STEEMIT TALK Podcast 003 - 8/6/16 - Changes To Steemit, Landing On Mars, Secret Writer, & MEAT TORNADO!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


Tune in for the third installment of our new talk show.

This week on Steemit Talk Podcast, we discuss changes that have happened to Steemit this past week, as well as an interesting coincidence that we noticed with the Curiosity Mars Rover landing in 2012. We also touch on several other topics, including (but not limited to) the Secret Writer series by @stellabelle, and of course.... Meat Tornado.

We want more than just your upvote. We want conversation!

If you'd rather download to listen offline, visit our Soundcloud link HERE:

Your hosts:

@giftedgaia
@sykochica (w/chime drum for intro & outro)
@quantumanomaly
@winstonwolfe

and featuring our friend & guest, "OutsiderGAT", who is approaching Steemit as one who has never created an account for any social network outside of using Youtube. We'll talk with him a little to get a fresh perspective from his point of view.

Discussed Steemit Members:

@anca3drandom
@stellabelle
@team-leibniz
@piedpiper
@steemitqa
@lordvader
@kryptic
@reneenouveau
@sean-king
@veralynn
@lauralemons
@firepower
@craig-grant
@condra
@williambanks

Discussed Topics & Posts

OPTIONAL DRINKING GAME:

Take a shot every time @winstonwolfe says "absolutely".


ALSO BE SURE TO CHECK OUT OUR MUSIC VIDEO COMMUNITY PROJECT!

Submission Deadline is Friday 8/12 by 10PM CST.

We're making a Steemit music video and paying everyone to be in it.


Previous Episodes:

~ See you next week! ~

Sort:  

Great show, I think steemit hashtag sections should be called "steemzones"

Hey I like that! I guess they're officially called "categories", aren't they? Steemzone sounds way better.

I like steemzones! Way better than categories in my opinion.

You had me at "Meat Tornado"

I want to see more things under the #meattornado hashtag! Let's get this going folks! Lol

Wow! Thanks for the shout out here guys! I'm listening to this now as my wife is watching the Olympics and she still can't believe I'm "cool as hell," even though I played that part back a few times for proof.

Oh, and on the username for future shout outs, its LIE - bnitz. But, just like his place in history, it's often misunderstood.

Great cast so far, will be finishing soon! No shots though...its a school night for me :)

Pre-show Post Review

First! Oh wait :P Also the "Meat Tornado" ftw! @sykochica awesome chimes :P You were telling me about that haha .. I'll edit my post after the talk most likely.

Post Show Post Review

Btw...I counted a few absolutely so I'm fairly drunk! But, on a serious note Steemit only has 50,000 users think of Reddit subverses at a couple million so we are early on! Also, thanks for the late entry on the #SteemianFoodNetwork

Glad you liked it, @steemitqa .
I feel we definitely raised the bar on ourselves this week. Hopefully we can keep heading that same direction in the coming weeks.
What I'd like to see is just what @quantumanomaly mentioned in the recording, that people will comment here and keep these conversations going. This will not only keep these recordings going (because that's what motivates us - knowing our audience wants it), but it'll help fuel the content we provide. We can reply back to some of the things we see in here on the following week's podcast.

Thank you! It comes through a bit better at the end, but nice to actually get a good recording for the chime drum.

Yeah, not bad. I still bet we can do better. ;-)

Gonna check it out now! Thanks for putting this together for everyone! :)

Thank you for listening!

I believe part of the conversation that came up had to do with a topic you and I discussed in Steemit.chat the other day, @firepower . You and I were agreeing quite a bit about how to look at Steemit and were helping to try to relay this view to others in the chat were put off by the voting behavior of the whales.

Hey finally got around to listening. I appreciate the shout out to my people at #steemianfoodnetwork ! Although I have to just add in that my article on prison peanut butter fudge ( https://steemit.com/steemianfoodnetwork/@kryptik/things-i-learned-in-prison-easy-peanut-butter-fudge-recipe ), was much better than @reneenouveau 's article ;) . Keep up the good stuff everyone! I was engaged in most of the conversation and you all were speaking to my thoughts. Made me forget I was at work, and that's always awesome.

Awesome, thanks for tuning in. We've got plans, baby. PLANS!!!!

