Report from Hory(i)zons 2018 - extreme sports film festival in my hometown

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

DSC08785.JPG

I'm once again back home for couple of days. And this time, I got pretty lucky as the travelers/extreme sports film festival was on the whole weekend.

Horyzons vs. horizons

The name of the festival is Horyzons. Of course you might ask if there isn't a typo in there.

"It should be horizons, right?"
Nope not really. It's a wordplay. As many many of the screen movies take place in mountains and mountains are in my own native language called HORY, the name HORYZONS makes perfect sense and is briliant!

Program

Festival was taking during full 3 days. You can check all the screened films and their description on the webpage HERE.

DSC08796.JPG

DSC08797.JPG

Atmosphere

Here just couple of my low quality smartphone pictures :)

IMG_20181109_211319_HDR.jpg

This is our oldest communist style cinema in the town. And yet, they screen the best movies here - not that Hollywood crap!

IMG_20181110_190832.jpg

IMG_20181109_211030.jpg

These short breaks in between movie blocks were well appreciated. Meeting many friends of mine I haven't seen for some time was suupercool.

IMG_20181110_031832.jpg
Ofcourse, after the festival end for the day, we went into the bar. Here my friend goofing around with my 10 years younger sis @zzuzza who happened to be in the same pub :) Was cool one, she got me drunk as hell haha :D

Drunk way back home

And on my way home at 4am, I've managed to snap this beautiful picture! I don't even remember taking it hahahah

DSC08785.JPG

MY TOP 3 PICKS

#3 The Frozen Road

  • Year: 2017
  • Director: Ben Page
  • Place: Canada
  • My comment: It was a great display that travelling and adventure are not always so nice as displayed on the screens with epic music causing shivers and goosebumps. It's self edited film full of ups and down and reflects what it takes to endure the crazy polar trail in Canada on bike. I'm adding #cyclefeed tag as I hope the guys would love to watch the movie. Another 2 screened cycling movies were RJ Ripper and Escape.
  • I've found the full movie on Vimeo.

    #2 Live along the way

Sort:  

Ej bratku, všetko najlepšie k meninám! a sneh? kaj? ;)

Haha treba dojst do IBK na navstevu, tam som teraz based, tam donasam aj snah :D a kaj neviem co je :D

Vy tam už máte sneh?? fuhaaa.. tak to je iná a zimné pneu pre Kubíka máš? :D

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Ou happy day! :D

If you being drunk still could capture beautiful photo, you must be a great photographer.

And from the way you review the film, looks like you are professional film maker too, besides being a traveller?

Correct me if I am wrong. 😜

Haha actually not really :) I just figured out the format would look good and people would actually check it as such tabular form attacts eyes more than just plain text hah :D

And Im also not a great photographer either hah :D Just got lucky I think

Great post. It's been a while since I last went to a film festival. I think I was in Moldova the last one I went to. Great films, but they all needed English subs. 😉

Haha I can imagine :D

This is actually the only film festival I go to. Regularly every year, but the only one.

Great post. Looks like it was fun! Awesome reviews!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=matkodurko
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=report-from-hory-i-zons-2018-extreme-sports-film-festival-in-my-hometown


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi, @matkodurko!

You just got a 0.28% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I will watch them all! ;-)

Congratulations @matkodurko! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68183.21
ETH 3545.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82