Steemit Culinary Challenge #3 Smoothie Showdown : Bippity Boppity Boo! A Pumpkin Smoothie, Just for You. Vegan, Raw Paleo & Lower CarbsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitculinarychallenge8 years ago (edited)

Cinderella's Fairy Godmother isn't the only who can magically transform a pumpkin into another form.

While we're on the topic of that little fable, I'd like to suggest that perhaps Cinderella's ankle was not the only thing she rolled that night. You know,.. when she lost her glass shoe on the stairs in a slightly mad, paranoid "dance and dash" interlude at the Royal Ball with Prince Charming.

Perhaps this pumpkin smoothie could have been her "plan b" for a little left-over pumpkin and the 12:05 am munchies, post-sprint.

Pumpkin is one of the most sustainable fruits on our planet. It grows everywhere, except the arctic and it's loaded with vitamins A,C and E.

Carrots contain a high amount of Beta Carotene which is fat soluble so, will require a healthy fat source to be absorbed and is why I have paired it with homemade almond milk and full fat coconut milk.

To make this smoothie, gather your tools and ingredients first.

The TOOLS needed are:

  1. a medium size soaking bowl;
  2. a sharp butcher's knife;
  3. a cutting board;
  4. a Vitamix blender or a food processor;
  5. a vegetable peeler;
  6. a selection of measuring spoons;
  7. two glasses;
  8. and a teaspoon.

(This is a Vitamix blender. It is just one of several high-power blenders that can be used to make a smoothie.) 

In the Raw Food World, there are 2 main types of beverages made with whole foods. 

The first type is a true juice blend that contains no fibre. You would use an appliance called a juicer that extracts and separates all the fibre of the plant material, leaving only the juice behind. This type of drink is concentrated with vitamins, minerals and enzymes but has a very thin consistency, like water. It contains no fibre.

The other main type of whole food beverage is referred to as a smoothie

With this type, whole foods are also used but a different appliance is used that blends everything together. A food processor or a high powered blender is predominantly used to achieve this. This creates a nutritionally dense drink, thick in consistency, because it contains all the fibre that the plant material contained. When you consume the fibre of the plant material, it keeps you feeling full for a long time and if it contains the correct ratio of protein, carbohydrates and fats, it can successfully be used as a complete meal that is exceptionally portable and convenient for anyone on the go.

The ingredients needed are:

  • 1.5 cups of cubed raw pumpkin
  • 1 medium carrot
  • 1/2 a cup of almonds
  • 3 cups of water
  • 6 Sayer dates (pitted)
  • 1 400 ml can of full fat coconut milk (refrigerated for 24 hours).
  • 6 tbsp of maple syrup
  • 1 inch piece of  fresh ginger root
  • 1/2 inch piece of fresh turmeric root
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp of ground black pepper (This helps the turmeric to be absorbed and is why I am using it in my recipe.)  

Directions: 

  • Soak the almonds for 12 hours in room temperature water. After 12 hours of soaking, drain the almonds, rinse them well under cold running water and add them to a blender or food processor.

(I let these almonds soak for 12 hours. You will notice the water is cloudy. This is because the soaking process removes phytic acid from the nuts which makes them easier to digest and allows better absorption of the nutrients contained within them.) 

(Almonds added to the Vitamix after they have been drained and thoroughly rinsed.)

  • Add 2.5 cups of water to the Vitamix, so that the almonds are covered.

  • Blend on the highest power setting for 30 seconds or until all the almonds are completely blended and there are no visible particles of nuts left. This creates homemade almond milk.

  • Cut the top off the pumpkin, then cut it in half. Peel and scrape the seeds and stringy pulp away from the pumpkin and cube it. I used 1/2 a small pumpkin or 1.5 cups of raw cubed pumpkin. (You could also use pure pumpkin puree, from a can. If you use canned pumpkin, use 1 cup.)

(I saved the seeds from this little pumpkin and will dehydrate them for another project and I plan to plant some in my garden next year. Making this smoothie recipe, even more sustainable.)

  • Peel and cut the carrot, ginger and turmeric roots.

(I loved the little frog sitting in the cabbage bowl. I think it looks like he's sitting on a Lilly pad.)

