Steemart - Pyrography art - Join me through the process

in #art8 years ago (edited)

     After two weeks on Steemit I decided it's time to share more with you guys. Many of you have been really supportive and I appreciate it.

      I'm a girl who has picked up many passions during her lifetime; pyrography is one that I learned when I was little and the lucky one that I revived a few months ago. I was scroling down Pinterest as usual and saw some amazing wood spoons decorated through the process of wood burning. Pyrography, if you don't know,  is the art of decorating wood or other materials with a tool that leaves burn marks. 

When I first learned Pyrography I didn't have a fancy tool with interchangeable tips with different patterns. I just had one tip; but it was enough for burning the first pieces. Years later I find myself buying a pyrography set online. I was amazed the first days at the possibilities, and patterns I could make. I ended up decorating some of my wooden spoons;they turned out great.

                                         

So here I am making my #steemart on a blank piece of wood, in this case a cutting board. I grabbed a regular piece of paper and started laying down my ideas. It was late in the afternoon and this guy showed up; he made his way through the opened window.

                                         

After I had finished my drawing and I was happy with it, I took a soft pencil, a 6B in this case and darkened the back side of the paper; Making sure I covered the area that matched the drawing on the opposite side of the paper, I took my wood piece and placed the drawing on top. I secured the drawing with duct tape on each corner so I wouldn't make any mistakes. Next I took the same 6B pencil and traced all the lines again. This step is done to transfer the pencil from the back to the wood.

                                       


                                      

 

                                      


                                      

 

                                      

When I was happy with the sketch on the wood, it was time to move on to the next step of the process: wood burning. I took a cylinder shaped tip, you can see in the photo, and started tracing the lines, one by one. I also used this tip to make small dots whenever they would turn up in the pattern. Armed with patience, progress was starting to show. The other tip that I used is shaped like a leaf; I used it to darken some of the parts as it goes really smooth. Also it's a good idea to keep your drawing on paper near to check if you are on the wright lines.

 

                                      

 

                                      

 

                                     

 

                                     

After finishing wood burning, I took some blue pencils to color the #Steemit logo. I think this was the finishing touch that made the piece look even better; It was the first time I used colored pencils on wood, but I will definitely do it again. So what do you think about Pyrography? Leave me your beautiful comments below and I would be sure to answer. Follow me if you don't want to miss anything.

#OriginalContent #art #steemart #pyrography#postpromotion

 

                                    

 

                                    



Sort:  

@anca3drandom: good job!

thank you! It's nice to see people who appreciate my work.

Pyrography is great, and you've got lots of talent. Beautiful stuff, thank you for sharing!

well thank you! I tried my best and I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

Very cool, neat design.

Very cool, neat design.

This was the second sketch. I wasn't happy with the first one. Thank you!

Great work, I would love to see more of your work :)

Well your wish might just come true. Thank you for the kind words.

Beautiful! Seems like a wonderful way to express yourself. And I also see that you're working at a 3d project. Go girl!

Thanks! Yes, that's the main thing I do besides art.

you should sign it and offer it for sale?

not for now; maybe the next pieces.

This is cool! I hope we can collaborate someday :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59