Sort:  

Are you ok? We're you affected by the recent earthquakes?

We were very lucky at our house. No damage at all. But it went on for so long. I was the most scared I've ever been.
The South Island was most affected, with Kaikoura being completely cut off from the rest of the country, by road anyway. They're sending in the navy with vital supplies and water, and evacuating by chopper. Some of the homes there will be write offs.
The unusual thing about it was that 4 fault lines were affected and that's why the whole country felt it.
We're about 200 km from the main epicentre, so there was still a fair amount of damage in Wellington generally. Then to top it all off, there were heavy storms over the last two days as well. There are estimated to be 100,000 landslides. There is a small one of those that happened today on the footpath just in front of our place.
I was on a course in the CBD, which we couldn't go to yesterday morning, but the building was cleared for us to use by lunchtime. There were no trains running from the north, but buses were still on. The city was almost deserted. There are still a lot of buildings with broken glass, or that haven't been checked, so the city was still very quiet today.

Oh @kiwideb, I'm so glad to learn that you and your family are safe. We follow a guy named "suspicious observer" on YouTube. He tracks solar activity and earthquakes. He was the one we first heard of the devastation from. According to his evaluations New Zealand was hit hard. Some of the after-shocks were over 7 and it sounded like multiple tsunami were hitting the entire coast-line. I had no idea there are 4 fault-lines in your country or that landslides were so numerous. All in all, it sounds completely terrifying and that you were living moment to moment in fear of your lives as a family. Please keep us posted. I'd like to know if there is anything useful we can do to help. A big hug is sent to you and yours @kiwideb. I am thinking of you and will send peaceful energy your way, my friend.

Hi @kiwideb,
Sorry I am sending you a message this way. I really don't know how to do it other than hoping to catch you in Steem chat somehow. Anyways, a new tag has been created for news reporting and I think you could share what's happening where you are. I'd loved to hear your personal take on the current situation. I realize that it may not be a good time, but thought I would tell you about the new tag option in case you decide to report. Take care my friend.

Thanks darl. This is the best way to catch me, cos even if I don't have time for anything else, I usually check my Replies. Yes, I saw about the news tag, and am hoping to get a post up sometime soon. But after 6 days training, I need to pay at least some attention to our businesses today!
But I've heard from a couple of others worrying about us, so do need to get something up soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54158.26
ETH 2857.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01