeed.
I like this posterized effect on your photos. They are like paintings. Resteemed.

Thanks very much! The effect is from an in-camera filter, and I've become hooked on it for these sort of story-telling posts because the images feel like illustrations to me. Making these things has me thinking of writing a children's novel just so I can take the photo-illustrations! :)

That's a brilliant idea Keith and I can see how that would work perfectly. You could post it on steemit as you go along and then turn it into a full book. Excellent idea.

Just saw your comment here Keith and I'd like to really encourage to write that book. You are doubly blessed with your talent both for wrting and photography.I'm putting in my request for my signed copy in the first run......seriously!

I like how the sun is eating through one of the buildings :)

Your town looks similar to mine. Looks like a nice, relaxing day - and a wizard sighting? Too cool.

Thank you, I liked how that came out :) What's the name of your town?

I'm in St. Augustine. Probably smaller than where you are at, but I saw some similarities.

That's smaller but I can see the similarities as well - on the ocean, lots of marinas, boats, tourists, old buildings. I love all that stuff! :)

Excellent. I enjoyed your walk tremendously. The narrative is so aptly amusing, descriptive and insightful.

What do you have planned for next Sunday? I'll stop in to see!

Thanks very much! You never know what might happen next Sunday :)

Thanks so much, I'm happy you liked it!

Hey, look... I'm saying everything twice! saying everything twice!

Love this post with all the wonderful pics embellished with very appealing digital effects Keith. Your photoblog has triggered great memories of our trip to Canada many years ago and stirred up a desire to go back. It's not at all likely though so I will be content to browse this post and others that you share with us to get my 'Canadian fix.'

And what a bonus bumping into Luigi's long lost relative. (U & R )

Thank you Trudee! I think there is a bit of Australia in one of these shots... take a look at the two rickshaw pullers. I can almost guarantee those would be Aussies... It's exactly the type of summer job many young people from Australia will take here in BC as a bit of a lark I think. We hear quite a bit of that accent over here :)

Haha.......I see you are well versed on our Aussie Larikins Keith. Those two guys have just arrived, flying Qantas Airlines, have done their pub crawl and are making themselves right at home. Lock up your young ladies and tighten security in your night clubs and those guys might just avoid deportation or having their accomodation change drastically overnight. (lol)

That sounds about right! :)

Definitely the harbour photos, those are my favourites today 😀

Thanks so much, Erika! I have a bunch more harbour shots from today. I will get them posted soon

Please do!

Another wonderful walk with you! You made it perfectly sublime! Fun to see @Luigi-the-gnome 's cousin and a wizard, too! Bonus!

Yes, that was fun indeed! Thanks for coming along, Melinda! :)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

It was all very wierd and strangely sublime.
It should be weird instead of wierd.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39