I need a break (from crypto)

in #steemit6 years ago

For the past three months I’ve basically been breathing crypto. The goal has been to become competent enough to take advantage of society’s transition to cryptocurrency and get out of this feeling of being stuck financially. Unlike traditional investing crypto doesn’t feel as dirty to me, not yet anyway, and so I’ve gotten full in onboard. I didn’t have any savings to put in but thanks to steemit, I’ve had a chance to build up something that resembles a real portfolio,starting from absolutely nothing. It’s still in the low 4 digits but it’s still growing and 4 digits today may be worth 6 digits in a few years.

pexels-photo-211856.jpeg
image link

At this point I feel I’ve put enough time and energy to get things up and started for myself and know generally where to find reliable information, I think I can and should take a break and get back to the core things in my life, mainly creativity and inner exploration. While I’m not thinking of taking any kind of break from steemit, I would like to make it a more steady rhythm of 1-2 posts a day, rather than 4 or 5 some days and then 3-4 days with no activity.

Less speculation, More intuition

Your experience tends to reflect where you focus. I’ve spent the past few months getting sucked into this mode of speculation, trying to guess where things are going and how to best move with the fickle whims of the market, trying to understand it all. I sometimes get lost in the how’s and whys of my success at steemit. I find myself pondering more “what if” scenarios than I typical have?

This isn’t all out of greed but out of a genuine desire to improve my life and the lives of those around me. I started crypto with passion, just as I started being so active at steemit out of passion. I want to keep that passion and make sure none of it turns into an empty routine. Sure, I want to do well but I don’t want to be too tied to a particular outcome.

I’d like to get my mind out of the what if’s and just have fun with it again. It’s been fun all along, but with a little too much waver as of recent. I need to build up some faith that I influence my own life through my thoughts and focus and bring my focus back to the core, emotions, dreams, and mostly passion. I want to be able to give more, not only money but inspiration and clarity, I would like to remain focused on that.

So I’ll be spending less time investigating crypto, posting a bit less sporadically and spend more time on the overall state of being which I approach everything with.


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit" and make friends.

I’m also a language learning coach. Come find me if you need help learning a language.

Be Awesome discord channel

Confessions of the Damaged - a collection of short stories

—-
U5drTgnBQ2qzxT9o1kcF5PmjeLSEKi1_1680x8400.jpg
by @skyleap

Sort:  

same here. Since May last year crypto is on my mind all the time.

While I was / am trying to learn more I feel it took a not really unhealthy approach but I was following the news all the time and I felt I spend too much time on it.

As for now I am still checking the prices pretty much every day but I am ok to not check reddit / youtube everyday to check for new information and feel a bit freed if I am honest.

Maybe I should deinstall Blockfolio as well...

I think as long as it’s out of excitement, it’s fine. Once it becomes habit or addiction, it very easily takes up a lot of the time we could be using towards what we DO feel passionate about though. I get so caught up in trying to be financially independent that I forget the passion I feel for doing the things that would allow me to be financially independent.

Great step, bro. Sometimes the best thing to do is to take a few steps backwards. Steemit makes that a bit hard, though. Glad you've found a way to get that done. I'm not too far from there myself I guess.

You haven’t posted much, I want to see what you have to say!

I haven't quite spent a year but I feel I need to do something similar. I am waiting for the time to reduce my portfolio (spread too thin) and then will look to reduce the time on it. More mindfulness or filling with other hobbies :P?

I just don’t want it to become something I do to kill time and I want to stay passionate about what I do, whatever it is.

I need a break from crypto too. Problem is.... it's REALLLLLLLLY hard to do.
Compare it to social media. We use it every day, to remain in contact with our friends , or find some interesting stories, get the latest news, or even for a good laugh. Take that away, you're left in the dark. With crypto, alot of us have a good portion of money into it. We wanna find the next best thing, because in crypto, 1 second could be the big boom we are waiting for. Not watching it could be costly. For example, I missed out on the NANO rise because of my short break. It sucks, and I regret it. I hope you find a happy medium....... because I'm still looking for it.

That’s why long term holds are easier to manage. I gave up on day trading after two weeks. I made a lot with tron and then lost his it all with verge and lunyr.

