Fernwood Last Night

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

Does anyone remember the old TV show Fernwood Tonight with Martin Mull and Fred Willard?

Here are a couple of monochrome shots I took last night on Fernwood Road. I'm still learning to use my new camera, and I don't have an autofocus lens yet - so these were made with manual focus and a 50mm f/1.8 Nikon lens attached to the Oly Em-5 Mk II.


Focus peaking really helps with manual focus. For this shot, I knew I had the street and storefronts in focus, so when the girl walked into the scene I was able to shoot quickly without worrying about focus.

EXIF Summary: 50mm, f/1.8, 1/60s, ISO800

P7250005-2-Edit-2.jpg


This one is an attempt at panning. If you check closely you can see some motion blur in the background, but the fellow wasn't moving fast enough to create all of the effect I wanted. I used the same zone focusing idea, and I could shoot quickly knowing that everything from the centre line to the far curb was in focus. I used 1/30th second shutter speed, and by following the bicycle at the correct speed, the background becomes blurred and the bicycle is separated from the background. Well... that's the theory anyhow, let me know if you think it worked, thank you! :)

EXIF Summary: 50mm, f/1.8, 1/30s, ISO800

P7250023.jpg

These photos are for the daily #monomad photo contest, sponsored by @brumest & @monochromes. Please click for a full-screen view, thanks for taking a look!


Please check here for my latest posts:

Sunshine Sketches From Fernwood ~ My Wednesday Walk
MonochromeMonday and a New Mirrorless Camera Review ~ Olympus OM-D EM-5 Mk II
Photo Fun Contest - Week 22 ~ Wild Animals ~ Baby Barred Owls and Mom

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Freaking love them! I’ll be back in a few hours to up vote. I’ll also be sharing it tomorrow.

Thank you, that's so nice of you to say :)

I love candid shots! Great photos!

Thank you very much!

You are very welcome!

Wonderful captures, Keith. You’re getting fantastic shots with the new Len.
I don’t remember that show probably because we could only get 2 channels then. 😊

Thanks very much :)

Both excellent photographs @keithboone. I love the first one particularly. It's such a unique composition.

Thank you, I'm happy that you like them :)

I remember the show from re-runs. I had no idea Fernwood was a real place.

I'd be very surprised if it was the same place, I just think it's a cool name and a coincidence that I live a block away since I used to like that show. :)

You are using that new camera well! Great photos. The movement is wonderful. I have never been a TV watcher and don't remember the show, though.

Get Automated DAILY upvotes! FREE

steem.link/more

Get 0.1 Free Steem Just To Join

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49