Story Cubes Contest, Round 2! Plus a bonus dice review!

in #storycubes7 years ago (edited)

Once again, this contest asks you to create something—anything—based on the dice images for a chance to win some Steem Dollars!

Entry rules (updated)

story cubes 2.jpg

  • Write, photograph, paint, or otherwise create something based on three (3) or more of the symbols shown on the dice. You may enter more than once, but you can win only once.
  • Mention which symbols you used, especially if you choose to be more abstract in your interpretation, and include a link to this post.
  • Use #storycubes as your first tag.
  • Post your entry, and then comment on this post with a link to your entry.
  • The prize pool begins at two 5-SBD prizes. The SBD rewards from this post may be used to increase the prize value or number of prizes as I see fit, so resteem and support this contest to fill the prize pool!
  • The winners will be chosen shortly after the payout for this post.

About Story Cubes

My first contest used a standard set of Rory's Story Cubes. @Robyneggs uses these in her poetry contests, too, so go check out her page.

This contest uses a different set called Voyages. I eventually intend to also get an Actions set so I can roll a batch of dice borrowing some from each set.

story cubes bags.jpg

These dice are about 3/4" (19mm) across each face, and each set came with a small drawstring pouch about 3" (75mm) wide and 4" (100mm) tall. They cost somewhere around $8 each. There is also a small instruction sheet with suggestions for games with kids or party icebreaker activities.

I have used these dice on a few occasions and can say that kids and adults alike can be readily encouraged to use these for creating crazy stories. I plan to try using them in my library outreach programs to inspire storytelling events at retirement homes, too. Needless to say, I recommend them highly.


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

Sort:  

🐙This was a lot of fun to make ! Heres my link to my Entry ! " Octopus Meme "🐙
https://steemit.com/storycubes/@karenmckersie/story-cubes-contest-2-my-1st-entry-octopus-meme

Cool ! Thank you!👍👍👍

This looks like fun! I love contests , and will enter soon ! 👍👍👍
upped , resteemed , followed !

Upvoting and resteeming for now.. :) Will definitely join again.. Thanks @jacobtothe!

What's the deadline? I will try to come up with something tonite...!

You have plenty of time. The contest ends when the announcement post pays out so I know how many bonus Steem Dollars are available.

I see the amoeba shape and musical notes. Which was the third die you referenced?

I was trying to refer to the first die with the pattern around the notes. Sorry if I misinterpreted it (or if my reference isn't well enough incorporated).

It's fine now that I see it!

Lol, okay (I'll make them bigger if I use that symbol again)!

This is a cool initiative @jacobtothe. I am glad you are widening the story dice avenues for art and inspiration. It is important not to limit oneself. And yes, if you like poetry, check out my PDC3K contest using the classic story dice above. 1rst Place - 5 STEEM.

And the first contest entry is confirmed!

This looks like fun. It reminds me of how Philip K Dick wrote his books, consulting the I Ching to decide what to do whenever he reached a fork in the plot.

Thanks for entering again!

you're welcome... :)thanks for hosting this contest, too. ^^

Here's my Entry... writing multiple short stories using one Cube each, not really sure it's valid but I think it is:

https://steemit.com/storycubes/@ahmadmanga/shorttens-storycubes-special-contest-entry

I commented on your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66