Steemit vs Busy vs eSteem Surfer?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

For maximum rewards when posting which one of these interfaces into the STEEM blockchain should you use?

92hpy6b99c.jpg

Source

Well that depends when you joined Steemit, what kind of payout on a typical post you get and the kind of things you compose.

Using Steemit.com

This is what everyone uses when they start posting anything with a new account. It is also the least rewarding of the three above methods of creating blog posts. Steemit.com does not take any beneficiary rewards from the author, nor does it give any incentives.

For me, a post gaining a reward of $1.00 will yield a payout of $1.00 to the author (minus curation rewards).

Plain and simple, you know what you are going to get.

https://steemit.com/

Using Busy.org

Busy.org do offer an incentive for using their interface as opposed to Steemit.com. The reward is calculated from the total SP of ALL the followers of the poster. This is why I say above, ‘that depends when you joined Steemit'.

3967sifggq.jpg

Source

The heyday of this platform was between December 2017 and March 2018. I joined in March 2018 and rode on the coattails of a declining STEEM token for a while.

There were many more Steemians before this date and it seemed easier to get followers then, even if they are useless ones. Also if you have been active since 2016, you are likely to have many more followers.

ktvs91hqzx.jpg

More followers = more cumulative SP = a larger weight vote by @busy.pay.

Busy does not appear to take into account the size of YOUR SP, but of your followers' cumulative SP. I can't say I like the idea, but that's just how it is.

I have 712 followers and am not going to follow people just so they follow me back. Consequently, my @busy.pay vote weight as of 12 days ago (I occasionally use busy.org) is poor at 1% which equates to around 9c.

cb5zg9lr0g.jpg

You also need to use ‘busy’ as a tag or you will not get a vote. Otherwise the vote appears to be guaranteed once per 12 hours.

Busy.com also does not take any beneficiary rewards from the author; in that respect it's a very positive incentive.

For me, a post gaining a reward of $1.00 will yield a payout of $1.09 to the author (minus curation rewards).

https://busy.org/

Using eSteem Surfer

This brings me to the last choice, which is a dApp. You need to download eSteem Surfer Desktop to use this which can be obtained here.

Now it get's a little more complicated as you are not guaranteed a vote from eSteem and the vote weight is variable on your usage.

z8vhydtbnm.jpg

Source

eSteem take a cut of your author rewards in the form of 10%. Yes, it's a high cut but it can be worth it depending on your circumstances.

On the positive side, the eSteem Surfer interface is great, and you can use their draft facility to compose and save for posting at a later date.

You don’t need to use the esteem tag for a vote and as I say it’s not guaranteed. What I would say to you is, don’t post more than one article in any 24 hour period and post meaty quality content.

I do get regular votes from them, they don’t tend to vote up any old crap and unlike busy, the vote appears to be curated manually.

The calculation for eSteem is more complicated as the vote weight seems to vary on how much you use eSteem Surfer. My current weight is 6%. There are also TWO votes of any substance, one from @esteemapp and another from our good witness, @good-karma.

()
()




As of now, this equates to @esteemapp at 69c and @good-karma at 10c totalling 79c.

For me, a post gaining a reward of $1.00 will yield a payout of $1.61 to the author (minus curation rewards).

Reward = $1.00
Incentive = $0.79
Beneficiary Deduction = $0.18
Total Reward = $1.61

What makes this all the more interesting is if your posts make a lot more.

Eg… another post gaining a reward of $12.00 will yield a payout of $11.51 to the author (minus curation rewards).

Reward = $12.00
Incentive = $0.79
Beneficiary Deduction = $1.28
Total Reward = $11.51


In the last example case, I would get the bigger reward of $12.09 if I used Busy as opposed to eSteem.

This appears to be the reason the guys with the bigger payouts all use Busy. For me, the cut-off is around $7.50 - $8. If my posts earn more than this amount then it's better to use Busy than eSteem Surfer in the case of efficiency.

These calculations are for my circumstances only. You will need to do your homework for yours.

Considering Steemit is still the most popular interface, I have to wonder if it’s by pure ignorance that this is the case.

