Seeing Monochome Through The Viewfinder

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

One of the joys of a mirrorless camera is the ability to shoot in monochrome and see how it will look before you press the shutter. I love how removing colour redefines the light, showing the highlights and shadows much more dramatically. I like to shoot in a grainy Tri-X film simulation mode because of how bold the light and shadows are in the EVF. I don't like grain, however, so I use the jpg as a reference for what I saw, then develop the monochrome shot from the RAW file. Basically, I try to make it look the same without the intense grain.

Through the Barber Shop window: EM-5 Mk ii 24mm, f/2.8, 1/30sec, ISO800

P7260023.jpg


I love the ability to shoot hand-held at night with shutter speeds like this - 1/5th of a second is not a problem.

The Street Cafe: EM-5 Mk ii 24mm, f/2.8, 1/5 sec, ISO800

P7260030.jpg


These photos are for the daily #monomad photo contest, sponsored by @brumest & @monochromes. Please click for a full-screen view, thanks for taking a look!


Please check my latest posts:

* Fernwood Last Night
* Sunshine Sketches From Fernwood ~ My Wednesday Walk
* MonochromeMonday and a New Mirrorless Camera Review ~ Olympus OM-D EM-5 Mk II
* Photo Fun Contest - Week 22 ~ Wild Animals ~ Baby Barred Owls and Mom

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-28T01:33:18
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1084.15/1600.00
Total Photos: 64
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 14
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The first one is awesome! I love those old, vintage barber shops reminding you of other times.

Thank you! I need to go back when they are open. They keep a red piano on the sidewalk in front of the store.

Definitely! I hope you can take more pictures.

so pretty both of them, the first one is really nice and moves u to the past :) have a nice weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63622.11
ETH 2505.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67