Growing SteemSilverGold - Steemit's Gold and Silver Community : Resteeming Each Other

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

SteemSilverGold, over the last couple of days we have had some great posts (with active discussion) about growing our community. I am really happy and excited about this, for this is what I have been working towards, since I started this great community.

Here are the links to the posts:

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@silverstackeruk/what-can-we-do-to-grow-the-steemsilvergold-group-lets-have-some-ideas-58

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@phelimint/how-to-establish-ourselves-as-the-steemsilvergold-community-in-response-to-the-recent-discussion

This is a sign of life, and future prosperity of our bustling community.

I would like for the discussion on those posts to continue, where-after, I would like to summarize, and suggest a way forward, based on some voting system. I also have a lot to add to the discussion, and will save this for my “summarization & way forward” post.

Now, I would like to highlight one of the key features that we have not been using enough on Steemit, which is the resteem feature. Personally, I have been disappointed by our community's support for the official SteemSilverGold posts, and #steemsilvergold posts in general. Why?

I thought that members would naturally resteem the official post, however, as it turned out, it was just a small portion of members that actually resteemed. Only the first steemsilvergold posts got a lot of resteems, and, therefore; they got a lot of traction, ensuring that our community got off to a great start (sadly, the resteems were much lower after).

The resteem function is a powerful feature that could help us reach our community goals (found below, in this post). I have heard some say that resteems hide their posts, and that is valuable real estate they would not like to give up. True, it does hide your posts, however, I say, they don’t really know how steemit work. This is a fast-paced blogging platform. It is all about that feed. The longer you can keep your posts on that feed, the more successful you will become. When we resteem each other’s posts; we will grow successfully.

I believe we have enough members, and enough followers to achieve great success with this type of strategy.

To prove or disprove my theory, I would like to do a little experiment, starting with this post. I need at least 20 steemsilvergold members with an average of about 200 to 300 followers, for it to work. However, it is not limited to 20, and any steemsilvergold member can join the experiment. This is not some cheap "steemit train", since we are a genuine community with common goals.

  1. All participants will join by resteeming this post.
  2. When you resteem this post, you (including myself) agree to partcipate, and resteem one (current or future) post, within the 5-day experiment period, of all the other participants. So if there are 20 participants, you will resteem 20 posts in total. I will publish the participants on an ongoing basis by updating the post - see the end of the post for the list).
  3. So, when you join, you resteem this post, and one posts of all the other participants on the list at the bottom of the post. Also, you have to check back over the 5-day period, since more people might have joined.
  4. The experiment will take place over a period of 5 days.
  5. After 5 days we will assess whether the resteeming feature is as powerful as I think it is.

If we get a good result from this experiment, then we can determine what role resteeming each other’s post would play in our community in general.

Goals of #steemsilvergold:
1.Encourage members to produce quality content.
2.Ensure members are rewarded for great content.
3.Ensure Steemit is a go-to place for precious metals news, analysis and more.
4.Ensure that the community becomes significant here on Steemit.

We will achieve this if members:

  1. Upvote and Resteem quality content produced by other members (check the list) – regularly check #steemsilvergold and support each other
  2. Grow the community - Invite more members: wales, dolphins and minnows. Furthermore, invite from other forums outside of Steemit.
  3. Continue producing good quality content - We need to really cover the range of needed silver and gold related content: Analysis (fundamental and technical), Advice & Intelligence, News, etc.
    Use the #steemsilvergold when posting, and provide a link to this post, possibly stating that you are a member of this community.
  4. Contribute skills and know-how - There are certain administrative/representative positions that need to be filled: Whale Sponsor, Marketing, possibly a Celebrity Figure and any other we can think of.
    Please nominate yourself, or others, for the other representative positions, or any thing you can contribute to make this community succeed. If you nominate someone outside of the community, then take the initiative and invite him or her yourself.

I am @hgmsilvergold Secretary SteemSilverGold

Participants Resteeming Experiment:

  1. @hgmsilvergold
  2. @owenwat
  3. @raybrockman
  4. @sirstacksalot
  5. @jbcoin
  6. @timitwist
  7. @goldenarms
  8. @cve3
  9. @welshstacker
  10. @phelimint

logo by @bearone

Sort:  

i got my first #steesilvergold post up yesterday, i will resteem this one now! any chance you could resteem my last post for the'how well do you stack up contest' be cool if a few more people could see it. now ive got a few more followers i will resteem more :) cheers bud

thanks owenwat. I will update post with you as the first partcipant, and resteem your post.

Another great initiative, things are certainly getting more active around here! Are you on discord @hgmsilvergold? I would love to chat further, if your not feel free to email me at [email protected]

Thanks. Yes I am on discord, but have not been for a while. I will email you and then we can take it from there.

I will also be taking part in the resteeming

Great, I have resteemed and put you on the post. check back over the 5 days, and repost additional participants.

Thx man if your free can you shoot my anquick email I wanted you to take a look at a post I wanted to make today.

Put me down for a re-steeem @hgmsilvergold

Great, I have resteemed and put you on the post. check back over the 5 days, and repost additional participants.

Glad to see such international support for support of silver and gold. I feel lucky to be in the UAE, as premiums are very low for coins, bullion and 22k jewelry. Resteemed and would like to join the community !!!!

I find myself resteeming all the posts I read in the community but don't get much in return I'm in I want to get a bigger roll if possible what can I do

Resteemed and i actually made a comment on this very topic on @raybrockmans last post before I saw this one. Let me know if there's anymore I can do? Cheers #steemsilvergold 4 life! 😎

Great, I have resteemed and put you on the post. check back over the 5 days, and repost additional participants.

Sounds like a really good idea, I'm going to try to do my best to stay current and make quality comments about: silver and wealth. #steemsilvergold is really catching on in our little community.

consider joining steemsilvergold.

Alright @hgmsilvergold and the #steemsilvergold community. I will resteem each and every post that is made with the #steemsilvergold tag. Tag must be the first tag. I will also do at least a 5%upvote on each post as, long as my strength can hold up. I will also do one @randowhale a week to the post of my choice. If everyone would make this same commitment then I feel our tag will be on top, there should not be a single post that has the #steemsilvergold tag, with less than 50 votes.

@raybrockman your support is highly appreciated, as always. I applaud you for the stated commitment. If everyone does that, then we will be the no.1 community. Ok, I will add you as one of the participants of this experiment.

I will do a post to the community stating the same. Its time to take this tag to the next leval.

great idea. gold and silver are soaring, so should we.

Thanks for wallet surprise GA -- you da man, man.

I'm just over 100 but I'm hustling to try to get new members (and followers haha) and will do my best to resteem whether or not I'm going to make a huge difference. The #steemsilvergold community has been so gracious in welcoming me and has such great individuals in it that I want to do anything I can to give back. I think this resteem idea is a great step towards establishing ourselves as a top trending, quality content producing, and welcoming group and I'm proud to be a member no matter how small! You guys rock!

Great, I have resteemed and put you on the post. check back over the 5 days, and repost additional participants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51