If you are brand new to the platform, then perhaps Steemit.com is the best interface, but you really should try Busy. If you get a vote of 0%, you are not going to lose anything by having a go, but don't forget to use the #busy tag.

Otherwise try eSteem Surfer; I use this for over 90% of my posts now but be aware of the 10% cut. I do believe the cut is taken regardless of whether you get a vote or not.

If you are established Steemian, then you should be looking at one of the other alternative interfaces (not Steemit.com) if you want to maximise your rewards.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Thanks @slobberchops, I use busy and Steemit but did not know anything about eSteem...looks like something I need to check into. There are so many new apps being added it is difficult to keep up! Nice to know the returns associated with each platform.

There are others. as some have pointed out. These are the ones I haven't tried. I hope there's more to come. Some competition is always good.

I use Esteem for most of my posts, though I am on Steemit right now. It's the way my links work and I'm too lazy to change.

For me, the added functions really take the sting out of the beneficiary reward, and as is your case, I make more using it.

I'm not very fond of Busy but do use it every now and again.

Great info. I have been using the esteem desktop app pretty exclusively lately. It is pretty rare that my posts get much more than $3 so I don't feel too bad not using busy. Steemit I pretty much only use to comment on other posts if I am not using Partiko.

I've never used esteem. I did not know that they had a desktop app but that is definitely worth checking out.

Maybe it's a good idea to make 2 posts a day then. One from busy and one from esteem?

I joined on October 2016, so I do have a fair number of followers.

What are you doing to get the numbers next to your upvotes? Is that something that comes built in with esteem?

...What are you doing to get the numbers next to your upvotes? Is that something that comes built in with esteem?

I would think this is from having instaled STEEM-PLUSS plugin. Very nice and handy feature

That is very handy. I'm going to have to check that plug in out.

Sure it is worth to try. There are many other good things in it.

Definitely use esteem and busy and also ulogs. All give you a chance at getting upvotes you do not get on steemit. All are very easy to use on a laptop and all have discord accounts for post promotion.

If you are still using Steemit, then I would recommened either of the others. I have had great success with surfer and often its my biggest vote. In your case, busy is worth a try.

I use busy mostly.

Thanks for this SC. A totally interesting post.

I wonder if you could expand to SteemPeak - I can't recall if that takes any beneficiary cut or not?

I am particularly looking forward to when the desktop version of @partiko comes out. I think it is scheduled for February.



I'll look at both of these options, @pennsif. I have used @partiko on my phone and am aware of @steampeak but havent used it yet.

Partiko desktop would be a deal breaker

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's coming soon.

I'm kind of nervous about downloading desktop apps. They may start off fine, but if they change ownership down the line and the new owners want to put a trojan on your desktop, you end up in trouble, and all your wallets depleted, including bitcoin wallets. (The crypto world is notorious for stuff like this).

This post is great, simple and really easy to understand. I've been on steemit for a while now but haven't yet learned much about the different Steem interferances. So yes, this was extremely educational for me.

Thanks for the great info!

Busy is likely to give you a zero vote. Try Surfer... you do very creative stuff so it may get picked up. Even if you get a 10c vote, it's worth it in your case.

Thanks for the tip!

If you use bid bots to get big upvotes, It is not good to use esteem because of Beneficiary Deduction.

That is true, but I don't use bid-bots. You need to decide which one is best for you.

shoot! I should be using busy??! I just usually don't pay attention to this stuff. I go in large spurts for posting. right now I've been posting some pretty light fare...just vainly trying to tip the REputation to 66.00! I'm close...

I think busy may be suitable for you looking at the amount of followers you have, as I say it wont hurt or take anything away from you. Don't forget to use the tag!

thanks for the tip!

Ahhhhh the good Ol question rises up!

Well honestly, apart from pay out I also find the interface of writing posts super essential. I nearly always make my posts in busy, for some reason I find it easy workable.

I do really love the posting page of esteem but what I do not like (I dont really care about the 10%, my payouts are usually between 2-3 bucks) is that in the esteem surfer you always manually have to refresh the page, which is a complete failure to me.. If that would be fixed, I would be hooked!

Everyone it seems has there own choices about which to use, which is good! It depends on the % that you get from the eSteem people too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97