MonochromeMonday and a New Mirrorless Camera Review ~ Olympus OM-D EM-5 Mk II

in #monochromemonday6 years ago (edited)

I'm switching from my full-frame Nikon DSLR to micro four thirds mirrorless.

After my wife got her new camera three weeks ago I've had a lot of time to play with the Olympus camera system. We sold off a bunch of gear to pay for Cathy's camera. I kept on playing with it. I started selling off more gear and didn't stop until I was able to afford this camera body and an adapter to allow the use of my Nikon prime lenses.

Olympus OM-D EM-5 Mk II with K&R Concept adapter and Nikon 24mm f/2.8 lens. Next to the camera is my trusty Nikon 50mm f/1.8.

DSC_6778.jpg

Our friend's puppy, Kamea in monochrome.

I bought this camera planning to use prime lenses - I have four of them: 24mm, 50mm, 85mm, and 105mm. Two things happen when attaching a Nikon prime lens with adapter - the lens becomes manual focus only, and the focal length is effectively doubled due to the camera's 2x crop factor. The 24mm lens attached to the camera in the first shot becomes a 48mm, which is a perfect standard lens. The 2x crop factor also applies to DOF, and a f/2.8 lens will have roughly the same DOF as a f/4.0 lens. You really want fast primes for micro 4/3. F/1.4 lenses and faster are the best - more light really helps that little sensor perform best, and helps you keep the ISO down.

Kamea was captured with the 50mm f/1.8 prime - which now works like a 100mm portrait lens.

P7220048.jpg

Manual focus is fairly easy if you enable "focus peaking" which casts a red fringe around the areas of the photo which are in focus. At times I found it difficult to see the red halo, but I soon discovered an alternate method which is quite remarkable. More on this in a moment.

P7220046 (2).jpg

The camera does not detect the presence of the adapted lens and does not record any details about focal length or aperture.

Moonlight on the water. EXIF Summary: 1/6 sec ISO400. <--- that's all that gets recorded.

P7220130.jpg


It was up to me to remember the details: Nikon 85mm, f/1.8. By the way, notice: one sixth second, handheld at 170mm full frame equivalent. The in-body image stabilization works like magic with the Nikon prime lenses, but you do have to go into a menu and enter the focal length of the lens and remember to do it again when you change lenses. Today I found the stabilization was acting weird and realized I was using my 24mm but the camera was still set for the 85mm. (Go to Menu, *C, Image Stabilizer to make these changes.) None of this applies to native Olympus or Panasonic micro 4/3 lenses which do autofocus properly - this is all about using adapted lenses. You could do the same thing using an adapter for Canon lenses if that's what you happen to own.

50mm f/1.8. See, it is possible to get background blur with the smaller M4/3 sensor.

P7220061 (3)_edit.jpg

Focus by "cartoon!" I have not seen this mentioned anywhere else.

At times I found the red focus peaking very difficult to see. Try it on a red flower for example! It is far easier to do manual focusing using an Art Filter called Keyline II as shown in the next few shots. (Select Art on the mode dial, then Keyline II.) This cartoon-like image is what I saw in the viewfinder. Rotating the focus ring shows or changes the area of the image which is in focus and this can be seen by the level of detail. Compare the details on the windshield of the closest motorcycle to that of the windshield of the 2nd bike, and then see the level of detail on the stop sign. What you see are depth-of-field effects, with the foreground in focus and the background soft and out of focus. You could also throw the foreground out of focus and make the background sharp, and this will be evident in the levels of detail seen throughout the photo. More detail indicates the in-focus areas of the image.

P7230027.jpg

Here's a more extreme example. The foreground is in focus... where's the background?

Part of the joy of mirrorless cameras is using fast prime lenses for shallow depth-of-field effects - and then really seeing the effect through the viewfinder in a way that you cannot do on a DSLR.

P7220071.jpg

Stop! I hate so-called "Artfilters". I'm a photographer!

Fair enough, although I do quite like this effect myself. In fact, it's exactly the look I used to spend hours trying to create using various software packages on my Macbook. The point is you can save both the jpg and RAW images. You can even bracket several different filters and also save the RAW file... or, having only the RAW file, you could apply these effects after the fact using the Olympus Viewer 3 software which comes with the camera.

Here's what I saw through the viewfinder, focusing on the rust on the hood.

P7220068 copy.jpg

The RAW image - look Ma, no cartoon!

