The Small Stagshorn - (Calocera cornea)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago

I was out at Lake Poinsett State Park last week. They have been draining the lake so they can fix the dam, and I was curious to see how far along they were and just what a drained lake looks like. Meh. It wasn’t anything special. So, I walked around the outskirts of the woods a little bit and looked for anything interesting to take pictures of. I did find some pretty cool stuff, like this little yellow slime fungus growing on a dead branch.

Little Stagshorn

Calocera cornea


Apparently, this is a pretty common fungus, but it is often overlooked, due to its tiny size. They are a saprobic species, which means that they decompose organic material, and this particular species likes to eat barkless hardwood trunks and branches like the one I found on the forest floor. They tend to grow in cylindrical shaped tubes that almost never branch and can be up to 2 cm tall. The tallest out of the group that I found was probably about 1.5 cm.

It is not often that I am able to a type of fungus with any confidence whatsoever, but I think I may have hit this one on the head. If not, please let me know in the comments! I am on a quest to learn more about the magnificent kingdom of fungi!

I found most of the information in this post on the following websites:

http://www.svims.ca/council/Jelly.htm

http://www.eniscuola.net/en/argomento/fungi/fungi-knowledge/saprobic-fungi/

http://www.mushroomexpert.com/calocera_cornea.html

* All photos taken by me using Canon Rebel T3; Lens Model: EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II; post processing performed using Darktable unless otherwise labeled.


Thanks for reading today’s article! If you enjoyed it, maybe you would like to check out some of my other recent content:

Learn about the silver spotted skipper and its creep looking caterpillar.

Read my rant about the confusion between venomous and poisonous organisms that I entered into @suesa’s Science Challenge #2

Take a walking tour of Hardy, AR

Or, read my newfound use for Steemit in my classroom.

Sort:  

Those are really cute! I never saw them, but I guess they wouldn't like Portuguese climate.
Happy Fungi Friday! :)

It's easy to miss little things like this, unless you are specifically looking. I have only recently made it a point to begin paying more attention to the details in nature. It is amazing the stuff you find just in your back yard! Happy Fungi Friday!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @sustainablyyours! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51