Dr. TLK _ Perspectives _ I control the shadow...

Today I met my first coaching client (Yaaay!).

A young woman in the mid of her medical studies and working hard to finish her master's research project in a neuroscience related field.

I have known this young lady for about a year since we are both working in the same neuroscience research facility and we became somewhat friends. When she knew that I was becoming a life coach, she was very enthusiastic to be my client because she had a goal to achieve and, honored by her choice, she thought I would be able to help her achieve this goal for the near future, and possibly other goals in the future as well.

During our chitchat (after the client's interview) we discussed few social issues which reminded me of my own experience in my life.

The Experience of FEAR

Although fear is one of the most primary emotions in humans, which was pretty useful when we used to hunt for food. This same emotion became very destructive as our societies grew larger, our jobs became more competitive and our lives became more complex.

I am basically a runaway from home! Something I will write about in more details when I continue writing my personal life story (Which I stopped doing for a while now). Because of this, I might be targeted and persecuted if they "My brothers" could reach me.

However, despite the fact that I have no reason to be afraid because I am living in the safety and protection of Canada and I am surrounded by many people who cares for me and are willing to help me if I get into any form of trouble with my family, my fears of my brothers wouldn't let go of me.

For the past several years I lived a debilitating fear that made me constantly stressed, anxious, depressed, I couldn't have restful sleep because I constantly felt like I needed to run away any moment.

I felt like a small animal cornered by a large shadow. It doesn't know when the shadow is going to attack it but it can't fight back the shadow, simply because it was a shadow, an unknown entity. Unknown how big, how ferocious, how dangerous or how close it was.


[https://www.pinterest.ca/pin/377317275015611388/?lp=true)

But one day I felt tired and I had enough. I had enough of running away, of fighting, of crying, of being depressed, of crouching under the heaviness of fear and of mostly tired of a shadow I can't physically fight or defend myself against because it lives inside my imagination and memories.

At that moment... when I had the realization that the shadow was only a creation of my imagination, I became free. The windows in the dark room of my mind were opened and the intense bright lights of reality filled my heart and mind. I am free. I am protected. I control the shadow....


Source

To my dear @szuri and everyone else who has fears. Remember that F.E.A.R is only False Evidence Appearing Real.

I hope you will be able to control your shadows soon.

Hugs with lots of love to all <3<3<3


.... Till next episode

Dr. The Leaping Koala :D

Thank you very much for following, commenting and upvoting.

LEAPING_KOALA_cover_1.png

Sort:  

@theleapingkoala You are some kind of wonderful ❤
And rest assured I will catch your fear before it reaches you and kick it in the butt!

Hahaha, thank you very much my dear @szuri.
I feel safer now ;D

<3<3

I like that acronym for fear. Thanks.
I believe fear is a strong word. Mostly associated with being scared; 'Duh! That's what it means!'. Ex, clowns, the dark. Now, the word afraid. I think most people would associate this word with public speaking, meeting new people, feeling like you're being judged.
Anyways, that's how I had known that word, fear. Like there was a difference between the two. I guess I'm just giving a suggestion of words if you come across a shy person in your coaching. Fear can be anything that destroys confidence. I read your post and all these thoughts came to mind and I had to say it all. I hope it makes sense. And good morning

I absolutely agree with you.

Fear can range from fear of public speaking to fear for life.

My example was probably extreme, but at the bottom of things fear is still the same (False Evidence Appearing Real) no matter what the cause is.

Source

The message I wanted to deliver, which probably got lost when I was writing about my personal feelings, is that even if the fear is based on real danger, I can choose to let it control my life or I can choose to prevent it from controlling my life.
If I keep living with fear that one day I will die, I will never be living a real life.

Another point is, if we can conquer one of our fears, then we can conquer all our fears.

Thank you very much for your comment and input :)

With risk to repeat myself I will say that you are a very strong person. You have got hard life but you found way to fight your fears and to win this battle.

I think the worst thing is to give up and you prove that knowing your fears you are half way through to fight them and to free yourself.

Hugs
Neli

Honestly, I never have enough of your support and encouraging words. They give me more courage to persevere and defeat the shadows inside of me, so Thank you very much for repeating them now and then (I actually can't thank you enough for that)

Hugs
Laila <3<3

Living in constant fear is so toxic. Love the koala banner at the bottom of your page. Is it new?

Indeed.

Yes, the banner is new. Its my logo made by @orcheva

Thank you for visiting and commenting :D

Hey Doc..I deeply admire the courage of your life choices.
Did you ever try martial arts? I am into karate..the symbol of our style is the dove and it is called the way of peace/harmony (Wado-ryu Karate Do). I feel it's a great path for working inside ourselves and gaining strenght and peace of the soul (plus you will have the benefit of becoming a first class kick-asser) ;-)

Hahahaha. I have been thinking to start some martial art practice. Never had any but better late than never. Will need to look into places that offer them around me.

Thanks for the suggestion, the kind words and the support. I am deeply honored by your admiration :D

The honor is reciprocal! Give it a try trust me :-) but you need first class stuff... Not wannabies and people that didn't make a personal work with themselves. I had to swear to find the right people..i give you the food ready :-P https://m.facebook.com/AmericanWadoKarate/

Thanks a lot for the link and the advice. Will do that :D

Hi @theleapingkoala , This post has resteemed by @a-a-a-a over 2600 followers.Please Follow me and upvote this comment for future resteem your post. Thanks.

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 6.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @theleapingkoala
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @theleapingkoala to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46