Steemvoter.com Curation Guild Proposal Dec 15th 2016

in #steemvoter8 years ago

@thecryptodrive here, I'm back and active again after nearly two weeks of relocating to a new country and dealing with my daughters tonsils operation. I'm a bit frazzled but happy to be active again in the community. Thank you to @marcgodard for covering for me during this time, the public liaison and daily posting duties are mostly mine, while Marc handles the coding and product improvement.

We at Steemvoter.com enjoy giving back to the community, which is why we have decided to, on an adhoc basis, donate up to two of our weekly payment votes to worthy community projects. We have so far voted on the following posts:

@SteEMPOWERtwins Steem Brand Ambassador and Live Talkshow Sponsorship

@steemsports Giving Tuesday Charity Post

@steemstem Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) curation project

In addition to the above curation initiatives, we think there is scope for more collective curation using the collective Steemvoter community voting power. Typically a problem on Steemit is that one's vote does not influence a post very much unless you are a holder of a whale account and even whale votes aren't as powerful as they used to be.

Trying to get people together to collectively upvote deserving content is currently much like "herding cats" and not at all easy, however if everyone is already on Steemvoter, we have a powerful, easy to use curation tool.

My proposal for now (until we have a better solution) is to opt-in all Steemvoter users into an "extra vote per day" curation guild with the option to opt-out. Perhaps larger SP whale accounts can be given the facility to limit their vote weight.

I was in talks today with professional curator @instructor2121, who I have invited to our private channel to help guide the prospective Steemvoter Guild and aid in the discovery of worthy content over-and-above our two weekly sponsorships. There are also other members in the channel who helped contribute to the crowd-fund as well as others who have shown an active interest to assist us in various ways, all of the members of our private Steemit.chat channel will be in a position to guide the direction of this guild.

With nearly 5 Million collective SP, we feel that we can create one of the most effective guilds on Steemit and really make a difference. United we can stand for change and make Steemit a fun place to blog, in the hopes of receiving the honorary Steemvoter Guild swarm vote!

Please let us know what you think of this idea and if you would like to see the opt-out additional daily curation vote guild put in place.


Steemvoter is a public curation bot with an easy to use interface, it truly is a bot for the people, making automatic curation on Steemit easy with just a few clicks.

This is a payment post! Thank you for allowing us to use your accounts to upvote this post! Anyone not signed up for SteemVoter.com is welcome to do so or just vote this post to help the project.

Sort:  

I think the option should be to OPT-IN. I set up the steemvoter to automate my votes so that I could take a week of steemit without worrying about curating. If this were not my first week trying this I wouldn't have seen this post and would have been annoyed to see I was automatically "opted-in" to a voting guild without my consent.

I probably will happilly opt-in but I would preferably like to be notified each day of what posts the guild is using my key to vote for each day. I would also prefer if it was outlined how we who donate our vote can contribute our own submissions of who we would like the guild to vote for, although I understand the choice would have to be made by a smaller group as we can't all vote for everything.

Maybe it could be different for new members but for existing members, who may have signed up for completely different reasons and not want their votes used for something else, I tend to agree with you that opt-in makes more sense.

We are still working out the details. Rest-assured, everyone will be notified before we use their keys to vote on posts other than our 7 votes per week for singing up to steemvoter. That notification will be available in SteemVoter.com, and if not read by midnight (EST) that day and you have "Email me my notification messages" you will also get an email.

the option to opt-out should be made available on the steemvoter site, so when you use the guild to vote for something I dont agree with then it's easy for me to opt-out of the guild, or unvote the blog post. The idea of using private steemit chat to decide what to vote on sounds like it can lead to collusion and politics, and I'm all about freedom. It's a great idea but needs more transparency

We will be putting a symbol in the logs on what SteemVoter.com votes on for our 7 per week votes, and another symbol for the guild votes (if are part of it). This will give you the opportunity to view and un-vote those posts. However, people who un-vote SteemVoter.com's posts might have their accounts removed as this is how you pay for those free rules you have.

steemvoter posts are great, I know what they are about and why they exist, so I would never un-vote those, but the guild extra vote per day is a heavy heavy load on my emotional state of being, as I'm currently always in a battle to manage my votes and keep my voting power above 88%, the idea of giving up an extra vote to something other than steemvoter blog post is like terrorism. I am not a fan of supporting blog posts that earn allot of rewards with tons of upvotes. I prefer to vote on blog posts of relatively unknown bloggers that earn small rewards, get a low number of upvotes, and have a low number of followers. Steempowertwins do not fall into that category, and I dont support charity, so they are not a good example to use in terms of what I would support.

We understand completely. Please join us in our steemi.chat. You are the one that should be there to help with this voice!!! Please.

unfortunately, I am morally against private chat on a public decentralized platform, I logged into steemit chat once, felt weird, then forgot my password when I tried to login a second time, this was months ago, never looked back. My favorite feature on steemit is the public wallets

Will it be using the votes even if the account is paused ?

Yes, pausing only pauses your rules. If you want us to not use your account for our votes, you must remove your account. We justify this by you are using our service to keep your place in line. As votes are in order of account added. This is also why we remove accounts that are in Error, after some time.

However, this extra vote is an opt-out optional.

I think this is a great idea, and I will gladly give my measly vote.

We appreciate any contributions!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $56.70 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Interesting. Not sure what I think. I will mull it over.

Please keep us updated on your thoughts. We appreciate feedback :)

Keep up the great work. I love this tool and look forward to more great ideas like this voter guild.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65