My New Comment Curation StrategysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago


pic credit

It's All About Creating Community


The more experience I gain here on Steemit, the more I recognize the importance of being involved in the Steemit community. I always try to give thoughtful comments on articles that I enjoy and to reply to comments on my posts. I have also made it a priority to to use a lot of my upvotes toward curating comments on my posts. Right now, my upvote isn't worth all that much (I think it's like 0.03 SBD, give or take), and I don't have the little slider thingy yet; so all of my comment curation votes are 100% votes. I also try to upvote my comments in order based on how much they add to the topic. That puts the most relevant comments at the top of the list. However, I start running into problems when the comments span multiple days. I might put a comment at the top of my list, today; but, when another comment is made tomorrow, and my voting power has regenerated, my upvote will send it to the top instead. But, what if I wanted the new comment to appear somewhere down the list - say comment 3 or 4?

My New Plan


To solve this conundrum, I have decided to delay my comment curation votes for a couple of days. That way, I can assess all of my comments at once, decide which ones are most deserving of my upvoting power, and then I will do my upvoting. So don't be discouraged if you make a good, thoughtful comment on one of my posts, but I don't upvote it immediately. I promise that I will get to it! I just want to make sure that you get the recognition that you deserve by placing your comment in a position where others can see it and interact.

And While I'm On The Topic


I would like to encourage everyone to allocate a part of their voting power toward upvoting comments on their content. I didn't realize the importance of doing so until I read a post from @commonwealth titled A Minnow's Guide to Comment Curation. I truly believe that rewarding people for their involvement will draw more attention to your content. Before you know it, you'll have your own little micro-community revolving around your content where people of different backgrounds with different interests will take your ideas and spread them throughout the rest of the micro-communities that they are a part of. This is what Steemit needs in order to thrive, and I believe that was the original intent of the platform: to encourage an uninhibited diversity of opinions to be shared by an open minded audience.



Thanks for reading today’s article! If you enjoyed it, maybe you would like to check out some of my other recent content:

Interested In Monarch Butterflies? Here is an interesting post about them!!

Find out a little bit about the majestic luna moth.

Take a look at the small stagshorn fungus.

Learn about the silver spotted skipper and its creep looking caterpillar.

Read my rant about the confusion between venomous and poisonous organisms that I entered into @suesa’s Science Challenge #2

Take a walking tour of Hardy, AR

Sort:  

I totally agree with you. I really like to post on steemit but I like the most is when I read very useful comments that add information, facts or examples to the topic. I also like to see discussions or conversations within posts. When one of my posts starts a discussion or conversation with 2 or 3 followers without me being involved I feel good because my topic is bringing this thoughts together and the product is more quality content. Thanks for sharing your strategy I believe in curating for long run. @OriginalWorks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sustainablyyours to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Exactly! When nobody bothers to make a comment on my posts, it kind of feels like I'm standing in front of a room talking to people who aren't really listening. Comments make Steemit feel much more like a community, and that's what most of us are here for.

Also, thank you for summoning the original works bot. I had forgotten about it. I need to use it more often!

Correct! No problem I really like the original works bot, it promotes curating :)

This is so important! I try to engage in comment curation, its the sure fire way to add value to any article, including your own!

Thanks for sharing part of your journey.

I finally got a slider about a week or so ago, it helps a ton with this. Your strategy is very valid, wait to curate all at once.

How do you get the slider? My understanding is that there is some threshold that has to be met, but I'm not sure what it is.

Yes if you get 500 SP you get one automatically, but there is nothing blocking you!

I saw this article that has a script that can habilitate your slider - https://steemit.com/steemit/@alexpmorris/reminder-steemit-scripts-available-to-hide-show-resteems-enable-your-post-vote-slider-and-to-vote-past-payout

Do use your own judgement and research before installing any script ever for anything.

Now I can upvote my own comment with 1% and it pops right to the top!

@sustainablyyours I admit, this is very useful
let me follow you, thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50