Too Many Wasted Gems in Steemit!!! Why is that Happening?

in #steemit7 years ago

I am new to the Steemit community. I have been reading and browsing a lot, and I am reaching a disturbing conclusion. I have noticed that there are so many great articles (gems really) that are well-written and so informative but are being wasted. I am sorry to use this word but This is my feeling.

Which-gem.jpg

I mean when you read a great article and then you see that only a few people have noticed it, you get disappointed. Look for example to this comparison by @ntomaino. You can see from the reaction he had to his article in Medium that it was a good one. I am sure if it had reached to the right people (those who are interested), it would have gotten much more respect.

I have seen the same thing repeated over and over. Why is that happening? Does not that mean there is something wrong here?
What is the reason for this ? and how can it be solved?

A possible reason

A possible reason, in my opinion, is that the curation reward is too low!! That is because qualified steemians would not waste their time to read the huge amount of new posts for the very small rewards they can offer. You would have to read too many new articles until you find a good one, and even then the reward is not always worthed!

So, I think the curation reward system needs to be fixed so high-quality posts (and writers) do not get lost in the middle of the straws.

Sort:  

That is true. I spent a lot of time and effort in my last post but it didn't really grabbed the attention it deserved. Maybe because I just recently joined and don't have many followers. But yeah, there should be a way for the good posts to get more attention.

Welcome to steemit. I'll follow you to help you grab some more attention. I think that followers are the key. Good comments come back to you in different ways I think. Good luck!

Hi @kryptoknightk,
Most of new Steemians suffer from the same problem. What disappoints me is to see that some good writers have spent months in Steemit and did not get their break-through.

BTW, I have just read your article : Help One Million People And You Will Be A MILLIONAIRE and upvoted it.

Thank you for the support!

You are welcome.

I'll check it out. No one really knows new people so their work is hard to find and notice. Just keep it up, we all had to!

Thank you so much! :)

It's not the rewards only, you can only read a certain amount of posts, and that's it, you quit for the day.

I agree. maybe if a hierarchical system for curation was devised, we would get better results. For example, experienced steemians would only read and evaluate posts that less-experienced steemians have chosen.

Yup, very valid point @gduran!

The new people need to understand that Steemit is more than just a place to post and run. They are going to have to pay their dues the same as the rest of us are. They need to spend time upfront commenting and getting their name out there to get a following as they begin to slowly post their content.

Ok. You have a good point there @old-guy-photos.
Nonetheless, don't you agree with me that the system can be enhanced a little bit more?

I read a lot so I would be in favor of it.

Thanks for agreeing, and more thanks for reading a lot. People like you give a better chance to good writers to be noticed.

We all love Steemit, but that should not stop us from giving positive criticism.

Actually, I don't know how to reach anyone effective in the dev team for suggestions. If anyone has any idea please, tell me.

I think that is just how it is for us noobs. I really am not expecting real traction on my account for months. So all I can do now is sit tight and grind just like this was a new character in a video game and I needed to spend time building up its levels/skills/abilities/reputation. Gotta just grind for a while.

Exactly! Nicely put! Thank you. Upped and followed :)

"Gotta just grind for a while"

why should that happen? Why can't we discover real talent much faster? If a system tweak can do it, then why not.

Plaese read the comments under the article I mentioned in the post to get my point.

I have just checked your blog, @artwatch. I was surprised with the talent you have.
I liked it very much and followed you.

Such has always been the case. Not all great content gets noticed, and without great content you will not get noticed. A lot of work goes into posts for a few cents often before people really notice.

I've been here about a year now, the story hasn't changed. Happens to just about everyone...

Thank you for your input, @papa-pepper.
I am happy that the post has grabbed the attention of famous Steemians. You people can affect the development of Steemit more than us.

As for what you have said, please notice that at your times you did not have this many new users pooring in everyday. Please, do not get me wrong, I like your posts, but I am saying there are great writers too that are getting disappointed.

Great insight. Thank you! I'm trying to put out a good amount of content and mix it up to see how people respond to different things. I'm starting to find my steemit voice. BTW, nice to meet other preppers on here.