  • Soak 6 dates in hot water for 15 minutes to soften them.

  • Drain the dates and add them along with the cubed pumpkin, carrot, ginger, turmeric, ground cinnamon, nutmeg, black pepper and 4 tbsp of maple syrup to the almond milk and blend really well. (About 1 minute on the highest power setting of the Vitamix or food processor.)

  • Add 1/2 a cup of water to the pumpkin mixture and blend again. (This will thin the smoothie a little and make it easier to drink.
  • Take the can of coconut milk out of the refrigerator and open it. When you use high-fat coconut milk, the fat solidifies at the top of the can. This particular brand of milk contains 17 grams of fat per 1/2 cup. Scoop this off and add it to a clean Vitamix blending pitcher.

(The coconut milk has solidified and is sitting on top of coconut water which is in the bottom of the can. There's about a 1/3 of a cup of coconut water in the bottom.)

  • Add 2 tbsp of maple syrup to the coconut milk and blend it really well. (About 20 seconds on power level 7.) This creates beautiful Vegan whip cream and makes an excellent topping for anything you would normally top with cream.

  • Rim 2 fancy glasses with additional ground cinnamon (optional). Pour the pumpkin smoothie into your glasses, top with coconut whip cream and garnish with a cinnamon stick (optional).

(Save any left-over coconut whip cream in your refrigerator. It will stay fresh for about 5 days.)

Cheers!

A closer look.

(I'm enjoying the sunshine outside and in my glass.)

As a side note, if you wanted to infuse this smoothie with cannabis, I would add a 1/2 tsp of cannabis infused bee-honey directly to the pumpkin, carrot, ginger blend. A nice strain with a high CBD percentage, like Treasure Island, would augment the anti-inflammatory benefits of the turmeric quite nicely without creating a psychoactive effect. 

If you use a strain containing a large percentage of THC, I can't guarantee that you won't lose a shoe, but I can guarantee that if it's strong enough to cause shoe-loss, you won't care. ;)

To learn how to infuse bee-honey, please have a look at my previous post related to this:

https://steemit.com/marijuana/@rebeccaryan/how-to-make-cannabis-infused-bee-honey

I'd like to take a minute to thank the sponsors of this challenge, @smooth, @ruzvanelulmarin, and @wingz.

I would also like to thank @englishtchrivy and @gringalicious for judging this contest. It's a difficult job to choose winners in any contest and culinary challenges are time consuming to judge because of all of their components.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

~RebeccaRyan


Sort:  

I couldn't comment or upvote during the contest, but I can now - Amazing!! When I grow up, I want to make posts just like this one.

STEEM ON!!

Your posts are fantastic! I feel the same about your work. LOL
All I can say is that can support each other.

Absolutemente, support one another

Very beautiful and delicious @rebeccaryan, and olso cute frog!

I did not know soaking almonds in water made them better. Nice tip. Thanks.

😋

You are most welcome @solarguy!
All seeds and nuts are made more bio-available to the walls of our intestinal tracts, if the phytic acid is soaked off of them first. It's a protective mechanism that plants and trees that produce seeds and nuts have. It's meant to protect them, so they'll pass through birds, animals and humans, intact and still grow once they're excreted.

Are you ok? We're you affected by the recent earthquakes?

We were very lucky at our house. No damage at all. But it went on for so long. I was the most scared I've ever been.
The South Island was most affected, with Kaikoura being completely cut off from the rest of the country, by road anyway. They're sending in the navy with vital supplies and water, and evacuating by chopper. Some of the homes there will be write offs.
The unusual thing about it was that 4 fault lines were affected and that's why the whole country felt it.
We're about 200 km from the main epicentre, so there was still a fair amount of damage in Wellington generally. Then to top it all off, there were heavy storms over the last two days as well. There are estimated to be 100,000 landslides. There is a small one of those that happened today on the footpath just in front of our place.
I was on a course in the CBD, which we couldn't go to yesterday morning, but the building was cleared for us to use by lunchtime. There were no trains running from the north, but buses were still on. The city was almost deserted. There are still a lot of buildings with broken glass, or that haven't been checked, so the city was still very quiet today.

