STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE : Vitamin C packed lentil soup

in #steemitculinarychallenge8 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for Sniffle Remedy Soup for the Steemit Culinary Challenge. Initially I wanted to do a tomato soup but @future24 was faster and I thought that I would mix it up a bit and make a lentil soup, trying to incorporate many ingredients that could fight a cold.

Ingredients

  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup lentils
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 red pepper 
  • salt
  • 5 cups of water
  • radish sprouts, red clover sprouts, broccoli sprouts  

The process. First I choped the onion and the two cloves of garlic, after I peeled them of course. And also cut the red pepper into small strips.

Then into a large pan I put 2 tablespoons of olive oil, the chopped onion and the garlic and  sauté  for about five minutes. 

 

Then added the red pepper and stir for about two minutes. And finally I added one cup of lentils, one cup of tomato sauce and 5 cups of water. I waited for the soup to boil  for about 30 minutes, or until the lentils are cooked.

You can add salt and sprouts and serve it like this, or you can go another step and put the soup into the blender and blend it until smooth. Then add the sprouts on top and enjoy the soup.

 

Broccoli sprouts contain high amounts of vitamin C as well as fiber. They help detoxify chemical carcinogens, boost immune response and protect cells from becoming malignant.They have additionally shown to be helpful for gastrointestinal disorders. Find out more here.


Radish sprouts also contain vitamin C, and are a good source of niacin, vitamin B6 and  manganese . You can see the exact data here.

Red clover sprouts contain vitamins A, B, C and minerals calcium, magnesium, iron and other. For more information go here.

Garlic as we all know is a great option for boosting the immune system, containing significant amounts of vitamin C. Read some more benefits here.

Onions to my surprise contain vitamin C. They also contain  small amounts of calcium, iron and magnesium and other things you can read here.

Tomatoes and red peppers also contain vitamin C, so this soup turned out to be packed with vitamin C.

And as organicfacts.net tells us, vitamin C is used as a treatment of the common cold, boosting our immune system. Read more here.

Disclaimer By entering this competition though you own the rights to the photographs of your entry you acknowledge that I may use any image in that entry once it gets chosen as one of the winners. 

All of the woodburned pieces are my original design; if you want to see the process check out my blog here, here or here.

Follow me if you don't want to miss any of my posts

@anca3drandom

Sort:  

                 (
              )    )
           _.(--"("""--.._
          /, _..-----).._,\
         |  `'''-----'''`  |
          \               /
           '.           .'
       jgs   '--.....--'

Is that a bowl a soup? Nice!

@anca3drandom

for everyone else interested here's how to
4 hours before closing

My pleasure! I thought I wouldn't make it in time. Thanks for the challenge!

@anca3drandom and thanks to the sponsors
for their generosity

Yes of course, thanks to the sponsors for donating the prizes!

Fantastic recipe. Buena Suerte!

Wow thanks for dropping by. Your recipes are always awesome!

Glad you joined in!!! Great entry!

Thank you! I almost didn't make it on time!

You obviously considered the ingredients carefully - great recipe! I'm a big fan of using vitamin C in fresh food to strengthen the immune system. Good luck in the competition!

Thank you! I like including as much vitamin C as I can. I mostly make smoothies from kiwis, pomegranate and otherffruits.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54