Sunshine Sketches From Fernwood ~ My Wednesday Walk

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Join me for a walk around my neighbourhood on a lovely summer morning.

It's a hot day, and the bright sun seems to intensify the vibrant colours. It's not just me playing with the saturation.... let's go with that story.

P7240074.jpg

I notice a lot of new VW Beetles on the road lately. I quite liked this one.

P7200001.jpg

Parking spots are at a premium. This fellow found a simple solution.

P7250002.jpg

Check this place out... the yard is full of cool steam-punk looking equipment. I need to get back here with a wide angle lens to fit more into the picture.

P7200043.jpg

Why do we have palm trees in Canada? ~ the tree ponders this question every winter morning! Of course, we have nothing resembling real winter in Victoria. Last winter we had snow on Christmas Eve and it melted by noon on Christmas day.

P7220114.jpg

The neighbourhood is full of flower gardens.

P7200047.jpg

P7220107.jpg

Much to the delight of the large deer population.

P7220078.jpg

How cute is this? :)

P7220079.jpg

Ok, look... we need to pick up the pace. We still have places to go.

P7240071.jpg

Didn't we end up at this dispensary a couple of Wednesdays ago?

P7240008.jpg

The sun is really beating down now, and it's a long walk home. An umbrella seems like a good idea!

P7240011.jpg

Transportation would be even better! Let's go in... wanna go buy a car?

P7240056.jpg

Zoom-Zoom!

P7240057.jpg

This is closer to my budget level...

P7240061_edit.jpg

...and closer yet... can we get the price down to twenty dollars?

P7200008.jpg

We should just call a cab.

P7240058.jpg

...but there's a jam session in the square. Let's stop for a while and listen.

P7230003-2.jpg

This would be a good place to finish my #wednesdaywalk - a creation of @tattoodjay. Thanks very much for coming along!

See his post for today:
https://steemit.com/wednesdaywalk/@tattoodjay/wednesday-walk-battery-park-city-by-the-water-plus-steem-basic-income-share-giveaway

#dailydigital is the creation of @trudeehunter, and #funkyedits is by @tattoodjay and @krazypoet

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Oh dear, a whole family of deers crossing the street! This is so cute. :-)
What a lovely neighborhood, so pleasant and colourful!

Thank you very much! I believe we see deer every day. We love living here.

Fernwood looks like a really tranquil place to live. I bet those cute deer could eat a lot of those gardens up! I have a friend who lives in Victoria and she is always complaining about the deer eating her roses!

Yes, it's a nice area and we can walk downtown from here. The deer eat so many flowers, it's true. You should see them jump over fences. I would have thought they would need a running start to clear a six-foot fence, but no. Standing beside a fence, the deer can just sort of flow up and over - it's really cool to see!

But not so cool when they are eating your roses! LOL They are really beautiful creatures.

If you're serious about keeping flowers, there is always wire mesh - I see a lot of it being used. Or you can just take your chances! :)

Think I would take my chances. I hate wire mesh and chainlink fences. I prefer letting the deer have a nibble or two...

Wisconsin also has a large deer population.

They venture in close to town and do the same here. Most people expect that, its nature!

Have to be careful driving for sure! They are quick and unpredictable.

Yes cool steam-punk looking equipment OR he is trying to go Back to the Future! LOL

Oh, you should see... there is so much of it. I'll get some more pictures next time. I think it's really cool :)

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

I would love to go walking with you! What a great neighborhood! Love those deer photos- you do better finding them than I do here in the woods!

Thank you, Melinda! I wish you could come... If you want to see deer, try growing tulips - that's one of their favourites out here :)

Oh I have a dozen tulip bulbs planted so close to the front door they are practically in the house, and I still have to guard them with my life! My new nasty neighbor has a dog, and right now that is changing the usual patterns of the deer.

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk, I love seeing your funky Edit walks, so cool Deer crossing the street , I have seen other see them here and get shots they seem to hide from me LOL

tip!

Thanks a lot, I'm glad you like the "photos" - if that's what they are... They are straight-out-of-camera and all, but hardly photos! The deer here are very tame. If I move slowly, I can approach one to within about five yards before they move away.

@keithboone I know what you mean but they are fun to see :)

I love your little Fernwood. Seems like a perfect place to put dowmn roots. I have deer, but they dont eat my flowers!

Try putting some sugar on them, honey :) Or, I don't know... carrots?

I ♥️ the beetle 😉

Thank you :) I really like cars with this effect on them... and normally, I don't care for cars in my photos at all.

You're doing a great job, believe me :)

Aw, thank you :)

These are awesome. They turned up nicely. I especially like the first picture, the blue is so strong and the deers are too cute 😁

Thank you! Yes, that blue house is a really striking colour! Here's a photo of the deer without all the crazy special-effects...

P7220083.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49