Auction! ResteemBot is for sale!

in #resteembot7 years ago (edited)

Hi friends.

These are exciting times for Steemit, right?
Both price and user activity are skyrocketing.
All cryptocurrencies are going down, dragged down by Bitcoin, but Steem is soaring high.
Truly exciting times!

Yet... l want to walk out. I am forced by circumstance to walk out.
I am in an urgent need of money. I am about to buy an apartment for my family and my savings don't seem to be enough.
The @resteembot bot is one of the few things I could sell for some money that would actually make a difference.

A few huge upvotes might solve my problem, but... I'm no blogger - I doubt I'll get more than 150$ from upvotes even in a post such as this one, where one of the well known bots is being sold...

RULES

The bot will Be sold to the highest bidder and this auction will end when a bidder offering a satisfying bid appears.
The starting price is 2000 STEEM, or the equivalent in another currency.
The minimum step up when voting to pay more than someone is 100 STEEM (meaning that it is not allowed to bet just 0.001 steem more than the person before you)

My aim is to get between 2500 and 3500 steem, but I have no idea what will happen.

ABOUT @RESTEEMBOT

  • @resteembot (as far as I know) is the first of it's kind. The first bot for paid resteems.
  • Of all resteeming bots I've seen @resteembot has the most complete feature set. It does automatic refunds, random bonus upvotes, newbie-friendly reputation-based pricing, etc...
  • It is a newbie friendly bot in general. This was its strategy from the start - to attract newbies when they register, so that the same people will be loyal customers when they grow.
  • @Resteembot is the most used resteeming bot I've seen. It wrote 19500+ comments so far, most of which are notifications for actual resteems. While many other bots have more followers, they are not even close when it comes to how often they are being used.
  • It has 4500+ followers, all of which are true followers. @Resteembot never used 'follow 4 follow'.
  • @Resteembot acts in real time! A user only needs to wait a minute when the bot is active, and the bot will respond to his request.
  • The bot also has advertisement features but they are turned off at the moment.
  • The bot is small and resilient. It runs on my own mini-computer (raspberry py). Power cuts or lost internet connectivity do not bother it, as it simply restarts automatically and continues from where it left. Even if the Steem server is down (or the program throws some kind of error), it simply restarts itself and continues to try, until it can continue working.
  • to protect against hacks and exploits, the bot has an auto-withdraw feature on each 5 SBD or STEEM

HOW MUCH MONEY DOES IT MAKE?

At the moment it makes between 5 and 10 STEEM per day. With the price of steem being around 5, the bot makes between 25 and 50 USD daily!
Since this bot is cheap, it is not strongly affected Steem price volatility. People use it the same way with 5 dollar Steem as they did with 1 dollar Steem.

If you manage to grow the bot's popularity, it will earn even more, but it is also OK if you leave it to work and generate passive income as it is.

With the current speed, the bot will generate 200+ steem per month.
If you buy it for 2000 Steem you will have your money back less than 10 months. After that you start earning income.

This is a of an SQL query about the bots earnings, grouped by month:

Screenshot from 2018-02-03 22-42-49.png

As you can see, from it's second month, the bot has been earning a steady income of +/- 200 Steem or Sbd per month. December was the craziest. The bot earned 240+ SBD, when the price of SBD was soaring, compared to Steem's.

Feel free to verify the data by doing a query of your own. ;)

WHAT AM I SELLING?

I am selling you a whole package. Profiles, programs, instructions for usage and additional scripts like advertising and stuff.

Here is the complete list of goodies:

  • @Resteembot (code, instructions and account)
  • @Reblogger - a second resteeming bot with slightly different functionality (code, instructions and account)
  • @Greetbot - a bot that gives score on people's English writing and rewards those with good score - very good program for curators (code, instructions and account)
  • volunteer advertisement bot program (code and instructions)
  • GreetUI - user interface for automatic greeting of people's posts - supports following, upvotes, resteems, tips and filters by different criteria (code and instructions)
  • The rights to all artwork (avatar images and banners).

