How I made Decorative Mini Kitchen Blackboard - Pyrography Art + Watercolors

in #art8 years ago (edited)

You can  give your kitchen a little chalkboard love without painting a wall. I ordered a blank 'canvas' from an online store and voila. Easy DIY chalkboard, perfect for writing a grocery list or other notes.

Supplies

  •  house shaped mini blackboard
  •  pattern(I made it in AI)
  • pencil, eraser
  • watercolors, paint brush
  • wood burning tool  

Making the pattern

I tried to match the pattern with the real object, which is only 15 cm in lenght. After making the vector version of the pattern in case I will use it again I transferred it onto the wood.

The pattern consist of various vegetables and fruits, the ones that came to my mind.  

After I was finished with wood burning the vegetables and fruits, I took my watercolors and painted each one. I had to use very little water because the wood fibers absorbs it very quick and it could spread in a region you don't need it. 

No chalk? Use masters pastels!

I didn't have any chalk, so instead I got creative and used my masters pastels and it worked just fine. I have 48 colors in the set, including four types of blues. So I had to make the steemit logo. And an example of grocery list, a little short, just to fit the space.


Here is the video at 8X speed

 

This is me :) @anca3drandom

Check my alphabet-animals wood block to watch how I made the whale.

Sort:  

Very cute :)

Nice art work! I love your work @anca3drandom! Can I buy one of these from you with SBD?

Thank you! Not at this time! I hope that in the near future! I will let you know.

Very nice I always enjoy seeing what new interesting thing you come up with keep up the good work! ;)

Well I always come up with some strange idea :) Thank you!

Very pretty. It would look fabulous in any kitchen and handy too.

It's a bit small, but a few items will fit.

Looks excellent, this is what I love about the burning tool it is great for outlines of stuff to be coloured!

Yes, and if you use watercolors instead of colored pencils it will last longer.

Looks very nice. I like the food decoration!

Thank you! I thought it would be a nice effect.

great idea! I might try this one out :)

Great! If you try it be sure to show me the result :)

Thank you for sharing this material, I like what you posted.

I'm glad you enjoyed my DIY.

So cute! I​ want one for my kitchen:)

Thank you :) Maybe I will send them to people in the future. Only thing is I'm in Europe..

Very creative stuff. Amazing!

Thank you. Glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51