Spam report from a productive minnow on steemit. Please read. It's a very short post.

in #steemit7 years ago

Since November I'm seeing more and more spammers getting into steemit to make a quick buck. I've already presented my case here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@vimukthi/a-very-personal-favor-i-have-to-ask-from-my-fellow-steemians-please-read-and-resteem

You may or may not want to read the whole thing. That's your choice. 

I'm making this quick short post to say that I haven't been all bark and no bite. For the last few days my voting power has been around 10% and I remember having it depleted many times over and over. As I'm writing this my current voting power is 4.03% Why? because I've been flagging serial spammers when I see them. But I don't feel like I'm making a sufficient impact. It should be obvious since I'm a minnow. 

When I made this post yesterday (https://steemit.com/steemit/@vimukthi/serial-spaming-your-way-into-a-reputation-of-56-how-did-this-happen) I was told that " many of the content is forwards floating around in whatsapp "

As my way of helping this platform I'll simply put a list of serial spammers I came across today. I'm not telling you what to do. But I'm asking you to check the following links and decide on your own what's right for steemit and what's not right. After all it's your own voting power.

https://steemit.com/@osman28/comments (reputation 34)

https://steemit.com/@nurulhoq/comments  (reputation 25. Claims to be: I am a content creator as a YouTuber and blogger. I am an online earning adviser. Has promoted several links that look like scams. His philosophy on steemit: https://steemit.com/friends/@nurulhoq/why-we-not-following-together)

https://steemit.com/@evananisa/comments (reputation 38)

https://steemit.com/@saimon1971/comments (reputation 42. Very Nice post...👌 Hi friend
👏💲💲💲 Please please please... I'm Following you. & You Follow Me Please Vote...📲✌
https://steemit.com/@saimon1971/
📝Thank you👍👬☺ 

Uses the above comment 10 times an our and has a reputation of __42.__ Still better than the 56 reputation serial spammer but still..............This isn't what steemit should be. I know how hard it was for me to get to 42)

https://steemit.com/@shohan11/comments (At least this one is only 31. But has 25 less followers than I do and most of the posts are random videos from YouTube)


I'm not going to ask for upvotes. I'm not going to tell you what to do. But I am going to ask you to check the above links and resteem this post. 

Thank You.

Sincerely,

@vimukthi

Sort:  

excellent initiative, as a new user myself, I have already been confused and bewildered by the amount of crap and spent oodles of time working out who is legit and who isnt.
Brilliant name and shame idea, hopefully if everyone resteemed a daily list and downvoted, it would have some serious impact cleaning up.
Thank you :-)

Welcome to steemit!
It's great to see more productive people making steemit a much better place. It's not a perfect platform. But it's definitely the best social media platform on the planet. There are many bad actors. But there are so many great people too.

@miti is doing a great job trying to get rid of spam. You can read about it here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@miti/my-commitment-to-making-steemit-a-place-free-from-spammers-part-2

You can also use https://steemcleaners.org/abuse-report/ to report spam.

Happy steeming!

Yes, such things are very discouraging, especially for new members. Such comments could be easily avoided, if the article authors have comments moderation power and if the deleted by them comments negatively influence one's rating.

I resteemed your post, with just a few followers, this is not a big help, but they say that every little counts :-) Plus, this was my very first posting in the community.

Thank you and welcome to steemit!

Thank you for your concern. But comments moderation and deleting would defeat the purpose of steemit as a censorship free platform. Best solution is for those with steem power to flag the spammers, copy/paste content and "shit posts". This would lower the reputation of the bad actors while making their posts less visible. Flagging the spammers into oblivion is better than comment moderation. It's a little bit harder. But staying out of censorship is a must. That's why I'm trying to get more people to flag more content that diminish the value of the platform.

Thank you, I see your point. I am too new here to really discuss the issue, but I thought that as long as authors can write freely, it still will be a censorship free platform. And as to commenting, if one wishes to make his/her own strong point not acceptable to the author of the article, one could always express themselves by writing their own article on that subject.

It can be done. But it'll reduce the interactivity and it will especially kill the heated discussions. When designing one must regard the incentives and how humans would act. Make the best path the path of least resistance. When theft is more difficult than producing, even the bad actors will be forced to do good.

It's basically the good guys committing structural violence on the bad guys to make the bad guys act good and let the good guys act good much easier.

Don't worry about being new. I'm only 4 months old on steemit. I'll let you in on some further reading:
https://www.dashforcenews.com/6-ways-dash-uses-economics-solve-technical-problems/
https://www.dashforcenews.com/trolls-vs-users-limited-importance-online-communities/
https://www.dashforcenews.com/decentralization-centralization-can-get-along/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/89275.Fr_d_ric_Bastiat
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parable_of_the_broken_window
https://www.dashforcenews.com/bitcoin-disincentivizes-community-harmony/
Happy reading!

Thank you, I appreciate your posting the links for me and will do my best to look at all those articles tonight.
Yes, you are right,
the comment moderation could kill the heated discussions.
And as to the path of least resistance, usually, this is the best path in every business.

On the other hand, I can't help but ask if you have heard this quote from Henry Thoreau:

“The path of least resistance leads to crooked rivers and crooked men.”

I am just trying to look at things from a different point, especially cause I have already skim here through a couple of discussions that went too hot, at least, in my opinion.

I was talking about using structural violence to "create" a path of least resistance. Why don't many people just go ahead and kill the people who hurt them instead of taking them to the co rut? It's because using the justice system is easier and less troublesome.

What if there was an army of flaggers waiting for comment spamming to be reported and start flagging the spam. At one point making productive comments would be much easier and risk free compared to spamming.

The point is we need to take control and "create" this situation as comment spamming isn't currently met with sufficient resistance. If murder isn't actively made harder than civilized justice, people will keep murdering.

The only other way to gain similar outcome is going full blown 1984 big brother state of constant surveillance.

My point is that the good path must be "actively" made less resistance than the bad path or else we'd have to use massive surveillance and control people's lives to keep them from doing bad.

Congratulations @vimukthi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

my vote has no impact on payouts so I guess its worth not even flagging ?

Personally I flag regardless. You could simply spread the word to those who have enough voting power.
In case you are interested in STEEM, now is the best time to get more STEEM/SP according to technical analysts. You can follow @haejin @ew-and-patterns @freeforever if you like.

checking that .... I am actually mining zcash at the moment. I will look into the investment angle. appreciate the links

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @vimukthi to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62843.47
ETH 2468.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67