The Luna Moth (Actias luna)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

The Beautiful Luna Moth



The luna moth is one of the the prettiest moths that we have around here. Its oversized pale green wings, false eyespots, and feathery antennae really are a sight to see. One of the defining characteristics of the luna moth is the elongated, finger-like projections on the back wings, and they are not just there for looks. Apparently, the luna moth will twirl those projections in a helicopter-like motion in order to confuse bats that would feed on them.

Thick, Feathery Antennae



Due to the thickness of the antennae, I believe this is a male moth. They use receptors on those big ole antennae to detect pheromones released by reproductive-ready females. I found this one just before dusk on a sweetgum tree, which happens to be a favorite food for luna moth caterpillars. I imagine he was waiting around until midnight or so, because that is when luna moths usually mate. Once mated, the female will lay their eggs on the leaves of the host tree. About a week later, the eggs will hatch, and the larvae will begin eating. Once they’re ready to form a chrysalis, they will drop down into the leaf litter under the tree and form their papery cocoons. Adults do not eat, so they will not last long after the eggs are laid.

Saying Goodbye


* All photos taken by me using Canon Rebel T3; Lens Model: EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II. Macro shots were taken using a cheap screw on macro adapter; post processing performed using Darktable unless otherwise labeled.



Thanks for reading today’s article! If you enjoyed it, maybe you would like to check out some of my other recent content:

Take a look at the small stagshorn fungus.

Learn about the silver spotted skipper and its creep looking caterpillar.

Read my rant about the confusion between venomous and poisonous organisms that I entered into @suesa’s Science Challenge #2

Take a walking tour of Hardy, AR

Or, read my newfound use for Steemit in my classroom.

Sort:  

really beautifull, and really nice pics, did you take this with a specific camera and macro lens? (been getting into photography myself lately so i am a bit curious)
and since you seem to be knowledgable about weird animals: could you look at this one and maybe tell me what it is?https://steemit.com/photography/@felander/combination-photography-contest-from-papa-pepper-week-5-my-submission-is-the-bumblemoth

I shot this this weekend here in broad daylight in Switzerland

Thank you!

I usually include camera information in the post, but I forgot to this time. I use a Canon T3 with the kit EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II lens. I went on Amazon and bought a really cheap screw-on attachment for macro shots. It isn't perfect, but I am learning a lot while saving up for a good macro lens!

I can't be sure what kind of moth it is without seeing the coloration, but there are several types of moths that mimic hummingbirds, including the hummingbird clearwing and the hummingbird hawk. You may have had a better look at your moth. Check out the pictures in the links and maybe you can match it up.

Those who know me know that I hate moths! They just freak me out (I am working on it, but it's hard). But have to admit that this one is really gorgeous!

Yeah, it's hard to overcome that instinct! I have a disproportionate fear of wasps. Of course, no one wants to get stung by a wasp, but my fear response is waaay stronger than it should be. I'm getting better on it, though.

I was raised with bees around so I am ok with wasps. But any flying moth, butterfly or beetle is for me running away and screaming :p
I like mice though :)

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. Have a nice day :)

Thanks for your work as well! Followed @sustainablyyours

Great post and I wish steemit had a sticky or pin option because this is one of those special posts. ??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51