FAQ

Q: How do people bid?
A: They just need to write a comment like 'I offer 9000 steem'. They must have the money they offer!

Q: What will happen with the bot after it's sold?
A: Probably nothing. The current way of working is pretty stable and the buyer has an economic incentive to keep it up.
But... at the end it's up to the buyer. There might be changes.

Sort:  

The auction is now closed.
The winning (and only) bidder is @befaro
The price is 2000 Steem.

The transfer will happen over the next weeks.
There will be another post when the transfer is complete.

Please let me know if the sale falls through RB. I am seriously interested but only saw you were for sale this morning - Regards @youareyourowngod

I have 50 sbd with your name on it.

unfortunately, that's not enough for a bid.
The auction will end tomorrow, by the way.

That is so much better!

I am interested, but certainly dont have that much money :(

Good luck to you though, I hope you reach the amount you need for your apartment :)

Congratulations @resteembot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

hey Resteembot are you on Discord would be good to talk, I got some plans. thanks add me plz Harj7#5654

Sorry to see you Go. But you yourself cause the problem. Why do you charge that Low. Your Fee of Reputation divided by 1,000 is totally wrong. Some with just a few hundred are charging 0.1 SBD whereas others charge 1 Full SBD, and they are not that fully reliable.

I suggest or recommend to you, to increase at once to 0.1SBD. Don`t shoot yourself in the foot.

I you divide what you are asking by what your are currently making is a lough of almost a year to recover the investment.

If you are making 10 SBD a month, by increasing to .1SBD, I guess you will make a 100. Check it out.

I have used this bot many times and I would certainly continue at 0.420 instead of 0.042 because I think it is a reliable service at reasonable fee. I agree that the owner should reconsider as you suggest.

You would? Why? Many of the posts that I resteem don't make that much, or if they do - its not thanks to me.
Is it worth it, statistically to use the bot at that price?

you know what... no need to answer. Ill make some research myself. ill make an SQL query about how much people earn thanks to me.

Now you're thinking solid. I certainly would. Open communication within telegram discord so you add more value plus advise users. Also, if you offer too cheap people don't put effort and u lose credibility.

Developing your follower base plus the quality of content I think it all works hand in hand

I did some research and made the math. There is a bit of room for increasing the price, but not as much as you thought.
At maximum, I'd increase the price to "reputation / 500" for everyone with reputation above 40 or 45. That would mean that your price will be 0.084 instead of 0.042.

While increasing the price more is also possible, it will no longer be economically sensible to use my bot for most of my users.
The thing about resteeming bots is that they rely on their communities. If people stop using my bot, then they'll probably also stop checking out the articles I resteem. Then these resteemed articles will get less votes, and even more people will leave.

Increasing the price is a short term solution that will kill the bot in the long term.

I certainly trust that your calculations are accurate. But do not forget also, that the benefit to users is not reflected only in direct rewards, but also in visibility. I was considering all evening our exchange here.. shortly: if you considere how to increase the value to your customer by offeringthem access to a better audience, plus increase the price - if you presented to them in a transparent way, how you have done this and how you will keep the audience in your followers list, I think you have a winning formula.

  1. screen content before you agree to resteem, otherwise return the money and place an account on a blue list for review - if that account ever applies again, you de-priorites and check into their activities for review
  2. if someone comes again, who already is on your greenlist - easy decision - resteem
  3. make a redlist, plagiarism, scams, spam etc
  4. use your account and your skills to generate an improved followers list -people will pay for access to an audience you can prove is of high standard.
  5. operate a telegram or discord channel (telegram is better im). Your customers will appreciate that and you can offer support for those not happy with the returns + you help improve the content you are resteeming and generate better following

I understand you have a pressing need, but this goose you have can lay mnore golden eggs.

If I do that, it will be like a full time job.
I'll have to leave my own job for it.
I'm sorry, but I never looked at this project as a job. It is simply a passive income source to me.

Let me explain it in another way. This is my son:

I want him, and his mother to live in a better place. It is not a "passing need", because the need for a place to live will not pass.
He is my motivation.