There are enough opportunities, I think as long as you spend 20 minutes a day with crypto news, you’ll have enough to make smart moves. Keeping yourself in the right state of mind is just as important. I’m going all in on Steem and Neo, waiting for EOS to finish ICO to buy more cause I’m worried I won’t be able to register my tokens

Welcome to the club of '1 Post Per Day'
(and sometimes none.
Usually none.)
Drinks are on the right and snacks are on the left!
We hope you enjoy your stay!

PS: Will vote ya once my VP's restored. :P

Hahha I’ve been her before, i planned on staying but I get addicted to that post button then I hate it for a few days.

I wish I could say that.

get back to the core things in my life, mainly creativity and inner exploration .....

...think you said it @whatamidoing.

Your experience tends to reflect where you focus.

...it's about the balance. I'm two months into Steemit and find my evenings are filled with head stuff and thoughts, where before I would wind down inner activity. I'm working on this balance too.

But if something is pissing you off (and I've read a few of your posts :), then a change of metaphoric air/scenery is always a good idea.

Good luck :D
🚣

Yes, I come back to steemit after each break in my heart and after a few weeks find myself in my head. I’m trying to find a more regular rhythm where I don’t require weeks or months to recharge. Haha I’m always pissed off when I get to stuck in my head, which lucky for those around me isn’t that often.

Sounds like a wise decision.
I'm trying too.
Still can't help myself checking sites like coinmarketcap.com and sometimes cryptocompare.com a couple of times per day. I also need to at least open my exodus wallet once every single day.

I put the most of my time in Steemit though.

Today, I felt I should actually enjoy offline life a little more, I'm in Spain after all and I went for a walk, tapas and more walking through a city that I sold my heart on back in 2009.

When I came back, I had the energy to focus on replying to 4 days of comments and giving some loyal steemians some much deserved love.

I am also trying hard to focus less on the financial outcome of my posts. I don't want to be greedy. I should focus on what is enough instead of more or (expected?) growth.

The main thing is, it should stay fun (most of the time) and feel healthy instead of like a must, an addiction.

It's so hard to get caught up in the details and lose sight of the greater picture. The greater picture is pretty damn great and we are actively taking part in it ;>)

Un abrazo desde Granada,

Vincent

That’s the point, to keep it fun and exciting. I have always had a hard time with switching between activities or focusing too much on one for an extended period. I get really into something but can’t focus on it 100% so I find myself rolling around or wasting time until I feel motivated again. For a long time it was language study. I spent 100% of my time focuse don language study but I was only actually focused 40% of the time and 60% went to waste. It too away from music and writing time. Now writing is taking away from music and crypto is taking away from my meditative peace of mind time. I need to learn to change channels efficiently.

Getting back to some fun is definitely a good idea. It's made a big difference to me this week. Blogging regularly helps as well. Just got my one month badge so that's that particular game finished.

I'm sort of opposite to you with crypto though. I'm thinking it's time for me to learn how to make a trade and buy some Steem possibly some Stmartcash. Not sure. But I think it would be a good idea to start playing around with the trading platforms so I feel comfortable buying and selling should the need arise.

hope you can settle down into some sort of pattern that makes it all fun again soon. 😍

I was all about steemit for three months, then three months I realized the money was real and it all expanded to crypto mania. I’m finding balance now.

Excellent! I'm still looking for Steemit/Life balance. 😊

Hi @whatamidoing, I finally had a chance to visit your blog and the first article I came across really struck a chord with me! Already I am finding that the effort required to create something valuable to post is becoming greater and greater so it is almost impossible for me to want to post something unless I feel like it can really add value to the community.

I feel like we can definitely do more collectively as a group, and now I am spending more time on Discord trying to connect with people more deeply than I have been able to just on the posts and comments (which I should have been doing more at the beginning). So these days I end up just doing a lot of 'introductions' between people that I think will inspire each other or provide opportunities to collaborate, because this is where most of my motivation and energy is coming from :)

I try to make sure all my posts have SOMETHING for others or for me, not just posting to post. I no longer try to show my best in every post though because most posts are only viewed in the first hour after posting unless they make trending or are resteemed to a lot of people and with a seven day limit I can’t justify putting hours into every post, I just want to make sure someone gets something out of each post.

See you in discord! I spend almost as much time there as on steemit.

I Jatakas recently got involved in this crypto mania still don't understand but learning

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42