The RAW image is a bit overexposed - but easily adjusted. One of my few complaints about the camera is how easy it is to move the exposure compensation dial by mistake. I am forever over or underexposing shots... unless of course, I remember to look because it's all right there in the viewfinder. I just have to slow down and check what I'm doing. Thoughtful photography is far more rewarding than "spray and pray" which I often did with my DSLR.
P7220068-2.jpg

One more "glamour" shot of my new gear...

I'm hanging on to some of my Nikon gear for now. The primes lenses can be used on both camera bodies. My D750 full frame Nikon has a very high shutter count, and that would make it hard to sell. My plan, for now, is to keep that camera and my Tamron 150-600mm lens for birds, wildlife and sports. I think everything else can be done on the Olympus including street, macro, portraits, etc. This camera is "only" 16 Mega Pixels, so there is not a lot of room for cropping, and you will want to get the image right in camera. There is a hi-resolution mode which can produce 40 Mega Pixel images by moving the camera sensor a half pixel at a time in each of eight directions and then combining the 8 shots into one image. I haven't tried this yet, and the camera will need to be on a tripod.

This mirrorless camera is a blast to shoot and I'm having so much fun! I truly feel revitalized using this new camera. It's tiny and light, and a real treat to use. A true photographers camera.

DSC_6785-Edit.jpg

I'll be back with more about all this later. This is just my first couple of days with this new camera system. When all my used stuff sells I should be about a thousand dollars ahead! How great is that?

Finally, just because I like making these things, here's a gif view of the new Johnson St. lift bridge in action, photographed last night in Victoria, BC.

Oly Em-5 Mk II and Nikon 85mm, f/1.8

ezgif.com-gif-maker (2).gif

These images were all shot last night and today for #monochromemonday hosted by @old-guy-photos.

Sort:  

Hi keithboone,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much for all your support @curie! What a thrill to have a post chosen!

Good for you Keith! This is a superb post and I can see why you are completely infatuated with your new 'toy.' There will not be enough hours in the day to do all you want with your camera and experimenting with digital filters etc. I'm very happy for you.

Thank you very much, Trudee!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I love the cartoonish effect you were able to get with the camera. I kinda like that 'artfilter' look. Congrats on your new gear!

Thank you so much! I'm having a lot of fun playing with this!

I bet! You both can spend time together learning and going on photography shoots with your new gears. 🙂

Yes, we often shoot together... and Cathy has two Olympus auto-focus lenses so we can share. :)

CONGRATS

I have been shooting 4/3 since 2015. I love my cheap Panasonic G7. Small, light and not so expensive that I am afraid to use it out and about.

Say you should get your wife posting if she is not on here :)

Thank you! I love how light and small it is. People pay no attention to me when I have it out on the street which is nice. I have tried to get Cathy on here, but she doesn't like to spend time on the computer.

Getting a new camera is a great buzz. Learning all the new options and functions gives loads of fun.
These new lightweight mirrorless are becoming much more affordable and the fact that you can use your existing lenses with an adaptor is a bonus.
It gives good image quality and the cartoon effect is interesting. Looks like a poster. ;)

It's a joy to have some new capabilities - like long exposure hand-held shots. I took one shot in the backyard at a ridiculous six seconds, and while it wasn't usable, it was pretty close! I have often read that every photographer should have some experience with manual focus - and now I have no choice! Except perhaps for those times when I can borrow one of Cathy's fancy auto focus Olympus lenses... :)

Wow, six seconds is a very long time for a handheld photo. How did it look?

It looked like you might have expected a half second exposure to look... not very sharp! As I said, it wasn't usable but I was very surprised to see how close it came!

I really enjoyed reading your review Keith, although I do not now anything about professional camera's like this. There is so much to learn in photography and I am planning to take that next in near future. Congratulations to your well deserved upvote from Curie 🌸💖🌸

There is indeed a great deal to learn, and that's half the fun! If you plan to get into a more serious camera, one of these Olympus or Panasonic micro four thirds camera's would be awesome. There is no need to get into adapted lenses and so forth. A kit-lens on an em-10 mk iii like Cathy has would be a great system. Thanks very much, Lena :)

I will save this information into my folder for future. Thank you so much Keith and always a pleasure :)

I really enjoyed reading the review, Keith! You have such a gift for making people understand a very complex (to most) system. I love the cartoon effect and the mirrorless is looking more and more tempting to take on vacation when I don't want to lug heavy lenses all over the place.

Thank you so much for the advice - and congratulations on ANOTHER Curie! Well deserved!

Tip!

Thanks a lot Denise! I'm really stuck on that cartoon effect, although now I'm trying to modify it somewhat. It is awesome to walk out the door with this little camera instead of carrying a large camera bag and heavy gear. Thank you for the tip! :)

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49