If you believe that @resteembot can be even better working and that it is worth your time, feel free to bid for it and take over.
Maybe you are right.
Maybe you can even earn 10 times more than I do now.

But I can not afford to take risks.
Not with him around.

I haven't that kind of money, nor the know-how to run a bot. I have 3 dependents growing up with my support though, so I appreciate the pressures. Anyway, if you don't see any other way, I wish you luck. Otherwise, what you may need is a small team of staff to share in the profits while also doing the necessary to upgrade it. For your sake, I hope you don't sell short of the long term value of it. Take care.

Also - I really do need the money as soon as possible.

Just so you understand, I am a person who puts his money where his mouth is, I sent you a new order a few moments ago for resteem. I hope and trust you will arrive at a good decision that works for you in the long term.

i hope you reach the amount that u are looking for for your house but i wonder if the bot is overpriced

I provided a proof of it's earnings.
An investment that pays itself back in just 10 months, without any work, and then continuing to earn a steady passive income... how is that overpriced?

I agree that it's not cheap, but... why would I sell it cheaply?
If I only needed a few hundred dollars, I'll just wait a month or two and I'll have them. No need to sell the bot.

Anyone investing 2000 SBD may double in price in a given year. Crypto ROI must be shorter in Time. Even investing 2000 SBD in Bitcoin could Double, too.

Again, your Problem, is your Low Fee of Reputation divided by 1000. Increase that to 0.1 SBD and the your will have better chance to sell it. But do your home of increasing the fee, first.

Anyone investing 2000 might also lose everything. Investing is not so simple.
A lot of people invested in Bitcoin when it was 18000-20000. Many got scared of the crash and sold - now they are broke.

2.000 STEEM is cheap.. I could only afford a 1.000 STEEM right now, and i can see you got a bid for 2.000 allready, as you say, it has a proven record.

Thanks for your awesome service @resteembot I hope you reach your goal, Upvoted and resteemed. All the best :)

very important information would be when will the auction be closed? in general i am interested in it. as engineer i would also be able to maintenance it and to keep the "soul" up to date.
you are saying, it will end when ever you are satisfied ^^ that's kinda tricky. You can always arrange someone who will bid 200 Steem more to raise the price for the buyer.

If we both can agree to a fixed price, you would receive your STEEM/US-$/whatever within the next 14 days.

Good points.

Initially I had a 7 day auction, but I quickly realized that it will take some time for people to find this post.
I removed the time limit and started advertising in order to gather some people.

I can't offer you any serious guarantees that I won't cheat with the auction, other than the fact that I really need the money.
(If I arrange for a fake bidder, and you end up giving up because of that, then I won't get anything, right? It is not worth the risk...)

But see things from my point of view: I can't end an auction with only 1 or 2 bids, just because I can't get to the trending page. Let's wait a few days and see what happens. Please check the page regularly.


Find me in Discord, or write me an email if you have any questions
account : resteembot#9831
email : [email protected]

// Anyone else is also free to contact me as well.

I would love to see if I can get the backing to place a bid on this. I love your bot. the thing I don't understand, is why did you not raise the value of this post to about 200 steem. Allowing you to make this an amazing auction.

If you want backing to place a bid, you better find it sooner.
I am gonna close the auction in 7 or 8 days.

Because I'm poor.
(... also I don't really know how :D)

What you have here is wealth in the making. I feel for you, but if you really care for your child/children you must persist. If you stay and market what you already have in place, I'm sure you will not only get a house but a good, comfortable, and financial free life for your family. You only need to be patient, wealth doesn't come in easy steps. If you cannot thrive here, you will never in any area of your life. What you have in place is a gem, do not let yourself regret it 5 to 10 years from now.

I am a software developer and @resteembot is simply one of my projects. I will simply move on to the next projects. Maybe it will be a bigger and better one.

Also - I might be a decent developer, but I'm sure there can be better people for the bot. People that will not just maintain it, but expand on top of it. I would not do that anymore, because I'm starting to shift my focus to bigger stuff. The bot is kind of dead if it stays with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72