I think it's because there are a lot of people who are just looking for money an follows, Period. They don't read the content, they just scroll down and leave a generic comment and ask for an upvote or a follow. I have had NUMEROUS people do that to me, because I pledge to upvote anyone who comments REAL ANSWERS to my questions. I do find this disappointing. I thought this would be a place to really educate myself, but it's needle in the haystack alllll the way. You, however, seem to have some great articles--I'm going to look through them now! Thanks!

Thank you very much for your kindness,@sugarrock.

it's needle in the haystack alllll the way.

That is exactly what I am trying to say. Big social media companies like Youtube and FB have solved this problem. We should study their solutions and learn from it, and then improve it.

Agree with you, but that's the way life is. Just got to keep on putting out excellent work. Writing something well is what gets me going, the financial rewards are mostly gravy. Easy to say for me since we make our money selling cookies, I can totally understand if you're frustrated. :)

Thanks for your comments.
Actually, I am not angry nor frustrated. I am trying to point out that for Steemit to be more successful, it needs to be improved regularly to provide a better service. I mean Steemit is already great, but should that stop us from improving it continuously?
I claim that the distribution system especially needs to be improved. By distribution, I mean delivering the right content to the right people. Curation is an important factor in such a system.

Totally agree with the "constant improvement" aspect. Nailing down "right content to right people" seems to be a simple problem but in execution is incredible complex. Fascinating to watch all of this play out during our lifetime!

You bring up a good point, but the content will always be there and a person can share it outside of the steem network to get more views. It is not limited here. I try not to think about the rewards and just focus on the content. If I'm good enough, I'll get the attention. Then people will start going back and reading the old stuff... I hope. That being said, any additional rewards will be welcome! Great post and suggestion.

Thanks @walkingkeys. I agree with what you are saying, but keep in mind that there is competition. Steemit is not the only site where you can publish your work. For so many writers, the money is not so important. They want to be heard, and they want the interaction.
For example, I have noticed that @ntomaino did not have any real activity on Steemit for a long time now.

You are right. I would like more interaction, lol. I'm going to go and check out @ntomaino. Thank you for the insight. I appreciate it.

Rewards are based on a percentage. Steem is issued at a set rate and each day's rewards are based on the new steem produced. To increase the percentage for curation, you'd have to lower another category, thus disincentivizing either content creation or witnesses, both of which are much more essential than curation. The only way to raise these rewards then, is to follow the path to higher steem prices. while the amount of steem earned will remain the same, as the price increases, the cash will too. It was double what it is right now last summer, and many steem millionaires made the bulk of their steem power through curation.

A very good point, @markrmorrisjr.

Well, if we can not make the curation reward higher, then we should find another solution for our distribution problems.

From my discussion with fellow Steemers, I can think of two solutions:
1- Make curation hierarchical. Expert reviewers should be presented with a filtered selection of good content. They should not waste their time searching for the needle in the haystack.
2- The system should be smart. It should learn what are the things that I am interested in and suggest those to me first.

Do you have any other suggestion?

Keep in mind that there are plenty of projects and help in place for minnows here who are creating good work. Tons of contests to join and plenty of people to interact with to get yourself known....it all takes time.

Thanks for your comment, @rondonson.

I agree. Steemit community is very welcoming and helpful.

But I still think we can all benefit from improving the system itself. Is there a place where new suggestions are discussed? What is the road map for new features? What are the problems that we want to solve?

Giving attention to such issues can make big difference in Steemit future.

@sadekj hello again, you can come into the SteemIT chat room @ http://steemit.chat and goto #help or #general to discuss things that is going on here on SteemIT.

Furthermore, we have a new version of SteemIT labeled HF19 which will add a feature that gives users 4x's the upvote power than we currently have, which means the payouts will be larger for people across the entire site.

Keep in mind that steemit is constantly being updated, and i believe we are still technically in the beta stage.

Thank you very much.
That was helpful.

As for the HF19, I have read about it here. I liked it. is giving minnows a better chance and more effect in Steemit.

@sadekj, yes it seems the dev's at steem understand that we're growing rapidly and minnows need to be able to gain quicker to catch up to the rest of the herd here.

I think the future is bright for steemit, be patient my friend and steem on!

I think the future is bright for steemit, be patient my friend and steem on!

Oh, I totally agree.
Actually, I am an investor in cryptos, and I have invested some money in Steem because I believe that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37