Oh @kiwideb, I'm so glad to learn that you and your family are safe. We follow a guy named "suspicious observer" on YouTube. He tracks solar activity and earthquakes. He was the one we first heard of the devastation from. According to his evaluations New Zealand was hit hard. Some of the after-shocks were over 7 and it sounded like multiple tsunami were hitting the entire coast-line. I had no idea there are 4 fault-lines in your country or that landslides were so numerous. All in all, it sounds completely terrifying and that you were living moment to moment in fear of your lives as a family. Please keep us posted. I'd like to know if there is anything useful we can do to help. A big hug is sent to you and yours @kiwideb. I am thinking of you and will send peaceful energy your way, my friend.

Hi @kiwideb,
Sorry I am sending you a message this way. I really don't know how to do it other than hoping to catch you in Steem chat somehow. Anyways, a new tag has been created for news reporting and I think you could share what's happening where you are. I'd loved to hear your personal take on the current situation. I realize that it may not be a good time, but thought I would tell you about the new tag option in case you decide to report. Take care my friend.

Thanks darl. This is the best way to catch me, cos even if I don't have time for anything else, I usually check my Replies. Yes, I saw about the news tag, and am hoping to get a post up sometime soon. But after 6 days training, I need to pay at least some attention to our businesses today!
But I've heard from a couple of others worrying about us, so do need to get something up soon.

@rebeccaryan acknowledged!
sorry for the late confirmation, time zone was Zzzzing
and had to do SOP as well.
Thank you for participating in this challenge

EDIT: sorry - this is my bad so let me set it right,
it's @razvanelulmarin

Thanks @englishtchrivy! You are doing a fantastic job.
I have corrected the spelling on @razvanelulmarin's name.
I think it's safe for me to say that a big thank-you goes out from all of us, to the sponsors and judges of these culinary challenges.

@rebeccaryan - yes - all of us :)
thank you for fixing it :)

Thanks for spotting it and giving me the opportunity to correct it. :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks @screenname!
Your comment is valuable to me. :)
It provides additional validation and motivation.

looks really good

Thank you it was. I drank it for breakfast and then, I added a little dark rum to it this afternoon and it was delicious. It's very versatile...lol. It's also excellent, hot or cold. :)

@rebeccaryan this looks truly delicious and soooo nutritious. Also, I was happy to see your suggestion of infusing cannabis... my favourite of mother nature's medicinal gifts! I have bookmarked your post on how to make the honey, and will be trying it out for sure. I know I entered this challenge too but I do hope yours wins, as there's so much goodness in this it deserves to be made by many!

Thank you for your heart-felt comment @woman-onthe-wing!
I am following you. I think we have a lot in common.
I too, think that refined sugar is poison.

I am following you too and look forward to seeing more of your posts! Meeting like-minded people is definitely my favourite thing about Steemit

Mine too!
I'm in Ontario, Canada. Where are you geographically located?

County Donegal, North-West Ireland. Here they still consider this amazing plant to be dangerous and possession makes you a criminal. Pfft.

I've had a discussion recently with one of the largest government sanctioned growers here in Canada. They are positioning themselves as a global producer of cannabis. I think that in 5 years time, this herb will be legalized everywhere.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

I would order one of those, please! It really sounds good - and it sure looks great. I really like those glasses that you put the smoothie in, too.

Thank you! I like to re-purpose things that others think are garbage or worthless. The glasses are actually real...vintage to the 1950's.
I purchased the pumpkin from another gardener I know quite well for .50 cents. It was the last of their crop. We've already had a few hard frosts here so the only thing that I still have growing outside is kale. I did save the seeds from the pumpkin and will plant them next year because the pumpkin was a completely manageable size. I also will be planting the ginger that I bought because it was already sprouting..right from the store, so I'm going to do some research on growing ginger root and throw it into a pot, to see what happens. I figure that I am out nothing but a little bit of time.

That is all great re-purposing! And I bet you will make a kale smoothie sometime! :D

Everyday...most days I drink a similar smoothie to the one you made.
Mostly greens...kale, spinach, parsley with 1 pear as the only sweet. I could easily live very happily from the bounty you pick from your land.

You really could! Enjoy all your smoothies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57