I had happened to be watching before yours took off. Which I must say was nothing short of epic!

Great episode guys. I know you already mentioned @team-leibniz, but it would be nice if you guys get to collaborate highlighting his Minnow Report as well. I hope you guys get a chance to make an mp3 version since you don't have video yet. Even though it's very engaging, since it's almost two hours, I had a difficult time listening to it in one sitting.

With regard to what I want Steemit to be, I want it to be a place populated with original content, be it fiction stories or artwork or music or photos, or stories of their life that you get something out of, not just selfies or re-pasted content. If I wanted to read about news, I could go to other more reputable news sites. If they wanted to post news, they could post it and their thoughts regarding the topic, with their thoughts making up more than 60% of the post. Same goes for historical topics, tutorials, etc.

With regard to heartfelt comments, man, I'm not sure who was the one talking very emotionally about it, but it really tugged on my heartstrings. Most of the time I do write comments that could be a post all on it's own, and a lot of times the original poster doesn't even reply. However, the times I do get a reply, I only get "thanks" or whatever short answer, not even a single upvote. I mean, come on, right? Upvotes are free, and it's the least you can do to thank someone for interacting with your post. I know my post upvotes don't count for a lot so I try to make up for it by interaction. Okay, woozah, sorry if that sounded like a rant.

I'm not stingy with regard to upvotes. I upvote posts that I find interesting or if the poster really made an effort to make the post. I really feel negatively about posts that earn a lot but weren't really well thought of, but it is what it is. I try to be happy for everyone who earned based on their merit.

Keep it up guys! I hope one day I make enough impact to merit even just a short mention in Steemit Talk.

First let me thank you for listening! :)
This was a much longer episode than the previous two and can understand it being a long single sitting. There is a link in the comments to download this episode from SoundCloud. But I'm not sure the format since Winston took care of that.
I will absolutely look at the minnow report and see what we can do to include it in an episode. I'll do some reading on it and talk with the guys.

Thanks for the comment and suggestions!

Oh, I didn't notice the SoundCloud link. Thanks! Keep up the good work!

Thank you for listening - and engaging with a response to the questions posed in the podcast. I want to think on that and will mention in the next episode. Cheers!

As @sykochia mentioned, yep, we got a SoundCloud up there. And that was by special request. We're hoping to switch over to something different, such as iTunes, as the download link is only good for 100 people to download with a free SC account. Everything is definitely still a work in progress, but we LOVE that you guys dig what we have so far! We've got some plans for upcoming episodes and can't wait to see what you guys think of them. :)

I've seen some of the podcasts I've listened to hosted on services like libsyn and podomatic. Though, SoundCloud seems to be a good enough option for people who just mainly stream it. iTunes would give it a lot of exposure, maybe even get non-Steemit people to wonder what Steemit is. I hope it trends there.

Some other suggestions I thought of just now:

  • Aside from guests, you could organize the episode into regular sections. Doesn't have to be a weekly thing, the schedule could change every other week
  • Featured posts for the week which could list some of your favorites

I and my cohosts are probably going to answer you more in depth, but in regards to the schedule, it's mainly that way because of general availability to get together and record. We've discussed other times/days, but at this point that's just when we can do it. You never know what life will bring you, though, so it may change. Until further notice, however, weekly it is.

Oh, no, you misunderstood. What I meant to say was the schedule of the regular segments (i.e. segment A this week, segment B next week, segment A the week after) and not the schedule of the episode recording. Sorry if it's how it came across. Weekly podcasts launched on a fixed day is probably the best schedule for these types of media.

I got what you're saying. We talked about that, actually, and we decided to have bulletpoints as far as the stuff we wanted to cover, but we wanted to segway to those points in the natural flow of the discussion. We've got a couple of things in the pipeline which I think may need some work over the next few weeks, but I think you'll like the direction we're headed. ;-)

Looking forward to it! I'm very hopeful for the changes. Exciting times :D

I really enjoyed your show. Quality content. Keep it up please.

Thank you! We plan to get a new episode out each week, usually Sunday or Monday.

Our current setup should allow us to release each week on Sundays. ;-)

Thank you for listening!

@williambanks We talked about your post, which we listed above, but didn't get you in the the shout out list. Thanks for the great article!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88