A Felony Conviction, But It's Not What You Think......

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I am a non-violent felon.

handcuffs-istockl.jpg
source

Several years ago, while going through some cash flow problems, I committed a felony offense. At the time, I didn't know how serious the matter was, but I found out really quick when a dozen police officers showed up at my door.

It all started on Ebay. Good old Ebay. I was selling a blackpowder muzzleloader for my brother on the auction site. At that time there were many, many blackpowder guns being sold on Ebay.

TC-Impact-01.jpg
source

When I was finally able to sell it, I began talking with the buyer. He told me he was a gun collector, and that he was looking to buy some nice blackpowder revolvers. He said he would transfer 2X the cost of the guns to me in order to purchase those revolvers. My commission was equal to the price of the brand new revolvers. I agreed to do it, because blackpowder guns were OK to sell on there.

A short time later, this guy begins asking about actual handguns (9mm, 357 magnum, .45, etc.). I searched for laws regarding the transfer of these weapons to another person, but the information was sparse at best. I decided to go for it.

B9318490727Z.1_20150817182306_000_GJ2BLGEJ8.1-0.jpg
source

Being a country boy who lives way out in the sticks, owning and selling guns was just a part of life, but I should have known better.

The first gun he asked for was a .22 Walther. He sent me the money, and I bought the gun and shipped it to him. A few days later he asked for a 9MM, and for a .45/.410 a few days after that.

I finally had enough money to pay some important bills that I owed. Things were looking up!! That is, until the BATF showed up at my door.

atf-body-660x371.jpg
source
I was browsing internet sites on my computer when the police parade entered my driveway. I went to the door and they introduced themselves. Then they asked my about the handguns. I told them I had bought a couple over the past few days. Then, the BATF agent asked me if he could see them, and I told him I had sold them to a friend.

He stared at me with a concerned look on his face, and asked if I could take him to the friend's house, and that's when I informed him that the friend lived out of state. Every police officer on my property began buzzing at that point. They asked me how old I was, and I informed them that my birthday was only a couple days away. One of the officers told me I was going to spend my birthday in jail, but the BATF agent told him no one was getting arrested.

They instantly began building their case against me. Over the next few months, I had obtained a lawyer, and worked with the BATF in any way that I could. I told them I hadn't known it was illegal to sell weapons like I did, but it was no use. I was going to prison for what I did.

gavel-2456-81d1cb7b4020452704b33d2a9c1ed5ec@1x.jpg
source

The day of court came, and my lawyer was really nervous. He told me the judge was in a horrible mood because some idiot caused a scene in his courtroom.

It wasn't looking good for me.

It was finally my turn to stand before the judge. The BATF presented their case, and my attorney presented mine. Right before sentencing the judge asked me if I had anything to say, so I told him I was only trying to make a little bit of money to help my mom pay her bills.

The judge looked at me for what seemed like an hour before he spoke. He said he had seen too many of these cases end in a lifelong conviction and prison time. I was young, had my entire life ahead of me, and he didn't want to ruin it for me.

He sentenced me to a year of probation, and gave me some fines to pay. The unfortunate part of my sentencing was that I had committed a felony act, and there was no way to get around the charge, and I became a felon at that moment.

monopoly-get-out-of-jail-free-500x375.jpg
source

This particular judge has only granted probation TWICE in his entire career. I was the second one. I am grateful to him.

Did I deserve it? I guess I did, but it didn't change who I am. I see it as a kind of permanent tattoo branded across my face. It's much harder for me to find a good job because of it, but I'm still trying.

Please don't view me as a piece of scum, I'm not. I'm not a murderer or a rapist. I'm not an assailant or a drug addict.

I'm me.

Please follow #dolphinschool at @dolphinschool to learn how to blog, edit, and have fun on Steemit. It is a great program ran by @markrmorrisjr Thanks!

Sort:  

You should have never said one single word to the police. Anyone reading this should do exactly that if ever approached by any law enforcement, or government bureaucrat. When they say that anything that you say will be used against you they aren't lying.

Yeah I learned the hard way. It really makes me mad that they can destroy someone's life so easily. You're right, I did it to myself. I shouldn't have said a word to them. I can assure you it won't be happening again. Anything you say can and WILL be edited and twisted against you. That's the truth.

Also, it kind of sounds like some sort of entrapment was at hand. I'll bet anything the guy who bought the guns was a snitch.

That's very possible.

Look what happened to the poor family at ruby ridge! Same sort of thing, but it ended way worse for them.

That was a bad deal. The feds really blew it out of proportion. Once they set their sights on someone, it's hard to get them to stop unfortunately. =\

I should have a very, very long rap sheet, but I was never convicted of anything at the felony level, thankfully. Keep your head up, move forward, and thanks for sharing.

Thanks for visiting my page @papa-pepper. A man I admired a lot was also a felon for different circumstances. He spent a year in a federal pen over buying Native American artifacts across state lines. I would advise anyone to know the laws about transporting various items across state lines. They can be real pricks about it when they want to. Anyways, this guy didn't let it get him down. He built a very successful photography studio, AND he also build one of the most impressive Native American artifact collections in the entire world. He was a good friend to me. Unfortunately he passed away suddenly this past year. He will be missed, and he also told me not to let it get me down. Guys like you and him are awesome. Thank you!

I'm a recovering drug addict and I have a felony on my record. Luckily, mine is not guilty. It does interfere with gaining employment. I'm getting mine expunged off of my record the second I save up enough money. Then I plan to go back to school and get a really good job. Its been two years though. It was a scary time that I did not expect or have any idea why I was being charged. So I can completely relate. I'm glad it worked so good for you. I would imagine you were rather surprised!

I was extremely thankful for what the judge did. I'd love to get my felony expunged, but it's federal. It takes a presidential pardon to get rid of mine. SO it's pretty much hopeless lol.

Wow... Crazy stuff. I must have been difficult to share that.I'm going through all our #dolphinschool posts for this assignment and they are really, really good. My own post is not nearly as "risky" as yours.

I just want everyone to know that I don't have anything to hide I guess. It was an unfortunate mistake. People do it all the time without realizing how serious it is. It's all just a normal part of life out here in these extreme rural areas where I live. It scarred my life, but I'm not going to let it get me down!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

Ouch. Yeah, that's a hard thing to work with. Even when it's explained, a "weapons" offense is quite a barrier. Have you considered starting your own business? It's a hard path, but the charge wouldn't stand in your way.

It's a route I've thought of going but, like I said, not very easy to get started.

That's one of the reasons I'm on here. I'm hoping to figure out Steemit so I don't have to worry about finding a job. I have a job, but it sucks. Filling antifreeze drums all day long for dismal pay. I plan to get FAA certified someday and use my phantom 4 for income as well.

I'm so sorry that this had happened to you, it must be tough being branded like that forever. You were young and young people do silly things. At least you were lucky not to go to prison for it.

Yeah, it had a semi-happy ending. I'm thankful for that.

After reading stories such as yours, in Nigeria, we say 'chai'. Its an exclamation!

Reminded me of a friend of mine who spent his 24th birthday in jail over selling a stolen phone.

I'll bet you are a stronger man today. Your story is indeed touching. I can relate. You have a story to tell enough to motivate generations yet unborn to be better and greater.

Thank you. I do hope future generations are better and greater :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68279.01
ETH 3694.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65